22 Reviews

Great casserole, easy to make with basic pantry ingredients. I did use a little less pasta as I was using up an open box, used a can of Red Salmon and added cracked black pepper to sauce. I am always looking for casseroles that do not use canned soup as I prefer to make homemade sauce. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karencooks February 13, 2009

Instead of parsley I added 1/2 teaspoon dried dill. And in place of canned salmon I cooked two frozen salmon fillets, then broke into bite sized pieces. A little less fusilli pasta, same amount of other sauce ingredients, and perfect supper for two.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cpobrien November 08, 2015

Wonderful recipe. Added fresh sauteed mushrooms. Yes need to make extra sauce with added mushrooms. Used Old cheddar on top and mozzarella on noodles. Could have mashed salmon so that the sauce mixed better as some family do not like salmon. used a whole onion - 1 cup. Made 6 servings. Will make and freeze in portions.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rainbow10 March 29, 2015

Delicious. I used penne for the pasta, a little bit of sage instead of parsley, and fresh salmon instead of canned. I also used soymilk because we were out of milk...my husband didn't even notice. He ate nearly all the entire large casserole dish in one afternoon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
escofam April 25, 2013

This is pretty good. Honestly, there is nothing dynamite about it but it's getting 5 stars from me because it is easy, inexpensive, and the whole family had seconds. I doubled the sauce because of the other reviews. I really don't think it needed it. Next time I'll try 1.5ing it and see how it goes. Thanks for the great recipe Debbie R.......

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennyblender January 02, 2013

This is a delicious and economical casserole. I used gluten free pasta and flour. The recipe was reduced to 2 servings with the full amount of sauce. In place of the parsley I used a little dried dill. There were actually 3 nice servings.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG February 09, 2012

Easy to make with what you have in the pantry, and tasty too. I added red peppers, and substituted cheddar cheese instead of Monterey Jack, but otherwise made it as written. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2boyzmum January 11, 2012

I made the original amount of sauce and thought it was great. I added garlic powder and pepper, but otherwise I followed the recipe and it turned out perfect. I also used the whole wheat rotini. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Serenus December 09, 2010

Such a great recipe; a cheap and easy way to get your omega-3's! My husband prefers less cheese - just a bit on the top; and he likes the recipe as-is, rather than doubling the sauce. Thanks so much for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tobey_day March 05, 2009

I made this recipe with the exact measurements given - I did not double the sauce - and it is very good that way. I enjoy a very zesty meal, so, next time (and there absolutely WILL be many next times with this recipe), I'll add a tsp salt, a dash of cayenne pepper, and a dash of turmeric. Thank you so much for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YborChef February 03, 2009
Salmon Casserole