Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Salmon with Pistachio Basil Butter Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Salmon with Pistachio Basil Butter

    Average Rating:

    36 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 36

    Sort by:

    • on October 22, 2008

      I doubled the pistachios, lime juice and garlic, used 15 basil leaves and it was great. I marinated the salmon with a little white wine, 3 cloves of garlic, garlic powder, salt and pepper to add some flavor. Used this sauce to serve over Angel Hair but I would definitely try rice instead next time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2014

      Great! I halved the butter amount as some other reviewers have, as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2010

      Made with chicken and put the extra over cauliflower "rice" and it was delicious. Even forgot the lime juice, oops.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2010

      One word: AMAZING! I had a few salmon-loving guests over for dinner and "experimented" on them with this recipe. We were all stunned by the awesome flavors! Except for the occasional "mmmm's" we were speechless during dinner ... a sure sign of a great meal. The only change I made was to not cook the salmon in the wine as recommended since I did not want to boil out the Omega-3s from the Alaskan King salmon I used. Thank you Kimke for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2010

      This was wonderful. The whole family loved it. I ended up using a very sweet, fruity wine because it was all I had but it worked well. I also didn't have any basil so used dried parsley. This would go well with any number of sides. I served with a sweet pasta dish but think a yummy mash or even pasta alfredo would be great matches...any simple steamed or roasted green veg would work great too. It really wasn't at all what I expected but so much better. I have some of the butter left over (I made extra because I never trust recipes, but should have) and may save it to make this again over the weekend. Thanks for posting. Delicious and easy, what more could you want?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2009

      This was so simple to make and so delicious! The fish came out perfectly. I followed other reviewers' advice and marinated the fish for half an hour in wine, garlic, and basil. Also, since I was only cooking for two, I halved the amount of butter but kept the other ingredient amounts as written. It was plenty of butter and very flavorful. I served the entire thing over rice pilaf for a delicious, company-quality meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2009

      We were looking forward to making this with salmon, but the store was out, so we made it with two whole chicken breasts pounded flat. Preheated the oven to 400°, browned the chicken in an oven-proof skillet, deglazed it with white wine, smeared it with the butter and put it in the oven for ten minutes. Divine! The leftover butter is going on a turkey sandwich for lunch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2009

      Our family has made this salmon twice and loved it both times. It's so elegant and different, plus super yummy! Thanks so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2008

      Best salmon recipe I have tried. Restaurant quality. Delicious! This is one of my husband's favorite meals.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2008

    • on May 17, 2008

      Dont skip out on the salt and pepper! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2008

      This was a really good variation on fish with pesto sauce - I especially enjoyed the pistachios. I wouldn't change a thing about this recipe! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2008

      This was a great meal. Made as directed. Next time will take previous reviewer's suggestion & marinate salmon in wine, basil & garlic before cooking. Served with barbequed vegies. Thanks Kimke for sharing this keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2007

      this was great. I marinated the fish beforehand in white wine, fresh basil and garlic so it would be extra flavorful. thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2007

      Ok this is my second time reviewing this, but I just had to say that I made it with chicken this time and it was worth more than 5 stars. I just cooked chicken breasts in a little olive oil on the stove, then put them in the baking dish and covered them with pistachio basil butter and baked them in the oven for 5 min. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2007

      I didn't have pistachios, but I had some garlic, basil butter in the fridge. I added garlic to / squeezed the lime into the wine. Really good. Went well with some brown rice (to soak up the extra wine) and Hey Jude's Swiss Chard with Tomatoes #94436. Will make again for sure and will try the pistachios next time. Thanks, Kimke.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2006

      A unique and absolutely delicious recipe for salmon! So different than most "typical" salmon recipes, and not at all difficult to make (even without a food processor, everything can be diced pretty easily and satisfactorily). I love the crunchy texture of the pistachio butter, which contrasts nicely with the soft, smooth texture of salmon. Thanks for a winner!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2006

      Like Michelle, I served this yesterday with Mallina Cashew's # 32295 "Magnificent 1st Prize Risotto", and my four guests all mmhed and aahed all evening! One of my guests had eaten four evenings in a row in various restaurants before coming to my place and she said that this meal was the best of her week by far! I was pretty faithful to recipe, using five large salmon fillets that fully covered the voluminous risotto bed underneath. I followed other people's advice and doubled the pistachios and presoftened the butter before using the food processor. The pistachio butter was delicious, but maybe I'll change the proprtions next time to increase the lime or garlic flavor. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2006

      Outstanding and superb! Definitely a rstaurant quality recipe! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2006

    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Salmon with Pistachio Basil Butter

    Serving Size: 1 (243 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 471.2
     
    Calories from Fat 290
    61%
    Total Fat 32.2 g
    49%
    Saturated Fat 15.9 g
    79%
    Cholesterol 148.5 mg
    49%
    Sodium 278.4 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.0 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 0.9 g
    3%
    Protein 35.7 g
    71%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites