19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Superb! I like this recipe very much. I never knew that a simple can of salmon can do such wonder. It looks fancy and tastes hearty, and really, not much work.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Izzy Knight January 22, 2002

This is a wonderful recipe. I plan to use it often. The extra effort is worth it. My concern is the fat content. I used less butter than called for and it was still good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lanore September 13, 2003

This is a wonderful recipe!The only thing i did different was i did not do the milk mixture,i used lemon pepper panko bread crumbs 1/2 cup and added fresh chopped parsley!It was so light and easy to cut,it did not fall apart like others!Topped the salmon loaf with lemon pepper seasoning as well with a little of Chef Paul Prudommies seafood seasoning!!!!I My husband loved it, will make again, giving this recipe 5 stars,thank u for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
snackcake1_12112887 April 16, 2013

This recipe is a revelation. I think the people who gave it a low rating must not have followed it correctly because this is spectacularly good. Separating the eggs and folding in the whipped egg whites makes it much lighter and milder than, say, salmon croquettes, without being too "bready" or "eggy." It also freezes nicely. I've made two loafs so far, and the best one was baked in a pyrex loaf pan; I could see when the sides were nicely browned. The second loaf baked in a coated aluminum pan needed an extra ten minutes, and it didn't come out as cleanly, but it was still terrific. I cut the amount of bread crumbs to 2 cups and added 2 tablespoons of bell pepper. Canned salmon was something I used to buy once in a blue moon, but now I just may keep it on hand all the time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lewbob February 27, 2013

We did not care for this recipe at all. My usual salmon loaf recipe made with a bechamel sauce produces a more dense and flavorful loaf but I thought I might try this for a change. This had too high of a breadcrumbs-to-fish ratio so one is only vaguely aware of eating something flavored with fish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carla370 October 08, 2012

I enjoyed this. Thank you. Even made the creamed peas. Added parsley and a splash of Worcestershire, but I'm sure it would have been fine without.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paganini123 September 02, 2012

This recipe really failed me. It was paste in the middle and bland, bland, bland. Really yucchy. Even though I baked it for WELL over the recommended time, and then sliced it and panfried the sorry slices, the middle still would never progress past doughy.
Disgusting. Sorry. Will not make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kitchendestroyer August 10, 2012

Loaf was tasty enough, but I agree with others that there are too many bread crumbs. Also, it could use a bit of zesting up. Next time I'd add capers and/or lemon zest to the loaf.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mannytoll April 12, 2012

This is excellent and I would have given it 5 stars but I didn't have time to shred up fresh bread so I used 3/4 cup dry bread crumbs. It definitely is worth the little extra effort. I served it with Spinach Saute With Brown Butter and Garlic (#110043) and Salmon Alton Brown's Baked Brown Rice (#177017). Super easy meal!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GramCracker April 09, 2009

This was okay--more bready than I care for. I think I'll try it again with half the crumbs.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AlaskaStephanie January 05, 2009
salmon loaf supreme