12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe is pretty good. However, I wonder if the author knows about sahlab/sahlap powder you can purchase online or from specialty stores? Real sahlab is ground starch from the root of the orchid plant and has a very distinct flavor, unlike corn starch. (Slightly floral aroma). Also, my personal preference is to make it into a hot, foamy drink... probably because it reminds me of the kind I had in a coffee shop in Istanbul mmmmmm For a drink, try 1 1/2 Tb of the sahlab powder or corn starch per 1 cup of milk. Beat with a whisk in a pot until thick and creamy. Add the same flavorings and garnishes. (I also like to add extra vanilla and a bit of almond extract).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NicoleFriedman September 26, 2010

I think the other reviewer must have either got the measures wrong or else not heated it enough, as mine turned out perfectly thick and delicious! In fact if anything it was a little too thick as--in view of the other reviewers comments--I erred on the side of caution and added extra cornflour, but I always think its better to end up with something like this too thick than too thin as you can always thin it out with a little extra milk. I also added raisins, but other than that I followed the instructions above, sprinkling it with coconut and cinnamon to finish. My kids loved it too! I'd describe it as halfway in between custard and rice pudding minus the rice (it is actually very similar to a pudding I have made before with rice flour). A good, simple, comforting pudding.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Dipsy April 05, 2005

Really quick & comforting for a winter dessert or breakfast! I have had the boxed kind before and this is 1000 times better. I used plain rice milk to be dairy free, tapioca flour which works the same as cornstarch to be corn free, no alcohal vanilla, white sugar and I topped it with ground pistachios and cinnamon. The cinnamon on top was real good. I didn't try shredded coconut because I didn't have any. I would make this again for a quick breakfast, especially during Ramadan. Made for Healthy Choices ABC.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat February 18, 2010

This recipe turned out great...It is exactly like the pudding that I purchase often in Amman, Jordan. We love to eat this hot in the winter......Its a great way to enjoy a dessert that is not to sweet!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kelmdanat February 07, 2010

We really enjoyed this. I served it warm with fruit. It was a comforting treat on a cold autumn day.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diana A. November 16, 2009

I followed the directions and the pudding got thick and creamy, but I found the texture and taste to be quite strange. I varied it some, I flavored it with cardamom as it is my favorite spice and put some almonds in it, which I liked. I would have liked to try it with the coconut over top of it, maybe I wo uld have liked it better. I ate some cold for breakfast this morning, but couldn't get past the consistency. Jury is still out on this one for me...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PeaStu September 17, 2008

top stuff!!! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie #7 April 29, 2008

Have never made sahlab before and haven't had it for awhile and I am SO GLAD I came across this recipe since DH's been asking me for ages now to look for a recipe to make it! This tastes exactly like the ones we used to have at the coffee shops when we were living in the M.E.! We like to have it hot and I sprinkled all the toppings mentioned, but I lightly toasted the coconut before sprinking. DD loved it too! Thank you, Chef Fifi, for sharing this wonderful recipe. Definitely will be making it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aaliyah's&Aaron'sMum April 24, 2008

Yeah!! Im so glad I found this! My husband has been asking me to make this all winter..hehe..thank you so much, I love this with chopped dried apricots and raisins on top also! I am newly married and I have alwaysbeen intimidated by Middle Eastern cooking because my mom is the best cook ever and I always thought it was too hard! Im so happy I found you on here:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jayde700 January 29, 2008

Another recipe with a review long overdue. Love this pudding - so like one I enjoyed growing up. Have made this many times to the delight of my family. We usually served it with a dab of jam. Great with coconut and must try those pistachios. Thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gerry December 18, 2007
Sahlab (Middle Eastern Pudding)