Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Salsa Verde Canning Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Salsa Verde Canning Recipe

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on September 09, 2014

      A Little sour but I added sugar. I also used my immersion mixer to smooth it out because it was very chunky even after cooking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2013

      I scaled this recipe to use the 5 pounds of tomatillos that I had on hand. It was supposed to yield 15 pints but produced only five. With the amount of citric acid that the recipe suggested it was way too sour. A complete waste of time and ingredients.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2013

      I just made this salsa and loved it. I made a few minor tweaks. I added a chopped up poblano pepper in with the jalapenos, appx 2 tbsp white vinegar, 2 tsp of jalapeno hot sauce, a little extra cilantro and garlic, and replaced the lemon juice with the recommended amount of citric acid per jar, so that it didn't come out too lemony. I really like tart green salsas so I thought it was great. I will be making it again with sarrano peppers so it is a bit hotter. It tastes a lot like the Herdez brand salsa verde that I love, from the store. Easy recipe that allows you to customize just how tart or sweet you want it to be.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2012

      This is VERY easy to make. I will never have to buy it in a jar again. I spilled more cumin in it than I intended....and it was good. I like how fresh it tastes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2009

      I had 4# so I doubled the recipe. That was a mistake because this was very bland and waaayyyy too citrusy. So, I added at least another onion, more cilantro another 6-8 garlic cloves and sugar to cut the acidity. And, I added probably a tablespoon of freshly ground cumin, salt, pepper and 7-8 additional Serrano peppers (Total of 10-12.) Then, I got something I could can and subsequently eat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2009

      This was fabulous! I wanted to can my own Salsa Verde to make Chili Verde this winter. This tasted bright and citrusy with medium warmth using jalapenos with the seeds. I mixed 1/2 cup corn starch and 1/2 cup cold water and added during the last 5 minutes of cooking to thicken the salsa up. I also ran out of fresh garlic cloves, so used half fresh and half granulated garlic. Yummmmmm. A keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2008

      Thanks a ton! I too did not know what to do with my extremely bountiful harvest of tomatillos. The lemon and lime juice were a bit strong for me as a regular salsa, but I think it will be great as a marinade or sauce with any kind of meat. Or next time I might try to leave out a good deal of the juice and process the jars in a pressure cooker for 20 minutes or so just to be safe. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2008

      Great Canning Recipe! Just what I needed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Salsa Verde Canning Recipe

    Serving Size: 1 (1544 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 85.8
     
    Calories from Fat 15
    17%
    Total Fat 1.7 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 6.3 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.3 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 4.1 g
    16%
    Sugars 9.4 g
    37%
    Protein 2.5 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites