Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Salisbury Steak With Mushroom and Onion Gravy Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Salisbury Steak With Mushroom and Onion Gravy

    Average Rating:

    80 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 80

    Sort by:

    • on April 08, 2002

      Absolutely delicious! Followed recipe exactly, but substituted a can of sliced mushrooms I had on hand. Hubby scarfed it down, saying it was the most delicious salisbury steak he had ever eaten. Will definitely be making this dish again! I made the patty mixture 3 hours ahead of time, made into the patties and let sit in fridge to let the flavors blend. This dish is excellent for the meat and potatoes kind of guy. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2002

      Virginia, this is delicious! I made it for 4 and then put the 2 extra servings in the frige for another time. So easy to make! I love the hint of the mustard. The gravy was very good. We had this with mashed potatoes and whole kernel corn. Big slices of french bread. Yummy!! And I have it in the frige to look forward to again! Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2002

      The tecture of the meat was great as was the gravy. Next time I will make more gravy. I tested this on my mother as I wanted to make it for the office on my day to provide lunch. Very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2002

      My family loves this simple yet satisfying meal. This is the first time in my "cooking career" I make this dish and it turn out suprisingly great. I did not have any cracker, so I used Kellogg's corn flake instead and also reduce the flour to 2 tablespoons. Served with JoAnn's Supreme Garlic Mashed Potatoes, such a perfect match.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2003

      This was absolutely fabulous! I have a meat and potatoes guy - and daughter, and it was a big hit! Didn't substitute,or wimp out on the horseradish - I don't think they'd taste the same without it. I followed a few of the prior reviews,and made the patties ahead and put them in the fridge for a few hours, and also added a little Kitchen Bouquet to the gravy for color. Doubled the gravy - yum! -happy I did! I made mashed potatoes to go along. One step I did change,and only for my daughter, was to chop the fresh mushrooms and the onions,so they would blend in into the gravy, and she wouldn't be picking them out.It worked for me.Thank you - really delicious, and I'm sure they will be in my menu again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2002

      This recipe is excellent. I highly recommend it! For those who do not like horseradish, leaving it out and using a few extra crackers works well. A fine meal!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2002

      Outstanding!!! Great recipe. I didn't have any cream on hand for the gravy, so I substituted a can of mushroom gravy, and added the saute'd onions and mushrooms to this. Everybody loved it. The horseradish really gives it that extra something that makes it delicious. This is the only salisbury steak recipe I'm going to use from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2002

      Copied this recipe this morning and made it this evening. I got a hold of a recipe from the Texas Beef Counsel about two years ago almost exactly like this one except it used beef stock instead of chicken. In my personal opinion, your recipe for Salisbury steak with Mushroom Gravy was superb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2002

      This really was a tasty recipe. My husband is definately a meat and potatoes kind-a-guy, and he went back for seconds. However, I substituted 1/2 cup of "cream of mushroom soup" for the cream. Served with mashed potatoes and a tossed salad, it was very simple and fast to make. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2002

      My husband & I enjoyed this dish. I'd make it again with maybe half of the hosreradish, as it was a little too strong for me. I used milk instead of cream & the gravy was great. I admit I used a couple of drops of Kitchen Bouquet for colour. We had this with mashed potatoes. Real comfort food!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2002

      Yum, yum and YUM! This was great. I followed the recipe exactly and the steaks and gravy were delicious. The only thing I didn't do was to heed your advice re: making more gravy. Will double it next time. This one's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2002

      The patties were awesome, First time Ive made patties using cracker crumbs and I think the added horseradish gave it the great flavour. the mushroom gravy was out of this world! My husband also loved this dish. Thanks for posting. =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2002

      This was my first time to make salisbury steak for dinner. It was absolutely wonderful. This recipe had so much flavor and don't get me started on the gravy. My husband looked at me with love in his eyes after he took his first bite. This recipe is definitely a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2002

      I thought it tasted okay but my kids didn't care for it. A bit too much work for the end result.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2002

      We had this for supper last night. Big hit with the whole family. I made mashed potatoes with it this time, next time I'll make noodles and then rice just for a change. Sooooooo delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2002

    • on August 27, 2010

      After perusing what seemed like hundreds of recipes for salisbury steak this is what I settled on... am I glad I did! This was a fantastic recipe and well received by the whole family. Using what I had in the pantry and two pounds of ground beef, I mixed the meat w/ the egg and bread crumbs (doubled) and 1 envelope onion soup mix until well blended. The gravy was fantastic! We subbed beef broth as that was available and used whole milk with fantastic results. If you want the gravy to have the classic deep brown color, use some browning sauce, or it'll have that classic milk gravy look. Thank you so much for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2014

      oh my God is this delicious, I do not want to make any thing with a canned soup and this one was just perfect, gravy from scratch, I cheated and didn't add the horse radish but after reading the reviews I will certainly try it the next time,

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2014

      What we really enjoyed was the addition of horseradish in the meat. It made the dish stand out compared to other recipes. I also added some finely diced, fresh mushroom stems to the patties to keep them extra moist. Plus, I don't cook with cans of soup so I appreciated using fresh mushrooms and onions and even had some homemade chicken stock. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2014

      Excellent! Loved the sauce for the steaks. Made half a recipe and was perfect for the two of us with mashed potatoes and corn.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Salisbury Steak With Mushroom and Onion Gravy

    Serving Size: 1 (682 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1132.2
     
    Calories from Fat 766
    67%
    Total Fat 85.1 g
    131%
    Saturated Fat 44.2 g
    221%
    Cholesterol 389.8 mg
    129%
    Sodium 1951.2 mg
    81%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.4 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 3.9 g
    15%
    Sugars 7.2 g
    29%
    Protein 56.1 g
    112%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes