36 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I doubled the pistachios, lime juice and garlic, used 15 basil leaves and it was great. I marinated the salmon with a little white wine, 3 cloves of garlic, garlic powder, salt and pepper to add some flavor. Used this sauce to serve over Angel Hair but I would definitely try rice instead next time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Poison_Ivy October 22, 2008

Great! I halved the butter amount as some other reviewers have, as well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosslare January 11, 2014

Made with chicken and put the extra over cauliflower "rice" and it was delicious. Even forgot the lime juice, oops.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kandc88 September 22, 2010

One word: AMAZING! I had a few salmon-loving guests over for dinner and "experimented" on them with this recipe. We were all stunned by the awesome flavors! Except for the occasional "mmmm's" we were speechless during dinner ... a sure sign of a great meal. The only change I made was to not cook the salmon in the wine as recommended since I did not want to boil out the Omega-3s from the Alaskan King salmon I used. Thank you Kimke for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Glori-B July 21, 2010

This was wonderful. The whole family loved it. I ended up using a very sweet, fruity wine because it was all I had but it worked well. I also didn't have any basil so used dried parsley. This would go well with any number of sides. I served with a sweet pasta dish but think a yummy mash or even pasta alfredo would be great matches...any simple steamed or roasted green veg would work great too. It really wasn't at all what I expected but so much better. I have some of the butter left over (I made extra because I never trust recipes, but should have) and may save it to make this again over the weekend. Thanks for posting. Delicious and easy, what more could you want?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ilysse April 16, 2010

This was so simple to make and so delicious! The fish came out perfectly. I followed other reviewers' advice and marinated the fish for half an hour in wine, garlic, and basil. Also, since I was only cooking for two, I halved the amount of butter but kept the other ingredient amounts as written. It was plenty of butter and very flavorful. I served the entire thing over rice pilaf for a delicious, company-quality meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FlyingCook August 25, 2009

We were looking forward to making this with salmon, but the store was out, so we made it with two whole chicken breasts pounded flat. Preheated the oven to 400°, browned the chicken in an oven-proof skillet, deglazed it with white wine, smeared it with the butter and put it in the oven for ten minutes. Divine! The leftover butter is going on a turkey sandwich for lunch!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TJW March 22, 2009

Our family has made this salmon twice and loved it both times. It's so elegant and different, plus super yummy! Thanks so much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Lindsay February 05, 2009

Best salmon recipe I have tried. Restaurant quality. Delicious! This is one of my husband's favorite meals.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefJennifer October 06, 2008
Salmon with Pistachio Basil Butter