10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

With over 600 mg of sodium, this recipe is ANYTHING but salt free.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hephaestus November 17, 2012

I've made this several times and used in many different recipes. I use it in the same quantity as is called for in the recipe. Thansk for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marsha Mazz December 26, 2010

Like the fact is salt free, But this was not the recipe for me, Used 3 Tablespoons of chilli powder (EXTRA HOT) instead of six, This IS a good combination of a mix, When I make tacos, add 3/4 cup water x 2, Add two teapsoons of this mixture too! With 500g mince, 2 cans 400g chopped tomatoes including juice, Then I let the whole thing reduce, Add 40 g tomato paste, Let it simmer for 20 minutes THEN I taste, Like last review, I added salt too, Also a pinch of Splenda as it had an acidic taste too! Coriander is my herb of choice for tacos too, It wasn't bad, but not sure would make again, TRUE! Sorry :) Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mickeydownunder April 29, 2010

This had nice flavor but no indication of how much to use. I ended up using 3 teaspoons with a half pound of hamburger. To bring out the flavors a bit more, I added about 1/4 teaspoon salt, but that was mainly because I wasn't sure how much seasoning to use. I also ended up adding 1 teaspoon corn starch to 1/3 cup water to have a bit of sauce to simmer in. The moisture did simmer completely off.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vyrianna May 15, 2009

This has a really nice flavor, and without all the sodium of the packaged mixes. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mikekey October 06, 2007

The meat in the enchiladas had a very good flavor. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbie R. October 03, 2007

This is a fantastic taco seasoning mix. I substituted homemade chili powder for bought to reduce the sodium greatly. Good recipe for this is #38558 by Dee514. Thanks for all the flavor...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mee-Mee October 18, 2006

I have made this alot and I LOVE it. The seasoning works in so many dishes - and being on a low sodium diet - normal mixes are out. This is by far the best mix I have found! Thanks L DJ! Sams

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sams1 September 19, 2006

This taco seasoning was way too hot for us. We plan to try it again with less chile powder

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Saige February 28, 2004

I didn't make this salt-free because I love salt but I don't like all the chemicals and preservatives in the pre-made mixes, which is why I chose to use this mix. I am giving it 5 stars as a base recipe to tinker with. Needed more cumin and garlic for my taste but my husband like it as is (with salt).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~SwoR~ December 21, 2003
Salt Free Taco Seasoning