189 Reviews

Very good! My husband hates mushrooms and didn't even realize the soup ingredient. I placed each pattie on a 1/2 slice of bread, to soak up any grease while cooking. I then removed the bread before adding the rest of the soup/water and cooked for the 10 minutes more.

47 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheDancingCook June 20, 2002

As my mom used to say--Heavens to Betsy!! This is the best Salisbury Steak I have ever made or tasted. I chose to use garlic powder instead of garlic salt. The steaks just melted in our mouths. The sauce was rich and savory. This is a top notch dish in my book. Thanks Nurse Di

22 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FruitLoop August 12, 2002

Absolutly Wonderful! I made this for my wife and I and we both loved it. The first night we had it with mashed potatoes and the leftovers were server with butter eggs noodles. YUMMY YUM YUM!!!

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kenn Osborne October 08, 2002

This is the best salisbury steak I have ever had. I used seasoned bread crumbs (Contadina Roasted Garlic & Savory Spices)and opted for garlic salt. My 13 year old son inhaled (literally) three of these. Great comfort food and I served it with some corn and slaw.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Missyb33 October 20, 2002

These were very good! I did followed the other reviews and add another can of soup and enough water to make more gravy. I also placed a 1/2 slice of bread under each patty to soak up the grease.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sheri-BDB May 30, 2003

Wow!! This salisbury steak meets and even might beat my mom's recipe! OMG, my 1 year old and I thank you! I took the advice of Tara and placed bread underneath my 4 patties and it did absorb the grease...wow...great meal..Thanks again!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ang11002 April 10, 2003

This dish was indeed scrumptious! I added some sauteed mushrooms to the sauce, an extra can of soup and used three quarters of a can of water. Out of this world! I served it with noodles and fresh steamed carrots.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pegger1 December 19, 2003

It always amazes me the flavor a can of soup packs. These steaks were wonderful. Savory, moist, and delicious. Thanks for posting---A keeper!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Richard-NYC August 30, 2002

My family really enjoyed this recipe! They will not eat mushrooms so I substituted a 10 oz can of beef gravy and did not add the water. Very good and easy :) Thanks!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wwltmom December 29, 2010

I've been using this recipe to make salisbury steak for a quite some time, but it had been awhile so I went to the computer to print another copy of the recipe. I couldn't believe I'd never reviewed this! It is simply the best and easiest way to make salisbury steak! I make this as posted without variation and have always had good luck. It doesn't make a huge amount of gravy but certainly enough for the meat, unless you have mashers or something you want extra gravy on I've never found the need to make more. I've also always used just chopped onions, but I could see sauteeing them a little first if they're a little strong. Wonderful recipe! Thank You!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nougat September 24, 2010
Salisbury Steak