Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Salmon Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Salmon Soup

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on November 20, 2012

      I added carrots, celery, fresh green beans, cilantro, and scallions to this recipe and it was delish. I also used veggie broth instead of the chicken because I don't eat meat aside from fish .. made for a delish soup!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2011

      Great simple soup - I used marinated salmon as that's what I had, 1 litre of broth, and 1/2 ts cayenne. Made for a lovely light dinner! Thank you MsPia!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2010

      Delicious and easy! Even my 6 and 3 year old ate some. I will reduce cayenne next time due to their tastes- a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2010

      first time fish soup maker, n this was easy, fun, and new. nice recipe

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2009

      Absolutely wonderful! I often make myself one serving of this for lunch-it's so quick and easy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2009

      Beautiful soup! I only used about 1 tablespoon of oil to saute the onion, otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. Delicious! I was looking for something to use salmon and spinach in and I am sure glad I found this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2008

      I did not use the oil. I put everything into the pot and cooked it. I also added sliced carrots, fresh shitake mushrooms and fresh enoki mushroom because we just had them in the frig. This was delicious. I will make this again. Thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2014

      This is a great basic recipe to "jump off" of with all kinds of fun ingredients. I definitely favor the vegetable broth and leeks. To de-skin salmon quickly and easily: put a little oil in a non-sick skillet and heat on medium high. Put the salmon filet in the skillet SKIN SIDE DOWN. Cook for about 30 seconds without disturbing. Flip filet over or onto a plate. Using a your hands and a paper towel or a set of tongs, peel the skin right off. (Careful, it's hot.) It should peel off easily. If it is still firmly attached, put it back in for another 30 seconds. Don't cook it too long or the scales will fall off everywhere. After you do one you will get a feel for how long it takes. Never wrestle the skin off again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2011

      This was easy and delicious. I try to eat fish once a week and now I have a way besides sushi or grilling a fillet on my George Foreman grill. This was the very first time I made soup that wasn't from a can much less a fish soup but it was so easy. The only problem I had was skinning the salmon but the seafood counter at my grocery store will do that for you. I did add frozen carrots, broccoli, and water chestnuts when I filled the pot with broth for added veggies. I intend to make this again soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2008

      I've made this twice now and would give it a gazillion stars if I could. I added broccoli as well, and it fits perfectly in this soup. I love the fact that it has a nice, clear broth--it adds an Asian feel to the dish, and you feel like you're eating healthy and that's always a good thing. The flavor combinations were wonderful, and even our picky teenager went back for seconds and stated how shocked he was that he was eating broccoli! But best of all is how quickly this dish comes together. My time is valuable lately, and anything that doesn't bog me down in the kitchen receives top honors from me! Thanks for sharing, I am oficially in love with this soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2008

      Great, easy, fast recipe. I also went with leeks (3) rather than onion, and added some chopped garlic and thinly sliced broccoli stalks (left after a floret recipe). I found some very cheap salmon and this looked like a good home for some of it. We were not disappointed. The flavor combination was mild but not bland, and the pink of the salmon, pale green of the leeks, with the bright green of the spinach made this beautiful. I served it with some parmesan cheese shreds and robust multigrain bread. And, to top it all off, it's a pretty healthy meal, too. Thanks for posting...I'm not sure I ever would have considered putting salmon into soup otherwise. It poaches very nicely without getting overdone.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2008

      Deceptively simple and unbelievably delicious. I will probably end up making this every week. Added some egg noodles for hubby in with the salmon. Absolutely delicious and light. Thank you very much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2008

      Nice and simple... West coast Canadians would kill for this soup... Leek was good... a mild touch over onion. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2007

      Oh so simple, yet oh so yummy. I took Chef #613534 advice and made it with a leek instead of onion, I also added 2 cloves of garlic, which I sauteed with the leek. For something that has very few ingredients, it was full of flavour and all the ingredients complimented each other really well. I also served as you suggested topped with parmesan cheese and homemade crutons, delicious. I will definitely be making again, thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2007

      Great recipe. My family couldn't stop eating it. Try it with a leek instead of a yellow onion. Absolutely delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2007

      Unbelievible flavor punch from a few very simple ingredients. I made it for a light lunch today skipping the oil and just adding the onion to the broth to cook. The salmon and chicken broth were very complimentary and the spinach was a great addition. It took me longer to skin the two salmon pieces than it did to make the soup. This is something I'll be making again without doubt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Salmon Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (362 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 342.9
     
    Calories from Fat 185
    54%
    Total Fat 20.6 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 3.3 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 52.1 mg
    17%
    Sodium 1086.8 mg
    45%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.8 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 32.1 g
    64%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites