9 Reviews

This is five... Made with cold pressed extra virgin olive oil, organic apple cider vinegar and sea salt, plus the rest of the ingredients. Why not make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat August 06, 2012

I love, love, love this salad. So very refreshing with a heavier meal. Will be having it for St. Paddy's day along side and Irish stew!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pate February 28, 2010

Great! I didn't have fresh dill so I soaked some in a little water and white vinegar, enough to make the dill moist. I tossed the romaine shreds in olive oil and then added the soaked dill and water, vinegar.Sliced the green onions paper thin and used most of the green stems. Tossed. Covered and chilled about 1 hour. Posted this way in case some chef do not have access to fresh dill. The taste was very refreshing! Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Montana Heart Song March 07, 2008

Great.. Love the light aspect of the entire salad.. I added fresh sliced mushrooms and croutons. I think the key is a quality vinegar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
'nora December 08, 2007

Great new take on the can-be-boring-dinner-salad! My garden has a boom crop of dill but I had never thought of putting it in a salad. I put the oil & vinegar (white wine) on the table & let them drizzle as needed. Thanks for posting this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SusieQusie January 12, 2007

I was so surprised how bright and flavorful this salad was with such a small list of ingredients. For me it gets 5-stars because the impact and taste (excellent) far exceed the effort involved in making the salad. Having read the other reviewer comments I was somewhat torn as to the best type of vinegar and eventually did half white vinegar and half white balsamic vinegar. I also used my olive oil mister which helped keep the calories very lowwhile adding a beautiful sheen to the lettuce.Thanks JQ.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justcallmetoni August 06, 2006

Loved this salad. So easy! I used white wine vinegar and squeezed a little lemon juice over it just before serving. It was delicious! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
susie cooks July 14, 2006

Lovely salad and so good! I used 3 tablespoons of dill, love dill, and 4 green onions. We didnt go for the tarter taste with the vinegar this time but will give it a try later. Thank you jellyqueen!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 June 29, 2006

Could you have a more elegant, simple and delicious salad recipe? I think not. Do use fresh dill, it makes all the difference in the world. I used red wine vinegar- wasn't sure which type to use. Next time it might be white balsamic vinegar cuz, truth be known, I can be a rebel at times. That's alotta salata!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl September 19, 2005
Salata Marouli (Romaine Lettuce Salad)