69 Reviews

I found this and read all the reviews ...almost all excellent...so I tried it and I am on the excellent and wow so simple side....I did change a few things...made my own salsa and fried up the chicken first added garlic, corn and then near the end added extra onion and green peppers...did it all on the stovetop....awesome...thanks for the great idea...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shelleyducharme August 23, 2012

Made this tonight with some chicken I had simmered in a skillet with salsa the other day. I mixed the cream and salsa in a sauce pan and let it cook for a little while, then poured it over the two chicken breasts that I had left over. I didn't have quite enough cream, so I used about 1/2 cup of half & half, with a jar of homemade salsa. Served it over rice. My very picky 2 yo son loved it. I will make it again! Update: I made this again, and this time I didn't have any heavy cream, so I used evaprated milk and cooked it as directed. I won't do it that way again. Although it tasted fine, it looked curdled. I had a hard time getting past the way it looked.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vyxie's Kitchen January 10, 2011

THis recipe sounded so good on paper, but when I made it, I wasn't as impressed. The sauce was good, but seemed to be lacking. I did tweak it, so maybe that is the reason. I doubled the sauce recipe and used peach pineapple chipotle salsa instead of regular. Sounds good, huh. Well, I semi-covered with foil and baked for almost the full hour. I was really excited because this sounds so good. Turns out the family didn't really care for it all that much. The sauce was VERY runny and was missing something. That could be my fault somehow, but not sure. I could try adding bacon or ham to it, or tweaking with some spices, but don't think I will make it again. With as much fat as there is added with the heavy cream, the taste would have to be WAY better for me to make this regularly. Thanks for the recipe though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chemonurse93 August 03, 2009

Yummy!! Simple and tasty!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Isabelle's Mom July 09, 2009

Made it with half & half, which was probably my mistake. Not very interesting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MindWanderer July 02, 2009

I made this several months ago & forgot to review. Everyone in the house loved this little recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Newmsy June 05, 2009

Yummy!! This had great flavor and the chicken was so moist. I did remove the chicken and added a little bit of cornstarch to thicken the sauce. I made rice and served the chicken and sauce over it. I also served cornbread on the side. I'll make this again for sure.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sandy918Mom April 23, 2009

This is a keeper! Made this for a dinner party and everyone went back for seconds. Couldn't be easier! I lined my casserole dish with some lightly boiled pastaand places sauce and chicken on top. I served with some extra sauce on the side with some cornstarch added for thickness.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary B. April 05, 2009

My boyfriend loved this recipe....I thought it tasted better the next day...The only thing I did different was I seasoned the chicken breasts with salt, pepper and tex-mex seasoning before placing them into the baking dish

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DaisyFunnel March 12, 2009

I'm giving this 5 stars for 2 different families! I made this but used Hunts diced tomatoes instead of salsa because I have a 5 year old who doesn't like peppers of any kind or spicy foods. I also sprinkled the chicken with alot of garlic powder before I put it in the sauce and added a tablespoon or 2 of dried parsley to the sauce. I served it over spiral pasta with a bunch of romano cheese sprinkled on top and my family LOVED this. It was really great and my goodness, what could be easier?!?! My sauce was NOT too thin- it was perfect to put over pasta or rice and my cooking time was 1 hour. My best friend made this exactly as written and her VERY PICKY husband and 3 grown sons loved this and they all gave it 5 stars. She's going to dredge the chicken in bread crumbs next time because she thinks that will be even better! Thank you, Clara12 for a super easy, delicious recipe! We all loved it. Update: I made this again and OMG it is the easiest best chicken EVER. Try it, you'll love it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Realtor by day, Chef by night January 28, 2009
Salsa-Cream-Chicken