Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Salsa to Can Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Salsa to Can

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on September 28, 2009

      I made this last week and canned about 10 8 oz jars. I made 3/4 of a recipe since i only had room for 6 qts of tomatoes in my pot. Used about 6 jalepenos, 3 bells, and 3 small onions with the tomatoes. Added a lot less sugar ( I don't like sweet salsa), fresh lime juice, and cilantro. DELICIOUS. Thanks for inspiration

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2011

      Awesome recipe - I use it every year.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2007

      UPDATED: This is the third year I have made this. By my own negligence I substituted cayenne pepper for the paprika without noticing, and we LOVED the difference it made, just a bit of extra bite to the mild flavor. I also cut back on the brown sugar to 1/2 cup. STILL our favorite!!!--September 2007 I made this last year to use up extra tomatoes from the garden. I only made one batch and canned it in pints because our family usually doesn't like salsa. I RAN OUT OF IT IN FEBRUARY! Everyone LOVED it! I gave some out as gifts for Christmas and had many requests for the recipe. The kids liked to top their mac & cheese with it or snack on tortilla chips dipped in it. I planned my garden this year around the tomatoes and peppers needed for this! It is so quick and easy to prepare and can. I doubled the chili powder because it seemed bland but found that we had to let it sit for about 4 - 6 weeks to let it reach its full flavor. DELICIOUS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2007

      Made some minor adjustments to my tase. Doubled the garlic and chili powder. Added parsley and cumin. My second year with this recipe. I am now known for my great salsa. Even friends and family who aren't crazy for salsa are excited to receive a jar. My sister claims she's ruined for all other salsas. Great for use in casseroles, stews, etc. Please try this recipe if you want great success!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2005

      This is a very mild salsa, some like it like that. I made it the way the recipe said to except that I doubled the chili powder,used 1/2 a cup of hot peppers, and after I chopped the tomatoes coarsely, I squeezed the juice out with my hands.(I added it to my plain tomatoes that I can) This way I didn't have to cook so long to reduce. I just didn't like how mild it was......so I took 1/2 of the recipe, put it in another pot and added 1 cup fresh chopped cilantro, another 1/2 cup hot peppers, and 1 1/2 tsp cumin. Now I have a very mild and one that is kicked up a notch. Everyone is satisfied. This is a very good recipe and one that is easy to build on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2005

      This was my second year canning salsa. This one has a wonderful fresh salsa taste. We like ours quite hot, so used 14 jalapeno peppers, about half with thier seeds. Very nice bite. Have to make more since already used 5 jars in less than a month! Also added a little fresh chopped cilantro.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2005

    • on June 24, 2005

      excellent! this is the best salsa i have ever eaten. i used 5 large jalapeno's and it's not to hot. just right. i gave some away and everyone loved it. i will definetly make this again. i did have to geta larger pot though, it makes a lot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2004

      This is the 2nd year I have used this recipe and have found it to be easy to prepare and delicious to eat. My husband and I have a Bed & Breakfast and this salsa sauce is a winner with most of our guests. The only difference I added is that I had to simmer it a few more hours to get the desired thickness. Looking forward to trying some of your other recipes. Rocklake#2

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Salsa to Can

    Serving Size: 1 (9001 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 273.3
     
    Calories from Fat 17
    35%
    Total Fat 1.9 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 3211.7 mg
    133%
    Total Carbohydrate 60.3 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 12.8 g
    51%
    Sugars 43.5 g
    174%
    Protein 9.1 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites