Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Salsa Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Salsa

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on June 12, 2002

      Unquestionably the best salsa I have ever had! The flavor is best when it is allowed to "marinate" in the refridgerator overnight. Also I like it with a few extra jalapenas for spicyiness. This salsa cannot be beaten.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2003

      I give this recipe 4 stars for authenitic flavor. However, when I make it again I will be SURE to reduce the amount of onion and jalapeno peppers...especially the onion. I felt the onion overpowered the rest of the recipe. I prefer my salsa mild and this was anything BUT mild, however if you like things spicy go ahead and follow the recommended amount of peppers. I will make this again with a few minor changes. Thanks for sharing such an authentic tasting salsa recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2003

      The salsa I made using this as my basic recipe is great! I reduced the amount of tomato juice because I used canned tomatoes with juice. I added 2 cloves of garlic and used fresh lime juice instead of water. I also decided to make a smoother salsa so I whirred it all in my blender. After a taste test, I decided to add pepper and a few dashes of Tobasco. Delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2003

      Wow!!! Best salsa recipe ever. We love it in this house and we always bring some with us to our friends and neigbor's house's. Top notch yum.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2011

      I just wanted to say, I attempted this salsa for the first time and won a competition at work :) It's a great recipe and it's VERY easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2009

      this recipe was great. i did add half of a limes juice and some garlic powder. thank you so much for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2008

      This is such a good basic recipe. Thank you so much for posting it. However, I used only two TB of jalapeno, and it was too hot for me, and I can usually take spicy food. So next time I'll put in a little less. I'm going to use this recipe at our upcoming picnic. I know everyone will love it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2008

      Good recipe, great taste! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2008

      My husband needed to do a demonstrative speech and we picked your recipe for salsa. It takes less than 5 minutes to make and his classmates were asking for the recipe afterwards. He used a food chopper to make it faster. Truth is known, it definately gets hotter the longer you leave it! Absolutely delicious! Thanks Bev!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2007

      This is a very easy salsa with a nice flavor I used serrano chiles and used 3 plum tomatoes because it was what I had on hand. This was wonderful with chips! Thanks Bev!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2006

      Very, very good! I don't think this was too hot (in fact, I will add a bit more peppers next time). It is really necessary to let it stand overnight in the fridge; this will lead to the right texture (which is a bit runny at the start).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2005

      This is so, so good! I can't pass on any remarks about making it, as I haven't yet -- but I was lucky enough to try this salsa, made by Bev herself! Excellent texture and consistency (Bev makes this with everything chopped very fine, which I really like) -- it was definitely not too thin or too runny -- and a flavour that rivals any restaurant or bottled salsa I've had. The jalapeno heat unquestionably packs a punch, but it would easily be toned down if the amount of jalapenos listed is too much. For me, the amount of heat was enjoyable and not too overwhelming (although, for my hubby for example, I know I will have to cut way back on the peppers). I would agree that this salsa improves as it "ages", so don't worry about leftovers -- they'll be terrific. Thanks Bev!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2005

      The amt. of cilantro was PERFECT, not overpowering. Substituted the tomato juice for Spicy V-8, did have to add alot more tomatoes for it was very runny and didn't add any water Thank You Bev!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2004

      I liked the taste of this especially on the second day, but thought it was way too runny and I didn't even add as much tomato juice as stated and no water at all just a dash of lemon juice. Next time I'll leave out the tomato juice, or maybe use about 2-3 tbsp.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2004

      On the first day I thought this salsa was good ,but not great. On the second day it was the best salsa I had ever had. I highly reccomend leting the salsa sit overnight in the refridgerator. For me, the ingredients were just the right amount.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Salsas Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Salsa

    Serving Size: 1 (556 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 28.1
     
    Calories from Fat 1
    15%
    Total Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 528.0 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.7 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 4.7 g
    19%
    Protein 1.1 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites