Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sail Away Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sail Away Chicken

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on April 01, 2006

    • on March 22, 2006

      I really liked this, however my dh said he didn't care too much for it, but his reasons were ridiculous, so I -I -I- give it 5 stars!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2006

      This was awesome and really loved by all, I made it a little milder then posted( whimpy family) then added hot at the table. there were left overs but not for long :-) I will be making this again in the vernacular of my family its a keeper !!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2006

      Chicken is inexpensive, and cooks up obediently in whichever style and origin the chef chooses. I do not use canned broth for any reason, but fortunately keep a goodly supply in my freezer. This recipe appealed to me because of its casual, nice, easy uncomplicated chicken with rice ingredients, and enjoyed by all. Thank you Chef...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2006

      We had high expectations for this dish but unfortunately, it didn't live up to them. We found that the chicken, without any seasoning, lacked any flavor. The tomatoes took much longer than 10 minutes to thicken the juice. The rice/tomato/pepper combo tasted just like that, with an overpowering tomato taste but seemed to be lacking some seasoning to bring it all together. I did manage to cook everything so that it all parts finished at the same time. A good start to a recipe but needs some additional flavoring to bring it all together.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2006

      I am re-submitting my review for this recipe as I have made it again and I believe it deserves a 5 star rating. This is a creamy, spicy yet cool dish that I really enjoyed and will make again for sure. We did the chicken on the grill and used very spicy peppers this time, as we wanted to try it with a little more kick. Absolutely, hands down a winner! Congratulations on your creation!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2006

      This seemed more of a Tex Mex dish then a Caribbean one. Yet a good dish. I would have like to have the chicken seasoned which I would have done if this was not a contest recipe. Also sauting some garlic and onions before adding the tomatoes would have been a nice addition. The tomatoes I did simmer for 30 minutes to thickness I desired. The sour cream made this very rich as I would have liked it topped with a dallop instead. Just because it`s healthier. But not a bad dish at all!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2006

      This was a good recipe. The only complaint that I had was that I had so much rice mixture leftove--this could have easily served eight people! If I made this again I would have the rice mixture, or cook more chciken. It was a great use of the contest recipes and it was well received by the inlaws who were over for dinner. Thanks for posting and congrats on making it to the finals!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2006

      I found this recipe lacking in overall flavour and, considering the endless pantry of spices and herbs available, can only wonder why the chicken was not spiced in any way - especially a way to suit the Caribbean theme? Pleasant enough, but the kind of recipe I would 'tweak' until it bore little resemblance to the original. I wish I could give a higher rating.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2006

      Someone else in our group made this, and it tasted good. The chicken was a little dry, but the rice was quite moist. We thought it didn't look as appetizing as it tasted.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2006

      This is a very pleasant, easy to put together dish. I used homemade chicken stock and light sour cream. The sauce is smooth and slightly spicy and the chicken remains moist and tender. But it lacks a signature--it needs a bit of interest --perhaps fresh herbs added at the end of cooking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2006

      A very easy and quick meal to put together, great taste too. The sour cream added a creamy smoothness to the tomato and chili pepper's. Nice combinations, served with brown rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2006

      This was tasty but something was missing. I will make it again and play with it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2006

      This dish was very good. You have to like the taste of tomatoes (with a bit of a kick,) because that is a strong flavor in this dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2006

      Very Good

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2006

      Fabulous flavour and an easy to make recipe. I had all these ingredients on hand and this was nice and quick to cook up. I especially loved the sauce and will definitely be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2006

      Very good! I really like the rice. I baked my chicken with some Italian dressing. Thank-you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sail Away Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (414 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 393.6
     
    Calories from Fat 113
    28%
    Total Fat 12.5 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 7.0 g
    35%
    Cholesterol 91.0 mg
    30%
    Sodium 631.3 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.6 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 5.6 g
    22%
    Protein 33.3 g
    66%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites