82 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Absolutely delicious! Followed recipe exactly, but substituted a can of sliced mushrooms I had on hand. Hubby scarfed it down, saying it was the most delicious salisbury steak he had ever eaten. Will definitely be making this dish again! I made the patty mixture 3 hours ahead of time, made into the patties and let sit in fridge to let the flavors blend. This dish is excellent for the meat and potatoes kind of guy. :)

57 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lilladyc April 08, 2002

Virginia, this is delicious! I made it for 4 and then put the 2 extra servings in the frige for another time. So easy to make! I love the hint of the mustard. The gravy was very good. We had this with mashed potatoes and whole kernel corn. Big slices of french bread. Yummy!! And I have it in the frige to look forward to again! Thanks for a great recipe!

35 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MizzNezz June 02, 2002

The tecture of the meat was great as was the gravy. Next time I will make more gravy. I tested this on my mother as I wanted to make it for the office on my day to provide lunch. Very good!

30 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
riffraff May 09, 2002

My family loves this simple yet satisfying meal. This is the first time in my "cooking career" I make this dish and it turn out suprisingly great. I did not have any cracker, so I used Kellogg's corn flake instead and also reduce the flour to 2 tablespoons. Served with JoAnn's Supreme Garlic Mashed Potatoes, such a perfect match.

25 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peter Pan April 20, 2002

This was absolutely fabulous! I have a meat and potatoes guy - and daughter, and it was a big hit! Didn't substitute,or wimp out on the horseradish - I don't think they'd taste the same without it. I followed a few of the prior reviews,and made the patties ahead and put them in the fridge for a few hours, and also added a little Kitchen Bouquet to the gravy for color. Doubled the gravy - yum! -happy I did! I made mashed potatoes to go along. One step I did change,and only for my daughter, was to chop the fresh mushrooms and the onions,so they would blend in into the gravy, and she wouldn't be picking them out.It worked for me.Thank you - really delicious, and I'm sure they will be in my menu again!

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HEP MEP January 06, 2003

This recipe is excellent. I highly recommend it! For those who do not like horseradish, leaving it out and using a few extra crackers works well. A fine meal!!!!!!!

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
candi_girl_ssstar May 04, 2002

Outstanding!!! Great recipe. I didn't have any cream on hand for the gravy, so I substituted a can of mushroom gravy, and added the saute'd onions and mushrooms to this. Everybody loved it. The horseradish really gives it that extra something that makes it delicious. This is the only salisbury steak recipe I'm going to use from now on.

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tsmith70 May 02, 2002

Copied this recipe this morning and made it this evening. I got a hold of a recipe from the Texas Beef Counsel about two years ago almost exactly like this one except it used beef stock instead of chicken. In my personal opinion, your recipe for Salisbury steak with Mushroom Gravy was superb!

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dan Kroeger April 24, 2002

This really was a tasty recipe. My husband is definately a meat and potatoes kind-a-guy, and he went back for seconds. However, I substituted 1/2 cup of "cream of mushroom soup" for the cream. Served with mashed potatoes and a tossed salad, it was very simple and fast to make. Thank you.

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
68Ranchero April 17, 2002

My husband & I enjoyed this dish. I'd make it again with maybe half of the hosreradish, as it was a little too strong for me. I used milk instead of cream & the gravy was great. I admit I used a couple of drops of Kitchen Bouquet for colour. We had this with mashed potatoes. Real comfort food!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SerenaSnape October 03, 2002
Salisbury Steak With Mushroom and Onion Gravy