Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Salsa Sour Cream Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Salsa Sour Cream Chicken

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on May 01, 2004

      I found a couple of the same recipes of this, but I used yours, and it was outstanding! Threw it in the crock pot before work and when I got home it was ready. I made some spanish rice to go with it, I thought I was in a mexican restaurant! The chicken was so tender! And it's low fat!! Next time I'll make a mexican feast out of it. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2009

      We made this with #352762 - Custard Corn Bread, which was a wonderful combination. This recipe was delicious. We used a whole jar of salsa and substituted chili seasoning since we didn't have taco seasoning. The chicken breasts we had were frozen, so after the first 30 minutes they weren't cooked. We had to set the oven to 400 for the corn bread, so the chicken cooked for another 25 minutes at that temp. It was moist, very tasty, and cooked to exactly 160 degrees when it was done! I highly recommend making these two recipes together.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2008

      Very good and easy!! I sprinkled a little cheddar cheese on top of each breast when I put it back in the oven. Very good!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2005

      Really good! I didn't add the sour cream at the end because the spanish rice recipe I was serving it with already had sour cream in it so I didn't want to overdo the sour cream flavor. My family liked this so I expect I will be making it again. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2008

      Very Tasty, easy to make, an all around winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2008

      Super easy to prepare and really good. Used 4 T Penzey's taco seasoning and light organic sour cream. Chicken came out very tender, everyone enjoyed it. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2008

      Easy weeknight meal. The chicken came out moist and good flavor. Not sure about step 4. There is only grease in the pan and the salsa is on the chicken not in the bottom of the pan, so there was no place to stir in the sour cream. So I just mixed a little sour cream on top of the salsa and put the chicken back in the oven to warm it up for a few minutes. Next time I will just leave the sour cream out of the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2008

      Wow this was so good! Chicken was nice and tender. I did use whole 16 oz jar of salsa and 1/2 cup low fat sour cream. We love sauce. Served with brown rice, green beans and salad. YUM! Will be maing this again. So easy to prepare when I got home from work. Family loved it. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2007

      Wonderful flavor! I served it over spanish rice. Huge hit! Will make again soon! I chopped up leftover chicken, heated and used to make a taco salad the next day. I also added a can of chopped black olives when cooking and doubled the salsa/sour cream. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2007

      A lovely recipe. Very easy to prepare. I did not have any sour cream so I used Carnation lite & creamy evaporated milk, it was still a very tasty sauce. I served it with mashed potatoes and a plain salad. A keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2006

      I have made this 4-5 times and cannot get over how wonderful it tastes for being so easy to prepare. I've even had friends over and served this with spanish rice, cheese quesadillas, and margaritas for a theme dinner... everyone loved it. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2005

      This recipe is great. I made a few small changes. I'm not one for baking in the oven if I can avoid it. So I diced the chicken and cooked in nonstick pan until no longer pink. I added the taco seasoning and a half a cup of water and cooked until the water evaporated (find this reduced the taste of salt in the taco seasoning) and then I added the salsa. Heated through and then added the sour cream. I spooned this over plain white rice. It was fabulous.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2005

      Very quick and easy and just delicious. Will make again. I used Taco Seasoning Mix #2642 with the addition of 1/2 tsp each of paprika and sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2005

      Very easy to make. A bonus is being low fat if you use light sour cream. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2005

      I made this for dinner last night and it was wonderful! Very, very easy with stuff I had on hand. I made this just exactly the way the recipe stated without making any changes, which is really unusual for me! Definitely a keeper recipe. Thanks, dgpat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2004

      OMG! We loved this and want to give it 10*. It did have a kick to it with all the taco seasoning on it but it is so good that you eat through the pain. I used chicken tenders and they had a good layer of taco seasoning on them. There wasn't any salsa with which to mix the sour cream short of scraping it off the chicken. I just served the chicken with the sour cream as a side to mix per the eater's desires. This easy dish will be made often at this house. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2004

      4 points for weight watchers

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2004

      Very good. Next time I'll probably add a small can of chopped green chiles just because my husband is a heat nut. A definite keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Salsa Sour Cream Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (197 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 178.0
     
    Calories from Fat 41
    23%
    Total Fat 4.5 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 2.2 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 74.7 mg
    24%
    Sodium 472.8 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.6 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 2.0 g
    8%
    Protein 28.7 g
    57%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    taco seasoning mix

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes