Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Salmon Chowder Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Salmon Chowder

    Average Rating:

    45 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 45

    Sort by:

    • on May 12, 2010

      Excellent thick & creamy chowder! I did alter the recipe a little. I fried 3 slices of bacon & used the bacon fat & a TB of butter to saute the onions,celery & 1 clove of garlic while the lge sauce pan boiled the potatoes & carrots. I drained & saved the potato water & added all the vegetables together in the saucepan. I added 1 cup of potato water back in w/the 2 cups of chicken broth & let the vegetables simmer together. I had 2 leftover halibut steaks that I added to the small can of salmon & tore into small pieces & also crumbled the 3 bacon slices. Served w/sour dough bread & fruit. Very filling & oh,so good! Thanks,Gigi! And,thanks to Arctic Mama for serving it to her Hoosier family!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2011

      This was a great and quick dinner! I did use evaporated skim milk, left out the celery (didn't have any) and used fresh garlic instead of garlic powder and fresh cooked steelhead instead of canned salmon. I also sauted the onions and garlic in olive oil instead of butter and left the salt out. It was FABULOUS!! Definitely will be making again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2010

      I've made this recipe many times..for friends and tomorrow I'll be making it for a party..it's a keeper, it's also so easy and quick! I too agree that the serving size is probably more like 5/6.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2010

      My salmon chowder recipe! I used frozen cubed hash brown potatoes to save time and it works very well. Different cheeses work well, use what you've got.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2008

      Halved the salt, used nonfat evaporated milk, and eliminated the cheese. My god, this was so good! Hoping it freezes well...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2003

      This was great! I don't like thick fish stews but this was an exception. I will definitely make this again. I did make some changes to it though that I was very pleased with. We'd bought a whole salmon from a fisherman. I had made fresh salmon stock and we also have lots of nice fresh salmon instead of canned. I used 2 cups of fresh salmon instead of canned, and 2 cups of fresh salmon stock instead of chicken stock. I don't know how this recipe tastes using canned salmon or chicken stock, but the changes I made were really good. I guess I'd suggest using fresh salmon if you can afford it, and also use fish stock to see if you like it instead of using chicken stock or another kind. I wanted my version of this stew to specifically keep the salmon flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2003

      I haven't even served this yet, but the tasting in delicious!! I followed the recipe to a T and it is so good. The flavors are just right, none too strong, and for a rainy day in Florida this is a perfect supper. I had half a salmon fillet leftover from the other night and it was just the right amount for the chowder. Thanks, Carole in Orlando

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2014

      Made as directed using the Chicken broth. Turned out just perfectly delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2012

      Very good. I made the recipe as directed except for subbing chedder cheese. I had a hard time tasting the salmon. Next time I would try frsh salmon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2012

      This was very good! I didn't have dill (sad face) but I will be sure to add it next time I make it. I used some smoked salmon and baby swiss cheese instead of the cheddar. Very easy to throw together and good too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2011

      I love this recipe and make it often. What a great way to use up cooked salmon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2011

      It's pretty good, but i think that the creamed corn makes it a little too sweet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2010

      Amazing and very easy. Made some subs due to allergies. Subbed plain Silk soy milk for cow's milk, Trader Joe's shredded soy cheese for real cheese, regular corn instead of cream of corn, soy marg for regular marg, shallots for onions. Also, added 1/2 c. sake. Very rich flavor. I probably can not freeze my version because I used soy milk though....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2010

      just whipped up some, it was very tasty! i'm not big on measuring to a 't,' .. so i had to make some minor adjustments on the wasy. i suggest following measurements a little moreso than i did, although mine still came out quite lovely. i did end up adding some left over cooked white rice, near the end of the final simmer, and sprinkled on a bit of parmesan cheese. leftovers should be delicious! thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2010

      A new family favorite! Easy to make and most of the ingredients were already in my pantry. I didn't have any corn so used some green beans instead. I also used minced garlic instead of the powder because I'm a garlic fanatic. Those were the only changes and we absolutely loved it. My son rarely goes back for seconds, and this time he went back for THIRDS! I had to cut him off because we wanted leftovers for the next day. Thank you, Gigi!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2009

      Excellent chowder. I made half a recipe and it was great. I cooked fresh salmon and then proceeded with the recipe. I used a cheddar, monterey jack combo for the cheese. Served with Cheese and Garlic Drop Biscuits.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2009

      What can I say but WOW. This is amazing. My boyfriend and I wound up eating everything up between just the two of us over the course of a day. :) Omitted the corn because I thought that would be odd in the chowder. Also used white cheddar cheese instead of American. Will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2009

      Quite good. I've never had salmon chowder before but I love salmon and I love corn chowder and this was a tasty combination of the two.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2009

      I really enjoyed this one!! A nice way to serve salmon. However I just realized I never put the cheese in. It was still very delicous!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2008

      This is wonderful! Made it for Christmas Eve dinner with two small changes. Left out the salt entirely, thinking that even low sodium chicken broth has more than enough salt. And, sprinkled the cheese on top just before serving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Salmon Chowder

    Serving Size: 1 (294 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 259.6
     
    Calories from Fat 96
    37%
    Total Fat 10.7 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 5.3 g
    26%
    Cholesterol 49.8 mg
    16%
    Sodium 773.5 mg
    32%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.2 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 3.6 g
    14%
    Protein 17.9 g
    35%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    American cheese

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites