17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I really liked this, however my dh said he didn't care too much for it, but his reasons were ridiculous, so I -I -I- give it 5 stars!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Mommie March 22, 2006

This was awesome and really loved by all, I made it a little milder then posted( whimpy family) then added hot at the table. there were left overs but not for long :-) I will be making this again in the vernacular of my family its a keeper !!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alleycatb March 19, 2006

Chicken is inexpensive, and cooks up obediently in whichever style and origin the chef chooses. I do not use canned broth for any reason, but fortunately keep a goodly supply in my freezer. This recipe appealed to me because of its casual, nice, easy uncomplicated chicken with rice ingredients, and enjoyed by all. Thank you Chef...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TOOLBELT DIVA March 19, 2006

We had high expectations for this dish but unfortunately, it didn't live up to them. We found that the chicken, without any seasoning, lacked any flavor. The tomatoes took much longer than 10 minutes to thicken the juice. The rice/tomato/pepper combo tasted just like that, with an overpowering tomato taste but seemed to be lacking some seasoning to bring it all together. I did manage to cook everything so that it all parts finished at the same time. A good start to a recipe but needs some additional flavoring to bring it all together.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ducky March 17, 2006

I am re-submitting my review for this recipe as I have made it again and I believe it deserves a 5 star rating. This is a creamy, spicy yet cool dish that I really enjoyed and will make again for sure. We did the chicken on the grill and used very spicy peppers this time, as we wanted to try it with a little more kick. Absolutely, hands down a winner! Congratulations on your creation!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Leslie~ March 17, 2006

This seemed more of a Tex Mex dish then a Caribbean one. Yet a good dish. I would have like to have the chicken seasoned which I would have done if this was not a contest recipe. Also sauting some garlic and onions before adding the tomatoes would have been a nice addition. The tomatoes I did simmer for 30 minutes to thickness I desired. The sour cream made this very rich as I would have liked it topped with a dallop instead. Just because it`s healthier. But not a bad dish at all!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ March 16, 2006

This was a good recipe. The only complaint that I had was that I had so much rice mixture leftove--this could have easily served eight people! If I made this again I would have the rice mixture, or cook more chciken. It was a great use of the contest recipes and it was well received by the inlaws who were over for dinner. Thanks for posting and congrats on making it to the finals!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
* Pamela * March 15, 2006

I found this recipe lacking in overall flavour and, considering the endless pantry of spices and herbs available, can only wonder why the chicken was not spiced in any way - especially a way to suit the Caribbean theme? Pleasant enough, but the kind of recipe I would 'tweak' until it bore little resemblance to the original. I wish I could give a higher rating.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens March 13, 2006

Someone else in our group made this, and it tasted good. The chicken was a little dry, but the rice was quite moist. We thought it didn't look as appetizing as it tasted.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef fr HE March 11, 2006
Sail Away Chicken