Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Salisbury Steak My Way Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Salisbury Steak My Way

    Average Rating:

    37 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 37

    Sort by:

    • on August 01, 2006

      I followed the recipe almost exactly, the variation being that I didn't fry the burgers until they were done, just until the outide was brown. I set them aside, made the gravy and added the meat back in before reducing, putting a lid on to slow the process, and I cooked it on medium until the gravy was thicker and the meat done. Then I removed the meat and further thickend and seasoned the gravy, and it turned out moist, tasty and wonderful with mashed potatoes! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2014

      This is awesome! Since there is just two of us in the house and I was out of dry bread crumbs, I used 1 lb ground beef, 1 egg, 1 hamburger bun : -) that I crumbled into crumbs. For the soup, I had one package of onion-mushroom soup mix and I scaled down the remaining seasonings. I used 1/2-3/4 of the soup mix in the hamburger along with the other ingredients, shaped the mixture into patties and cooked as directed. <br/><br/>For the gravy, the pan didn't have many drippings so I added about 1 T of oil and then 2T of flour, cooking till slightly browned. Then I added 2 c water, 1 beef bullion cube and the remainder of the soup mix. Cook over low heat till thickened. I added the patties back in the last few minutes and served with mashed potatoes. Delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2014

      This is the best. True comfort food. I've been using your recipe for years. It's a family favorite a few times a year.making it tonight, ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2013

      Turned out great. Very easy. Husband loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2010

      I made this for my husband's and my anniversary. He didn't say what he wanted, so I felt like Salisbury steak. YUM! I only used 1 pound of meat (ground turkey), but forgot to adjust the other ingredients accordingly. I completely forgot the eggs (my son was being a little pill at the time), only halved the onion soup mix, the breadcrumbs and everything else. I used chicken stock with some added Worcestershire Sauce since I didn't have any beef stock. And, I added 8 oz of sliced crimini mushrooms. Following FoodJunkie's review, I also made the gravy and added the browned patties back to the pan to finish cooking. Fantastic with mashed potatoes! This is now my "go to" Salisbury steak recipe. Thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2010

      We REALLY liked this!!! I have to admit though that I messed up the gravy and had to use a jar kind...Heinz Savory Beef I think it was. The patties themselves are great just as burgers too! Will make this again (hopefully without messing up the gravy next time lol). Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2009

      Absolutely DELICIOUS! This was a huge hit with everyone in my family and we have now added it to our OAMC recipes. I make the patties in advance and just thaw, fry and make the gravy. They are great with mashed potatoes or mac and cheese! I did the recipe as stated except I add 1/2 a packet of onion soup mix to the gravy too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2009

      A very good recipe that I will make again, but I found it a bit salty for our tastes. I would leave off the tsp of salt, as the amount in the soup mix should be sufficient. I also browned over high heat, removed from pan, made the gravy, then added steaks back to the pan and simmered for 30 minutes to finish cooking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2009

      Couldn't use soup mix due to salt restriction so I used low sodium beef broth, onion & Mrs. Dash I wish I had taken a picture it was that pretty. Husband RAVED and was thrilled getting leftover for lunch tomorrow. There is just the two of us so I used 1/2 lb burger and came out with three very nice sized patties. I would have made all six but didn't think the gravy would freeze well. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2009

      Really good recipe for salisbury steak. My whole family really enjoyed this. The onion soup mix really added a lot. Thanks for posting this wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2009

      Yum Yum Yum !! I was really pleased with this recipe. I halved the recipe ( even the eggs HAHA) since it was just me, hubby and a 2 1/2 year old. Instead of beef broth I used " better than bullion " with excellent results. My sitter tried my sons leftovers and met me at the door asking for the recipe !! I ate the leftover piece 2 days later and it was great too ! Thanks for an excellent addition to the ground beef ideas..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2009

      My husband prefers not to eat hamburgers, but cooked this way makes a very appetizing and tasty meal. Certainly lends itself to changes and usually like to add some sauteed mushroom plus several fresh cloves of garlic (we love it). A bit of red wine doesn't hurt and makes it adds to the gravy. Thanks for a great reliable recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2009

      I halved the recipe, everything except for the meat. For that, I used 2 lbs of ground beef. It was delicious! Thanks for sharing. I made mashed potatoes for me and egg noodles for hubby and 3 year old. They ate it all up too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2009

      I really liked this and had it not been for the slight saltiness and overabundance of onion from the soup it would have received 5 stars. Everyone I cooked it for raved however and asked me to make it again and again, and I know my palate is a little sensitive to onion and salt, so don't let that scare you - its really quite delicious! UPDATED: I now use only 1 packet of onion soup mix and make this all the time. I am raising my review to 5 stars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2009

      My husbands new favorite meal - he absolutely loved this recipe. Very easy and very tasty! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2009

      Great recipe! Everyone loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2009

      Very Good! This is probably the best Salisbury steak I've had. I made exactly as the recipe stated. Thanks Karen for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2008

      I am not a fan of Salisbury Steak, at least not until now. This recipe is delicious and 3 out of 4 of us loved it (there's one in every crowd). I did find the garlic too strong for our tastes, but will adjust that next time. I followed the advice of FoodJunkie and it turned out marvelous. I was surprised that with 21 reviews there was still no photo, so have attached two for you. Thx Karen, for a great recipe that I will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2008

      I was looking for the perfect recipe and my god I found it..Was easy to prepare did everything to the letter, the only thing I did different was after I browned the meat and did the gravy I put it all in my slow cooker ..came out great ..gravy was delicious got great raves over this dinner..even the two picky eaters are eating more at home every since I found recipezaar love this place and thanks for this recipe..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2008

      I've been looking for a good salisbury steak recipe, and this one is a keeper. I froze a bunch of them uncooked. I "flash froze" them and then bagged them up so that I can take out as many as I want at dinner time. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Salisbury Steak My Way

    Serving Size: 1 (277 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 435.5
     
    Calories from Fat 182
    42%
    Total Fat 20.3 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 7.7 g
    38%
    Cholesterol 190.2 mg
    63%
    Sodium 1193.1 mg
    49%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.7 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 3.4 g
    13%
    Protein 39.8 g
    79%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites