Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sally's Christmas Shortbread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sally's Christmas Shortbread

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on April 09, 2007

      WOWZERS!!! This is an unbelievably FANTASTIC recipe! This is a mix of some of my favorite things...shortbread (butter), orange, spice and gingerbread. It's slightly chewy and the smell and flavor are out of this world! I used a high quality dark brown molasses sugar and pricked the dough with the fork before baking. This is a KEEPER for sure. Thank you sooo much for this recipe! Made for 1-2-3 hit wonders.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2010

      Delicious, simple, perfection. I made this as a birthday gift for a friend who loves gingersnaps, and she loved them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2009

      Just excellent! I did substitute allspice for the cloves but other than that I followed the recipe exactly. It was a big hit at our family Christmas gathering this year and DIL even asked for the recipe. It is so easy and so good - it's hard to stop nibbling!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2009

      I can't imagine why anyone would give this less than 5 stars! I had no oranges or orange zest so I used 1/8 tsp orange extract. They are lovely. I took my first batch out of the oven at 23 minutes but since I'm making another one right now (they are so good that one batch of 24 is never going to last a week until Christmas) I think I'll make them just a wee bit crisper and leave them in the full 25 minutes. I baked them in glass pie plates because that's how my grandmother made her shortbread. DH took one bite, his eyes opened really wide and he said "These are goooooood". He was right ( don't tell him I said that!) Thanks very much - these will be made again and again in our house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2009

    • on December 31, 2008

      Tastes like a ginger snap, but easier to bake, because you're not shaping into cookies. I love spice, especially at Christmastime, so I would try this again but with the cinnamon that another reviewer suggested. I also used salted butter rather than regular. I had a hard time pressing these evenly in the pan, but because these are such good "dippers", I don't mind the crunchy parts. I used an 8" round cast iron and an 8" square pan. I might try it all in a 9x13 sometime, but i do like the shape of the wedges, especially for serving with coffee; they beg to be dipped.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2008

      This is yummy! I switched up the spices a little for my family's tastes - 2 tsp of cinnamon, 1 tsp cloves, 1 tsp ginger and 1 tsp nutmeg. It may not make it to Christmas morning!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2008

      What a wonderful flavour these shortbread wedges have. They truly are a little bite of Christmas and they smell divine while baking. Thanks for posting a new Christmas classic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2008

      it sounds good! i will try it this saturday for my chrismas baking afternoon... thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2007

      wonderful shortbread. i love the subtle flavor... reminds me of Christmas. i have made 2 batches and will be making this recipe over and over. perfect flavorful shortbread. thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2007

      Love this shortbread. I cut the ginger and the cloves in half and it seemed just right for us. When I put in into the pans I split the recipe in half by measuring about 2 cups in each the mixture was like coarse crumbs and then I lightly pressed with the bottom of a glass Mine baked up in 22 minutes. I used a pizza wheel to cut the sections. Im putting this recipe in my holiday binder for safe keeping, thanks to you and your sister for this recipe Susie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2007

      A wonderful addition to Christmas baking. I usually make my Scottish Brown Sugar Shortbread but these are excellent with the flavor of the orange zest and spices. Will definitely make them again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2006

      It is no sml wonder that Nick's Mom raves about this recipe so much! You may tell Sally for me that she is now famous in Iceland ... or soon will be since her shortbread joined our Christmas Food Gifts to Siggi's family. Her/your shortbread is just wonderful! I do not have 8-in rd baking pans, so I used a 7x11 in baking dish & cut squares instead of wedges. The only real problem I had was cutting the gift portions sml enough so there would be more for us! Siggi will revere you yet again when he gets home from work tonite. Yum! TY for sharing this recipe w/us & thank Sally too pls. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2006

      We really enjoyed this shortbread. It smelled so good when it was baking, just like the holidays. I didn't have oranges for the zest, so I used orange extract. A very easy recipe, that is delicious! Thanks for posting. Nick's Mom

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2006

      Oh my gosh!!! These were soooo good! Very very easy! I cut in half (and wished I didn't cuz I wanted more!) Don't wait for the holidays...these were great in July!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sally's Christmas Shortbread

    Serving Size: 1 (45 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 213.6
     
    Calories from Fat 105
    49%
    Total Fat 11.7 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 7.3 g
    36%
    Cholesterol 30.5 mg
    10%
    Sodium 86.3 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.0 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 13.3 g
    53%
    Protein 1.8 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes