105 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was so tasty, and super easy to prepare. Adding the asparagus to the foil to bake right along with the salmon produced such tender asparagus spears that were cooked to perfection. I really liked this recipe. Thanks, PaulaG. Made for ZWT7, Mischief Makers.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NorthwestGal June 23, 2011

I used Old Bay seasoning on the salmon, and then some sea salt and black pepper on the asparagus. I also subbed a small pat of butter instead of the lemon in the packet, and just used lemon after it cooked. Fabulous!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrsmissyg June 29, 2009

I make this and variations on it often. Usually I make it with more herbs and spices so I was pleasantly surprised to find out how nice it was with just the lemon, salt and pepper. Turned out I was out of tinfoil, so I thought I'd note that this also works fine in a covered roasting pan/dutch oven. I criss-crossed the asparagus on the bottom and laid the fish on top to avoid it sticking to the pan.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladydae June 19, 2009

I thought I hated asparagus, but the trick of snapping the ends off worked! I never had asparagus before, but dh loves it, so I have tried to cook it before, but failed miserably. I didn't know how to prepare it! I will be buying more in the future. Oh, did not change ingredients, but cooked at 350 for 30 mins due to my finicky oven. Salmon was perfect!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
theinchworm March 27, 2009

I made it the night before and took it on a picnic the next day. Even though I was eating it cold it was delicious and the moistest fish I've ever had.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gundy Girl March 20, 2009

So easy! I've made these several times. My DH always brightens up a bit when I tell him this is for dinner. Try adding sliced onions and bell pepper to the packets with the asparagus. Tasty and pretty, too!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CASunshine January 04, 2008

I have made this several times so far and it comes out perfect each time. I use a season blend to season my salmon and asparagus...I think it is called Old Bay. Anyway, even my 2 year old devoured her plate and she normally refuses vegetables and fish. The asparagus we tender and delicious. Thanks for a keeper! PS. I now cook my chicken in foil...perfect and no mess!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Trixyinaz February 03, 2007

This is a very tasty, easy to make recipe. I added a slice of lemon to the top of the asparagus before closing the packet. That is the only change I made. I will be making this again it would be good made with other vegetables. Thank you Paula, for another yummy recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barb Gertz April 04, 2005

Despite all the rave reviews I was still skeptical. Oh me of little faith, I should have known better! This was so tasty and easy to make. I marinated the salmon in teriyaki sauce and added some brown sugar prior to baking. The result was fish that melted in the mouth, and the asparagus was perfectly cooked with some crispness to it. My husband isn't much of a fish eater but agreed I "knocked it out of the park."

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alexandermarika March 27, 2015

Like others, I added a pat of butter before closing up my foil packets. The salmon was flavorful and moist. The asparagus was simply asparagus, which isn't a bad thing. I'm so happy I tried this recipe, and I plan to make it regularly. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Raichka November 24, 2014
Salmon and Asparagus in Foil