17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is originally Michael Chiarell's recipe from Nappa Style. He took it off his site because he now sells it in a jar for a hefty price. Good cheese, however is expensive.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
janmont May 01, 2014

This is a truly flavorful appetizer, that we just love. So many flavors in this that we love. One of my favorite appetizers to serve to my guests! I always add a thin slice of tomato on the bread before spooning on the salsa, added some chopped black and green olives on top, then more cheese, and then broil it to release all the wonderful flavors. Your right, it is addicting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LindaInNH April 27, 2010

Not having tasted asiago cheese before, I didn't really know what to expect -- just took a leap of faith based on the 12 glowing reviews and the fact that it's Mean Chef's recipe. With only a 5-oz. wedge of asiago, I basically cut it in half. However, despite the extra ounce or so of both cheeses, 3/4 cup oil would have been way too much. Once it reached a smooth consistency, I quit pouring. (I had at least 2 T. left over, and there was a little puddle of oil in the processor that wasn't absorbed, so I stopped none too soon.) Given all the hype, the first bite was a little disappointing. Good, but not great. However, after spreading it generously on slices of French bread and broiling for about 7 minutes, it knocked our socks off! Just tasted a leftover piece. Back to room temp...and back to just "okay" imo. Obviously a matter of personal taste. But when it was hot, we thought it was fab!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
highcotton September 12, 2006

Anytime there is a potluck at work I get asked to make this. It is always the first thing gone.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jjaring June 27, 2008

I found that this was too strong tasting when just spread on bread. However, once broiled on bread it was very good. Thanks to previous reviewers for the suggestion of adding a slice of tomato. That was yummy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LoveGoodFood November 19, 2006

Very good! I over processed so it was a bit pasty but it was fantastic broiled on baguette slices.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
weda1998 November 03, 2006

Wonderful as a dip but exceptional baked on baquette rounds, alone, topped with a tomato slice, fresh basil, or black olive tampenade (or a combination of all three). Has been a hit with everyone I have served it to. Easy to make, keeps well in the fridge for a week or so.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eldereno September 06, 2006

I made this for a surprise party. Served it on melba toast with a slice of tomato - very delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugaree March 12, 2006

This is SOOOOO good! I took it to a potluck, and it was a very big hit - the most popular dish there. I served it with crackers (Ritz Top'ems), but I am guessing it will be great with Italian bread too. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
varunsmom March 08, 2006

Absolutely amazing is correct...what a fantastic combo of flavors. I served on toasted baguette slices and we couldn't stop eating it....can't wait to try broiling the baguette/salsa combo in the oven for a few minutes for the warmed version. This is a must-keep/do not lose recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LorenLou February 11, 2006
Salsa Di Parmigiano