9 Reviews

These were delicious and very easy to prepare. My can of salmon was 6 oz, so I adjusted the rest of the ingredients accordingly, and used leftover mashed potatoes. It was flavorful, with a lovely golden crunchy outside and a creamy inside. Thanks for sharing! ZWT8

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews August 12, 2012

I used a small can of salmon and made 4 fish cakes. I added a bit of Old Bay and it worked fine. We liked the taste and thought the texture was fine. I served them with hollandaise sauce and lemon wedges. Thanks for sharing. Made for ZWT 8.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CJAY August 11, 2012

Sorry this did not work for us real well. Very easy to put together, I used a 415 (14 ounces) gram can of red salmon so up other ingredients for 12 ounces though only used a 1/4 cup parsley as that was all I had and for dietary reasons used spring onions (mainly greeen for the onion). The biggest problem we had was a raw flour taste it did not cook out in cooking the rissoles. I made 8 rissoles with mix (big enough to put on a burger) but served with chips/fries and steamed vegetables. I will be trying again but maybe using dried bread crumbs as the binder instead of the flour or maybe a mix of both. Thank you alligirl, made for Everyday A Holiday.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat August 13, 2010

I loved it so much. It tastes like salmon pie. yummy! I did half the recipe and used a small can of salmon without salt. I used plain mashed potatoes. DH said it misses something. Maybe if my mashed potatoes would have been seasoned, it would have made a difference. But anyway, for me it was a hit. Thanks Alligirl :) Made for Holiday tag

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette October 18, 2009

I was going to give this 4 stars but after writing the review am changing to 5. Not because it was a WOW recipe for us ( it was a Good recipe for us) but because it is one I know I will make again and again just for simplicity and ease of switching it up. I have never made any fish cakes before and the only ones I have had were store bought frozen ones YUCK but these were tasty. I cut the recipe in half to make 4 rissoles. Yes they were a bit mushy but we like that with the nice crispy crust. I did not use all the salmon liquid. We like when part of the meal is "plain" when we have another side that is spicy. I made these earlier and let them sit in the fridge for an hour or so. Just a nice quick recipe when you have some leftover potatoes and a can of salmon and don't know what to make LOL My cats LOVED this recipe since there is about 5 ounces of salmon in a can and they got the remaining ounce as a treat LOL My potatoes were just mashed with no cream or butter added to them. This is also a recipe that could be altered easily with some finely diced hot peppers and different herbs/spices and we love that in a recipe. Will make again as written and with changes. I served them with Caramelized Onion Dip#378477 as a topping. YUM.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wicked cook 46 July 28, 2009

I used leftover fresh salmon and leftover garlic mashed potatoes LOL. I added fresh dil in place of the parsley which was great and added some Old Bay Seasoning per another reviewer's recommendation. I still found them to be a bit bland. I also agree they are more mushy like a potato pancake. I would use less potatoes and more salmon next time. Made for ZWT5. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride May 19, 2009

These were delicious, but a little mushy. I ate mine on hamburger buns. So good! Thanks for the recipe. I made this for ZWT5.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Dana May 18, 2009

These were very good. They were quite easy to make and very inexpensive. The one thing I did not like was I felt they were mushy and I even left out the salmon juice. I believe it might be the combination of mashed potatoes and salmon. Made for ZWT5

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
morgainegeiser May 15, 2009

These were really very good but I felt a little more seasoning would have taken these babies over the top such as 'Old Bay' which I will try next time. Made for the Dining Daredevils team for ZWT5.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SueVM May 14, 2009
Salmon Rissoles