Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sahlab (Middle Eastern Pudding) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sahlab (Middle Eastern Pudding)

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on September 26, 2010

      This recipe is pretty good. However, I wonder if the author knows about sahlab/sahlap powder you can purchase online or from specialty stores? Real sahlab is ground starch from the root of the orchid plant and has a very distinct flavor, unlike corn starch. (Slightly floral aroma). Also, my personal preference is to make it into a hot, foamy drink... probably because it reminds me of the kind I had in a coffee shop in Istanbul mmmmmm For a drink, try 1 1/2 Tb of the sahlab powder or corn starch per 1 cup of milk. Beat with a whisk in a pot until thick and creamy. Add the same flavorings and garnishes. (I also like to add extra vanilla and a bit of almond extract).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2005

      I think the other reviewer must have either got the measures wrong or else not heated it enough, as mine turned out perfectly thick and delicious! In fact if anything it was a little too thick as--in view of the other reviewers comments--I erred on the side of caution and added extra cornflour, but I always think its better to end up with something like this too thick than too thin as you can always thin it out with a little extra milk. I also added raisins, but other than that I followed the instructions above, sprinkling it with coconut and cinnamon to finish. My kids loved it too! I'd describe it as halfway in between custard and rice pudding minus the rice (it is actually very similar to a pudding I have made before with rice flour). A good, simple, comforting pudding.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2010

      Really quick & comforting for a winter dessert or breakfast! I have had the boxed kind before and this is 1000 times better. I used plain rice milk to be dairy free, tapioca flour which works the same as cornstarch to be corn free, no alcohal vanilla, white sugar and I topped it with ground pistachios and cinnamon. The cinnamon on top was real good. I didn't try shredded coconut because I didn't have any. I would make this again for a quick breakfast, especially during Ramadan. Made for Healthy Choices ABC.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2010

      This recipe turned out great...It is exactly like the pudding that I purchase often in Amman, Jordan. We love to eat this hot in the winter......Its a great way to enjoy a dessert that is not to sweet!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2009

      We really enjoyed this. I served it warm with fruit. It was a comforting treat on a cold autumn day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2008

      I followed the directions and the pudding got thick and creamy, but I found the texture and taste to be quite strange. I varied it some, I flavored it with cardamom as it is my favorite spice and put some almonds in it, which I liked. I would have liked to try it with the coconut over top of it, maybe I wo uld have liked it better. I ate some cold for breakfast this morning, but couldn't get past the consistency. Jury is still out on this one for me...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2008

      top stuff!!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2008

      Have never made sahlab before and haven't had it for awhile and I am SO GLAD I came across this recipe since DH's been asking me for ages now to look for a recipe to make it! This tastes exactly like the ones we used to have at the coffee shops when we were living in the M.E.! We like to have it hot and I sprinkled all the toppings mentioned, but I lightly toasted the coconut before sprinking. DD loved it too! Thank you, Chef Fifi, for sharing this wonderful recipe. Definitely will be making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2008

      Yeah!! Im so glad I found this! My husband has been asking me to make this all winter..hehe..thank you so much, I love this with chopped dried apricots and raisins on top also! I am newly married and I have alwaysbeen intimidated by Middle Eastern cooking because my mom is the best cook ever and I always thought it was too hard! Im so happy I found you on here:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2007

      Another recipe with a review long overdue. Love this pudding - so like one I enjoyed growing up. Have made this many times to the delight of my family. We usually served it with a dab of jam. Great with coconut and must try those pistachios. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2007

      Great recipe..Best sahlab I have ever had.. Both my husband and I enjoyed it..I added almonds to it and it was amazing..Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2005

      I am going to take off my 1 star review since I probably did something wrong and dont want to detract others from trying it!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sahlab (Middle Eastern Pudding)

    Serving Size: 1 (208 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 293.5
     
    Calories from Fat 107
    36%
    Total Fat 11.9 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 7.4 g
    37%
    Cholesterol 45.5 mg
    15%
    Sodium 161.4 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.7 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 10.7 g
    21%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites