Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Salt-Rubbed Roast Chicken with Lemon & Thyme Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Salt-Rubbed Roast Chicken with Lemon & Thyme

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on April 09, 2003

      Just as good (if not better) cold! This chicken recipe is really scrumptious, AND I ran into problems, as I had a very lean chicken, so not much basting juice. It was still incredibly succulent, moist, flavorful, and excellent to snack on! PetitFour, fabulous recipe - thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2003

      Incredibly juicy chicken! And beautifully browned as Mean Chef noted. I too, ran out of basting liquid as Lizzie-Babette did, so I just add a bit of water and the dried juices on the pan bottom dissolved into more basting liquid. I also agree with her that it's even better the second day. Makes terrific sandwiches. I plan to use the carcass to make a version of MissPenny's Turkey Gumbo. Terrific recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2003

      Made this the other day for the first time. It was fantastic. Chicken was juicy and the skin was perfectly browned. Had no trouble with enough juices for basting after using up the melted butter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2013

      This was a great chicken. I only used 1 tbsp salt and used it for the skin as well as inside the bird. I greased my roasting pan, cut an onion into 8 pieces and put the chicken on top of that (I don't have a small rack for chicken). I also placed some cut up potatoes and about 10 garlic cloves around the chicken. During the last 20 min, I added some baby carrots. What a beautiful dish! After 1 hour, the chicken wasn't quite cooked through or browned enough (maybe an additional 20-30 minutes would be necessary?) but there were lots of delicious juices. I didn't taste much lemon, so I think I would place some lemon slices on top of the chicken next time. I look forward to making this again! The bones are now in the slow cooker, on their way to making chicken stock!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2012

      I made this quite a while back but forgot to rate it. I found that leaving the chicken uncovered really made the skin crispy when it was roasted. I followed the recipe except used lemon pepper instead of regular pepper. Easy to follow directions and nice flavors. Thanks for posting, P4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2010

      This was really good. I followed the directions using a 6.7 lb chick so I 2x the ingred. I used lemon thyme b/c it's growing like a weed. I also cooked at 350 for 2hrs. I did baste every 20 minutes. There was a nice salt crust. The crust brushed right off so if someone didn't want the crust on it's not a big deal. The chicken itself wasn't salty at all. Actually, it was so moist it was practically dripping as I cut it. Delicious. The only down side is that the juices might be too salty to make gravy. I didn't make it this time but I usually use the juice for gravy then add it to the leftover chicken casserole the next day. I did reserve a small amount of juice for a casserole so I'll try it. The chicken is so moist I can't wait to have a sandwich. I will make this again but next time using the same 6.7 lb. chicken I'd change the salt to 3 tbls and the thyme to 5 tbls for personal pref.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2010

      fantastic!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2009

    • on February 28, 2008

      Very clear and easy to follow directions. I forgot the butter so I did not baste it. However, it still came out moist and tender. Love the fresh thyme. The seasoning amout was perfect. I put the lemon, garlic and thyme stems into the cavity when I initially seasoned the chicken (saved myself the additional mess later). I took it out of the refrigerator and left it on the counter for about hour before putting into the oven. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2007

      Yum! This chicken was very good. I used all of the salt and am glad that I did. Don't worry, it doesn't make the chicken too salty at all. The chicken was very moist and tender, and the meat had a great flavor. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2007

      absolutly succulent, perfectly seasoned roast chicken!! as soon as i saw that it was a tom douglas recipe i knew i had to try it out, and i'm so glad i did. i've never made a jucier chicken ever!! i used dried thyme because thats what i had. thanks for posting =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2006

      Wow, great recipe, thank you so much. The salt crust becomes almost sweet in the cooking. I used lemon thyme, and I too reduced the salt- I couldn't bear to use the full amount. It seemed to work just fine. This will be made again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2005

      This is one of the best roast chickens I have ever had! It was so juicy and full of flavor. I did cut back the salt to 4 teaspoons as someone suggested in their review and it was more than enough. I surrounded it with wedges of potatoes, cut up onions and carrots and they were delicious baked in the juices of the chicken. A definite do again recipe. Thanks so much for sharing it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2004

      It is a good recipe for chicken, and easy to make too. I made it first time for our guests, too salty. I have reduced the salt to 4 teaspoons, still taste great, added some fresh grated ginger. It is yummy! Thanks to P4 for sharing it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2004

      I thought I had reviewed this a long time ago! I just came back to re-print the recipe to use it again. This was one of the best roast chickens I have made- flavourful, juicy, and really simple. I loved it. Thanks Petit Four- sorry I forgot to review this months ago!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2004

      Made this for Christmas Dinner. It was fantastic. Used olive oil instead of butter and added orange quarters & wedged onions in cavity and around the pan. Added water for basting. Had to cook longer than I wanted to get it well browned (should have turned it sooner) but it was still extra juicy and delicious. Great flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Salt-Rubbed Roast Chicken with Lemon & Thyme

    Serving Size: 1 (440 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 941.1
     
    Calories from Fat 616
    65%
    Total Fat 68.5 g
    105%
    Saturated Fat 22.6 g
    113%
    Cholesterol 320.5 mg
    106%
    Sodium 5512.3 mg
    229%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.0 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.4 g
    1%
    Protein 74.3 g
    148%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites