15 Reviews

WOWZERS!!! This is an unbelievably FANTASTIC recipe! This is a mix of some of my favorite things...shortbread (butter), orange, spice and gingerbread. It's slightly chewy and the smell and flavor are out of this world! I used a high quality dark brown molasses sugar and pricked the dough with the fork before baking. This is a KEEPER for sure. Thank you sooo much for this recipe! Made for 1-2-3 hit wonders.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Engrossed April 09, 2007

Delicious, simple, perfection. I made this as a birthday gift for a friend who loves gingersnaps, and she loved them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef MB March 11, 2010

Just excellent! I did substitute allspice for the cloves but other than that I followed the recipe exactly. It was a big hit at our family Christmas gathering this year and DIL even asked for the recipe. It is so easy and so good - it's hard to stop nibbling!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Trishinomaha December 29, 2009

I can't imagine why anyone would give this less than 5 stars! I had no oranges or orange zest so I used 1/8 tsp orange extract. They are lovely. I took my first batch out of the oven at 23 minutes but since I'm making another one right now (they are so good that one batch of 24 is never going to last a week until Christmas) I think I'll make them just a wee bit crisper and leave them in the full 25 minutes. I baked them in glass pie plates because that's how my grandmother made her shortbread. DH took one bite, his eyes opened really wide and he said "These are goooooood". He was right ( don't tell him I said that!) Thanks very much - these will be made again and again in our house.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marysdottir December 19, 2009

Tastes like a ginger snap, but easier to bake, because you're not shaping into cookies. I love spice, especially at Christmastime, so I would try this again but with the cinnamon that another reviewer suggested. I also used salted butter rather than regular. I had a hard time pressing these evenly in the pan, but because these are such good "dippers", I don't mind the crunchy parts. I used an 8" round cast iron and an 8" square pan. I might try it all in a 9x13 sometime, but i do like the shape of the wedges, especially for serving with coffee; they beg to be dipped.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
annlouise December 31, 2008

This is yummy! I switched up the spices a little for my family's tastes - 2 tsp of cinnamon, 1 tsp cloves, 1 tsp ginger and 1 tsp nutmeg. It may not make it to Christmas morning!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
muyfeliz December 24, 2008

What a wonderful flavour these shortbread wedges have. They truly are a little bite of Christmas and they smell divine while baking. Thanks for posting a new Christmas classic.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eldeevee December 18, 2008

it sounds good! i will try it this saturday for my chrismas baking afternoon... thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annie 007 December 17, 2008

wonderful shortbread. i love the subtle flavor... reminds me of Christmas. i have made 2 batches and will be making this recipe over and over. perfect flavorful shortbread. thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
somemome December 24, 2007
Sally's Christmas Shortbread