10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I just can't give this any stars. I don't know what happened but it didn't turn out right at all! As soon as it came to a boil, the lid blew off, went right through my kitchen ceiling and landing on my bed. The heat of the lid started my bed on fire. I had all my tax receipts on my bed because I had been sorting through them. I had to call 911 and the firefighters marched right through my house with muddy boots on. My cats got out because they left the front door open and I haven't seen them since. It's going to take me days to clean up all the mess and the cost will be astronomical! I will never ever use a recipe that requires salted boiling water again. BEWARE!!!! This stuff can ruin your life! It should only be handled by professionals.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nif March 29, 2010

Wow! Easy, quick and economical: What more could one ask???? I plan to put this in jars to give away to my many, many friends for Christmas this year. Thanks for a wonderful, authentic recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Okra September 16, 2008

I tried this one and it worked (kind of). BUT the real issue came when i branched out and tried to combine this with another of my favorite recipes, the Ice you make in the trays. you should check that one out. Well, as it turns out even though these are both pretty similar ingredients (both are water based) they go horribly together. what resulted was a lukewarm, salty soup kind of thing. no bueno.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tinman90 July 12, 2013

Oh, this is too good to only make once. I'm going back for another go...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng February 17, 2013

I'm so excited to have found this recipe! I'm going to pass it along to a friend who was at one point told to stir the boiling water so it wouldn't burn. :oD

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jmommy209 April 16, 2010

This was toooo cute; have to say I could have used this advise when I first started following Zaar and my DH and family will attest to it. Thanks Lady for a reminder on where we all started at.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 November 13, 2008

This was terrible, I don't know why I'm giving you five stars other than I feel bad for you. This made terrible hissing sounds and I nearly burned myself taking the lid off, then when I finally got the lid off a mosquito flew over and got steamed to death. Why don't you just call this '"Dead Bug Soup"?! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
scancan September 16, 2008

I saw that recipe as well and had to laugh out loud at the reviews! Just goes to show what a good sense of humor will do to lighten up your day! Thanks for reminding me of this, Lady.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scoutie September 15, 2008

Thank you for the help. Does it matter what type of water you use?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
T exas C ooker (TC) March 07, 2007

Yep, I wasn't raised a 'cooker'. But I do know how to boil water...I thought. I didn't know about adding the salt in the boiled water. I've added before, during and after. Thanks for thinking this was hilarious, but typing in anyway. I will pass on to my daughter and son.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tara Colquitt November 20, 2006
Salted Boiling Water - What Does It Mean?