Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Salsa-Cream-Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Salsa-Cream-Chicken

    Average Rating:

    69 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 69

    Sort by:

    • on April 02, 2003

      Hi Clara12; Such a simple recipe to make and it has that nice Salsa/Creamy combination taste. I also love experimenting to make various kinds of chicken recipes. I am recipe developer, author, publisher, distributor, promoter and the ladies gave me a title, "BSG" "Uncle Bill"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2003

      This was so QUICK and EASY and GOOD! I cut my chicken into smaller pieces(in half)The chicken came out nice and tender, could cut it with a fork. I used "medium" heat fiesta style salsa and it was just right for those who dont like alot of "heat". I will use "hot" salsa though when its just for me and DH. I cooked up some plain minute rice mixed with some black beans and the sauce was great over it. This is a great QUICKFIX meal when you don't feel like spending time in the kithen.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2003

      This is a FABULOUS recipe and soooo easy!!! I used chipotle salsa, which gave it a wonderful smoky taste. I served it over pasta. YUMMY! This is a new favorite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2009

      This was soooo good!! The sauce was delicious! I used 2c. of mild salsa & 2c. of heavy cream, used 2T. of corn starch to thicken sauce. Served on top of rigatoni pasta. Will make again, thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2003

      I thought this recipe was great. So easy and delicious. My family really enjoyed it. The sauce was great over rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2008

      This made a fabulous Sunday dinner. Some weekends I don't mind spending all Sunday in the kitchen slaving over a hot stove preparing a nice, satisfying, hearty meal. Today was not one of them. This recipe met my needs for something simple yet satisfying and DH agreed. I tweaked it a little using 2 chicken breasts that I quick seared in a scant amount of olive oil and butter. Didn't have heavy cream so substitued Half and Half and reduced it and the salsa just a tad. I also sprinkled a few dashes of Chipotle Tabasco on top of the breasts before gently covering with the sauce. Because of the sear I reduced the cooking temp to 375 and the time to 45 minutes. Topped with fresh cilantro when done and served with Saffron Rice and Brocoli. The chicken was beautiful and the sauce was fantastic. Fabulous dinner and a definite keeper for busy weeknights or company!!! Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2005

      This is DH's favorite meal in the world. We use a Chipotle Salsa for a wonderful smokey flavor and either use chicken tenders or cut the chicken breasts into strips before baking for easier serving (this also reduces baking time). Wonderful and I can't recommend it enough!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2004

      Made it on the stove top by browning the chicken first, adding the salsa and cream, and letting it simmer briskly till the sauce was thick. Very easy. Added a couple teaspoons of dry boullion which brought out the flavors nicely. Also used mango-peach salsa. Dee-lish.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2004

      Awesome recipe and so easy to make. I used chicken parts instead and only used 1 cup each of salsa (Pace medium) and heavy cream. Had to add a little cornstarch towards the end as the sauce was a little thin for me. A definate keeper. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2003

      Great, easy recipe. I used chipotle salsa and buttermilk. A keeper, w/lots of possible variations. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2014

      I don't have too much of a problem with the thickness of the sauce, nor with overcooking at 400 degrees for 1 hour.<br/><br/>I use 4 very large chicken breasts that I usually have to overlap a bit in the pan (I use a ceramic Le Creuset Heritage 2 1/2 qt. Rectangular Dish). On top of the salsa (half medium and half hot Chunky Pace Picante Sauce) and heavy cream I add quite a bit of black pepper, a bit of white pepper, and some tabasco sauce (adds a good flavor and kick). I then let it marinate for 1-1.5 hours flipping the chicken breasts 4 times or so during the process. I then bake it at 400 for 1 hour (as the directions call for) with the chicken breasts completely submerged in the sauce. I do not cover it when baking, which probably helps it thicken as well.<br/><br/>After baking, if the sauce is still a bit thin, I will set the chicken breasts aside and simmer the sauce in a skillet for a little while. I think I've added corn starch to it once, but usually simmering it for a while is enough to reduce it to my liking. Simmering it reduces it further and intensifies the flavors. This isn't always necessary, but never hurts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2014

      So easy and so good. I've made this a few times. The second time I mixed up rice and chicken broth and put that on the bottom, then added this recipe right on top of it. Worked out great and reduced cleanup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2014

      Er-mer-gerd! This was absolutely fantastic!!!!! Hands down one of the best things I've ever made or tasted. It felt like I ordered gourmet chicken at a fancy restaurant.The only thing that I adapted was the spice. I was only able to get medium salsa, so I threw in some crushed red pepper flakes and one or two tsps of hot Mexican chili powder. My husband loves spicy food. So so good and super easy. I served it with some refried beans and Spanish rice. Delish!!!!!! Love, love, love this chicken recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2014

      This was AWESOME. My 13 year old daughter is very picky and she had seconds. Served with white rice, salad and garlic bread. Very quick and easy weeknight meal! Thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2014

    • on March 11, 2014

      Very easy, delicious recipe. Cooked in cast iron skillet on stove top instead of oven. Total time was about 20 min instead of the hour in the oven. If you like a very thick sauce like pictured, I would either decrease the amount of liquid or simmer longer. I used jar salsa that I had on hand, will try fresh salsa next time for more texture to sauce!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2014

      Yum......with 1 2/3 cup cream, I thought the fat content was on the high side.... I used a little over a cup of cream style corn, then the rest cream, medium salsa, added cumin and cilantro. I did have to thicken the sauce with a little potato starch.... This is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2014

      Wow, yummy! I was a little bored with chicken so chose to cook feta instead. I prepared my own salsa - for a first time, btw:) - dish was divine!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2013

      This is a stupidly simple to make dish. I love the fact that it required almost no time to prepare. All I did was to cut the chicken breasts into a few fillets and threw them into the heavy cream and homemade salsa mixture. Served with some mixed spring greens. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2013

      So easy and very good. I think it might be better cooked just in the salsa and then sour cream stirred into the end....but this is very good also. Note: if you use half & half, youll have to thicken it a little when finished. I used ultragel.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Salsa-Cream-Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (353 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 621.1
     
    Calories from Fat 452
    72%
    Total Fat 50.2 g
    77%
    Saturated Fat 26.7 g
    133%
    Cholesterol 228.6 mg
    76%
    Sodium 785.9 mg
    32%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.6 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    7%
    Sugars 3.4 g
    13%
    Protein 33.9 g
    67%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes