Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / salmon loaf supreme Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    salmon loaf supreme

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on January 22, 2002

      Superb! I like this recipe very much. I never knew that a simple can of salmon can do such wonder. It looks fancy and tastes hearty, and really, not much work.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2003

      This is a wonderful recipe. I plan to use it often. The extra effort is worth it. My concern is the fat content. I used less butter than called for and it was still good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2013

      This is a wonderful recipe!The only thing i did different was i did not do the milk mixture,i used lemon pepper panko bread crumbs 1/2 cup and added fresh chopped parsley!It was so light and easy to cut,it did not fall apart like others!Topped the salmon loaf with lemon pepper seasoning as well with a little of Chef Paul Prudommies seafood seasoning!!!!I My husband loved it, will make again, giving this recipe 5 stars,thank u for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2013

      This recipe is a revelation. I think the people who gave it a low rating must not have followed it correctly because this is spectacularly good. Separating the eggs and folding in the whipped egg whites makes it much lighter and milder than, say, salmon croquettes, without being too "bready" or "eggy." It also freezes nicely. I've made two loafs so far, and the best one was baked in a pyrex loaf pan; I could see when the sides were nicely browned. The second loaf baked in a coated aluminum pan needed an extra ten minutes, and it didn't come out as cleanly, but it was still terrific. I cut the amount of bread crumbs to 2 cups and added 2 tablespoons of bell pepper. Canned salmon was something I used to buy once in a blue moon, but now I just may keep it on hand all the time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2012

      We did not care for this recipe at all. My usual salmon loaf recipe made with a bechamel sauce produces a more dense and flavorful loaf but I thought I might try this for a change. This had too high of a breadcrumbs-to-fish ratio so one is only vaguely aware of eating something flavored with fish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2012

      I enjoyed this. Thank you. Even made the creamed peas. Added parsley and a splash of Worcestershire, but I'm sure it would have been fine without.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2012

      This recipe really failed me. It was paste in the middle and bland, bland, bland. Really yucchy. Even though I baked it for WELL over the recommended time, and then sliced it and panfried the sorry slices, the middle still would never progress past doughy.
      Disgusting. Sorry. Will not make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2012

      Loaf was tasty enough, but I agree with others that there are too many bread crumbs. Also, it could use a bit of zesting up. Next time I'd add capers and/or lemon zest to the loaf.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2009

      This is excellent and I would have given it 5 stars but I didn't have time to shred up fresh bread so I used 3/4 cup dry bread crumbs. It definitely is worth the little extra effort. I served it with Spinach Saute With Brown Butter and Garlic (#110043) and Salmon Alton Brown's Baked Brown Rice (#177017). Super easy meal!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2009

      This was okay--more bready than I care for. I think I'll try it again with half the crumbs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2008

      Fabulous! The only things I did different were to use Club crackers 2cps with 1 cup bread crumbs and added dill. My husband wants it weekly! I served it with creamed peas and jasmine rice. Definetly worth the extra steps as compred to other salmon loaf recipes

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2008

      Great recipe. I used stale oatmeal-flax bread for bread crumbs - which makes it very healthy. Served it with a Caesar Salad. The leftovers have disappeared thanks to the kids!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2007

      Really good, of course I had to make substitutions of cracker crumbs and evaporated milk(somebody put the jug back empty!) Because I had to use cracker, I ended up using a whole 12oz can of milk. Still got fluffy, and we all faught over the brown ends. Thanks, now we wont have to have salmon patties every time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2007

      I never cared to much for salmon loaf, but husband likes it. So once in a blue moon i'd make one . Today I decided I'd check and see if someone had a good recipe.This one sounded good to me . We just had the loaf with creamed peas and even I loved it ,my husband said : don't you lose this receipe this is very good !!! I changed one item since I didn't have lemon juice, I used 1 tablespoon of lemon pepper [ also omitted the 1/8 tsp. of pepper . Sissy U.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2007

      Yummy! Even the 3 year old ate all her food. I substituted the crumbs for a 1/2 cup wheat germ. And I wasn't so difficult to make, the beginning of the instructions were a bit confusing, for me, at first but I managed. Still splended!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2007

      Normally I avoid canned salmon (hate picking out those little bones), but I will use it for this. It's great comfort food. I also like it cold, usually for breakfast! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2006

      What a great recipe! My family loved it! My 4 kids ate every crumb and my husband rated this an 11 on a scale of 1 to 5. It was NOT too bready and not too fishy--the taste was light and perfect. I doubled the recipe to make 2 loaves, followed the recipe to a "T" (except I was out of lemon juice and so used lime juice which added a healthy tang to the flavor, YUM!), and it was finished in about 1 hour 10 minutes, with time allowed for standing. This was GREAT, EASY and FUN. And most of all, picky eaters LOVED it. They asked for seconds, and they asked for the recipe again (no small feat in my family). I served this with boiled red potatoes and a garden salad. A hearty meal but not heavy. Definitely a keeper of a recipe! Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2005

      Don't know what the hype is about this one. TOO many bread crumbs. We like our loaf to be more "fishy" not bready. This recipe was nothing special, especially in flavor AND more timely!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2005

      Perhaps it's the beaten egg whites that make this salmon loaf so tender, light, delicious and worth the little bit of extra time to prepare. I seasoned the mixture with some salt and pepper and a generous tablespoon of fresh dill to add an additional layer of flavor. This loaf was really special when served on a bed of creamed spinach that acted as a colorful sauce. I join the others who now claim this as the only recipe I will use for making salmon loaf in the future. Thanks for sharing it with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for salmon loaf supreme

    Serving Size: 1 (157 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 271.8
     
    Calories from Fat 130
    48%
    Total Fat 14.5 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 6.8 g
    34%
    Cholesterol 140.9 mg
    46%
    Sodium 280.3 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.2 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 21.0 g
    42%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    salmon liquid

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites