17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These are nice and light and creamy and the taste is wonderful. I baked them at 400 for about 20 mins. It's a keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andrea in NH April 08, 2006

These are EXCELLENT!! These patties not only have an excellent taste, but the texture is perfect. They are soft, and the mashed potatoes and salmon become one to produce an almost creamy tasting salmon patty. They are also quite pretty as they form into a patty shape very well. I pan fried my patties in just a little unhydrogenated margarine, which worked well. The patties were delicate, but held together well. They are excellent with Happy Harry's Low-fat creamy dill sauce. A 10 star recipe, I will definetly make these again!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LUv 2 BaKE March 01, 2006

This is one terrific salmon patty. Only change I made was to use olive oil rather than butter. My salmon, potatoes and egg were cold out of the frig and seemed to hold together just fine without the 30 minute rest in the frig. Definitely 5 stars, Happy Harry #2.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarpea November 17, 2005

Oh YUM! I made these for dinner last night for my son and myself. I had a box of matzo meal in my freezer for quite some time that I wanted to use up. I used 2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice in place of the lemon rind, and used boxed instant potatoes, also I doubled the recipe, as I wanted to freeze some to reheat at a later time for myself, but I doubt if I will have any to freeze, I have just eaten two out of the fridge, they ARE wonderful cold also! This is a great recipe, we really enjoyed them for dinner. Thank you very much Happy Harry for sharing!...Kittencal:)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz June 16, 2005

Awesome these are great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
randyhensley April 01, 2013

These were good. I omitted the refrigeration step and fried them straight after mixing up the whole thing. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
romagen April 24, 2011

The reason why I am giving 3 stars is because of the following reasons : needed more salt, tasted like mashed potatoes with out the salmon. Maybe another can of salmon would do. If a erson likes bland food, this recipe would be their favorite.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diane S June 12, 2010

Very good, very easy and quick. I used home canned pink salmon and mashed red skinned potatoes. Just used a little onion powder and lemon pepper for ease. I had no mazto, so I sub'd crackers crumbs. Chilled just 5 minutes, then pan fried in my large cast iron. A nice quick weeknight meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karencooks April 29, 2010

I love Salmon Patties but DH is generally less enthralled. This gets 5 stars because he really likes them too! I had no matzo meal so I used a type of buttery cracker that we didn't really care for with cheese. I put the onion, egg and crackers in a mini food pro and pulsed it a few times. I also added a handful of coarsely chopped salad shrimp.It all came together very quickly and was delicious! I will be making these often. Thanks so much for posting. I served it with Cucumber & Chive Sauce for Fish & Poultry as DH doesn't like tartar sauce either.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
K9 Owned April 06, 2010

This is a fantastic keeper! My husband is super critical about food but he LOVED this recipe. Since we love hot, spicy food I did finely chopped jalepeno peppers, lots of chopped fresh garlic and bread crumbs instead of matzo meal. Really unusual for hubby, he ate a couple of cold leftover patties for his lunch next day. Totally unheard of!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jacquesmorrow June 07, 2008
Salmon Potato Patties