14 Reviews

I am not going to assign a rating, because so much of my opinion of this could have been my fault. The flavors seemed off and I didn't really like it, but my ingredients were subpar. I used red wine vinegar instead of champagne vinegar, French's dijon mustard (which I hate!) instead of the Grey Poupon that I usually have, some really old honey (that has tasted strange in other recipes), and pepper that was probably stale. Even my oil might have been rancid/stale! So you can probably see the problem. LOL. One day I will learn. I will be setting this recipe aside until I am able to fix my ingredient problems and I will try it again. My son did say he thought it was too salty, but I am sure I will use the original amount of salt when I try this again. I halved the recipe and drowned two salads with it (the halved recipe would have been perfect for 3 salads).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evewitch January 19, 2013

I couldn't find champagne vinegar anywhere so substituted a high quality white wine vinegar. I doubled the recipe in expectation of saving leftovers for salads all week but I think the Dijon mustard I just bought was very very strong and overpowered the vinaigrette. It was still nice and I love Dijon but with this brand I will have to cut back or double everything else except the mustard. Thanks Andi for a lovely recipe! Made and enjoyed for team Mischief Makers - ZWT #7 :D

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Just_Ducky!! June 10, 2011

This is a delicious vinaigrette. I added to a garden salad with chicken and it was tasty. I think this would make a great base vinaigrette as well, if you have shallots or herbs to use up, try it in this. Made for ZWT7. Thanks Andi for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KimmieCat1 June 07, 2011

This was VERY tasty! We used it on our "everyday salad," which includes leaf lettuce, pecans, feta, red onion, cucumber, grape tomatoes, strawberries. This time we also added some raspberries and arugula. The bite from the garlic and the mustard paired especially well with the sweet notes of the salad. Delicious! Made for ZWT 7.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElleFirebrand June 01, 2011

Can't go wrong with this! I generally make my dressing this way, except without the honey. That little bit of sweetness was a nice change, and I thought all of the amounts were bang-on. Thanks Andi! Made during ZWT7....and bound to be made again and again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
magpie diner May 29, 2011

Andi never dissapoints me! Simple, easy and delicious! Love the mustard and honey, and the fresh taste. Made for ZWT7.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Jean May 26, 2011

Reviewed for ZWT7 visit to Italy. Such an easy dressing and salad to make. Very tasty. Couldn't be simpler. I liked the honey in the dressing- it really gave the vinaigrette a lift . Photo also being posted

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Jubes** May 26, 2011

So easy DH made it! Made ahead for salads during the week, this lovely vinagrette could only have been better if DH had asked where the kosher salt was instead of using regular! ;) White wine vinegar was used, as that's as fine as the vinegar gets around here. Thanks for posting, Andi! Made for Veggie Swap 30 - January 2011.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katzen January 16, 2011

Easy! Drizzled on a very basic salad of mixed greens, radish, carrots, cukes and raisins. Why do people buy vinaigrette dressing? Sherry wine vinegar replaced champagne because I was completely out of the former. Reviewed for Veg Tag January.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl January 06, 2011

I saw this yesterday on KK March Green tag game. We were having company for dinner and I decided to give this a try. Raves were heard all around the table! This was so easy to whip up. We will be using this one on a regular basis. I am moving to my "Tried & True" folder. Thanks so much for posting Andi.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TXOLDHAM March 16, 2010
Salad Vinaigrette