133 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I "HATE" short unconstructive reviews, but mine is gonna be short. These were EXCELLENT! I wouldn't change a thing, PERMANENT KEEPER!!! UPDATE: Excellent Mary, thank you for responding to my recipe request. This recipe was tried as a result of that and loved by all of us, thanks! This was Very Good, a bit hit here, permanent keeper, which is a 5+ star rating here! Teresa M.

34 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Teresa M April 11, 2002

Excellent recipe, I had a can of Salmon with no idea how to make patties so I tried this one for dinner last night, my husband and two children loved them! I added a bit of mustard to the mix before cooking them, it was a hit! Thanks!

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jess Carter November 01, 2002

This has been a family favorite for years. I had never made it with red pepper flakes, but it was quite a nice addition. I do make a white onion and dill sauce to top the patties. Yummy!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LadybugLady February 23, 2003

Here's my take on the recipe: I used regular saltines, added chopped garlic and onion, a big dash of Worcestershire sauce, fresh lemon juice, and crushed red pepper flakes. I like the basic recipe, but it was needing more flavor. With my additions, it definitely gives the basic recipe more kick. Thanks for posting!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TreeSquirrel October 31, 2010

I made this for dinner last night. I didn't remove the bones, I added a touch of Old Bay instead of salt. The directions didn't say how much of the crackers to use so I used about 3/4 of a sleeve of Ritz. I think that was too much because it was a little dry. But it's extremely easy to make and pretty darn tasty so absolutely I will make it again using fewer crackers, I won't drain the salmon quite so thoroughly, I'll add more Old Bay and a big squirt of lemon and/or salt-free lemon pepper. Thanks for a good and easy recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ann Marie F March 08, 2013

Oh my, these are SO Good! The best salmon patties I have ever had. I had some left over salmon that we had BBQ'd on cedar planks. So I flaked that, added a bit of grated lemon zest and a dash of Old Bay Seasoning and omitted the red pepper, otherwise followed as posted. So glad I did! Served on Kaiser rolls with Tartar Sauce and lettuce, everyone was happy. Thanks for posting Mary, I can't wait to have these again soon.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karencooks May 16, 2012

Wow! This was the first time I ever made salmon patties and it sure won't be the last time! I used a sleeve of Town House crackers, added sliced green onions and omitted the red pepper flakes (we don't like spicy), otherwise I followed the recipe exactly, cooking in a cast iron skillet with a little oil. They were just moist enough and had awesome flavor! I found the canned salmon intimidating as I had never used it before. I followed online suggestions of removing the vertebrae and some of the fatty skin and leaving the rest of the bones. I was a little unsure of this as any fish bones are usually undesirable. In this case though, it really works as you can't tell there are any at all. I will make this more often as it was so simple yet so delicious!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Loves To Cook but NOT clean up September 12, 2010

I made these last night and they were great. My dads been making salmon patties with our fresh canned red salmon for years, and thats what I used. The only difference in the way I cooked it was to fry in oil deep enough to cover half of the patty. Brown 4 minutes on each side then flip.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
a_happy_goddess November 17, 2009

I make these at least once a month. I use 4 cans (5oz) skinless boneless salmon, 3 eggs, and one roll (40) ritz crackers. Yum! I always searve with cream peas :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kansashortcake October 22, 2009
Salmon Patties