33 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I used Carr's table crackers instead of the soda crackers but didn't have enough of them for two cans worth of salmon so I added flour into the salmon mix. I also added a little worcestershire sauce, finely minced onions and celery. I dredged in breadcrumbs, let chill for an hour so that the cakes would hold well. I first baked at 375F for 15 minutes and then browned the sides in hot olive oil for a better presentation.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Swati Banerjee December 20, 2009

Absolutely delicious! I did them just as the recipe stated. I made a dilled mayonnaise to go with it, just a bit of mayo, coarse brown mustard, sugar, and dill. Thank you so much for this terrific recipe--it will be a favorite for many meals to come!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tropical Texan April 15, 2010

Thanks for sharing. I used fresh salmon instead of can. Pan fried it and added some salt and pepper to it. I also added garlic, green pepper and green onion. Instead of frying I bake them in an oven at 375 for 15 minutes. Tasty

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kayarich September 03, 2009

Made this with saltine crumbs, and dredged in flour. Doubled the recipe and made 10 patties. I used an ice cream scoop, then flattened, to get uniform patties. The guys loved the texture alongside a creamy rice. Served with tartar sauce, but would have been great with lemon if I'd had some. Next time I won't overmix, b/c I like it chunky.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CheapThrills August 20, 2008

Super Fast and Easy. I did not feel like grating an onion so i used onion powers, I did not have soda crackers so I subsituted it for italian bread crumbs. till came out yummy and my family gave it a thumbs up. Thanks bunsby for a great recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tinaxbina August 05, 2009

Just what I was looking for! I grew up eating these and wanted something similar, but with a kick. The dill the kick I needed. I used a dill mix that also contained garlic and a few other spices. I also found out what was missing from my old recipe -- the dipping in flour. I have finally figured out why mine were never as good as grandma's! My girls loved them (I told them they were patties and left out the salmon part!) Thanks for a wonderfully quick lunch!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Daphne2002 August 23, 2003

My stepmother used to make the most salmon cakes but I hated her too much to ask for the recipe. These came out very close, although I used breadcrumbs vs. crackers and I think it made them too dry. Will def try again with crackers in the future because they were just fine with a yogurt/mayo/dill sauce. The flavor was very good and so easy to make. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
barbara d. September 27, 2014

I did some changes I minced a green pepper to give it more flavor.If you don't have crackers on hand I used a mashed potato or toast a couple slices of bread to hold the salmons.Works very good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Florence D. November 13, 2013

This is a wonderful basic recipe that lets the flavor of the salmon shine. I used fresh parsley instead of dill and sage seasoned breadcrumbs instead of crackers. They came out perfect. Moist on the inside, and a nice crust on the outside. My family gobbled them up and asked for more.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
QuillQ December 01, 2012

Excellent recipe! I used canned pink salmon (well drained), one egg, pepper, garlic and onion powder, parsley, and cilantro. Instead of soda crackers (because we do low carb/no grains) we used almond meal to coat the exterior of each cake. The cakes were fried up in peanut oil and the came out moist with a crunchy texture. Topped with sriracha, these were tasty bites. Can't wait to have the last one on the side of my salad tomorrow.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cooking_neko83 February 01, 2012
Salmon Cakes