Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sage Tea Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sage Tea

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on June 10, 2010

      I haven't made this, but is this description serious? Frankly, I'm sort of offended. I don't think Chinese people think of Americans as morons simply because we drink tea and coffee, and I don't like that you're implying that they would be right if they did. I'm sure sage is plenty healthy, but so are a lot of other herbal teas, and I've never gotten sick or gone insane because of the tea I buy at the store. Additionally, why do you claim that sage is so inexpensive compared to tea? At the stores I go to, it's $11 for a jar of sage and $3-5 for a box of tea. A simple list of the potential remedies we can get from sage would have been much more appropriate.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2013

      i tried this recipe because i have lots and lots of sage. it was absolutely delicious! not sure what the health benefits are of sage tea, but i have enjoyed drinking a bit with honey and lemon. for the record, science has proven countless times the health benefits of drinking black, green or white tea (it all comes from the same plant, just is harvested at different times.) science prevails again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2013

      I have also not made this tea, but would like to second Edana's review. As someone with medical training, I would like to clarify the claim that "American tea" is a cause of insanity is completely unfounded and reflects some of the horrible misinformation that is spread about mental illness. To be perfectly honest, most of those claims cannot be supported by any research I am aware of. I'm sure this tea is delicious, and may in fact calm the stomach, but in the future please think twice before furthering the amount of misinformation out there.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2011

      Sage tea mixed with a groovy benadryl chaser. Now THAT's one relaxant. Just kidding, but not about making it for PRMR. Good stuff.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2011

      The tea is amazing and I have been drinking it for a very long time. The description is a bit overamped. The Chinese do not buy sage from America because they grow BETTER sage in China. Black tea does not cause insanity. Many Chinese drink black tea and even coffee and do not make fun of Americans for drinking it. Also, Chinese drink far more Oolong and Pur Eh tea than sage tea. Sage is used in Chinese medicine as a remedy, not a cure all. I know your heart was in the right place but a bit misguided.
      Sage tea should also not be drunk in certain cases. A pregnant woman, for instance, with a risk for miscarriage, should think twice about sage until delivery.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2010

      Tea is okay, but the description? We're not at odds with the Chinese over tea and, knowing personally people who are Chinese living in China, don't think they make fun of us because we drink black pekoe instead of sage. It doesn't make us sick either, and it certainly doesn't cause insanity! And Im getting that from my psychology degree.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2010

      Interesting flavour, different than anything I'm used to as tea but if it is healthy I would drink it more often. It is relaxing. I used dried sage, spring water and both optionals. I liked the taste the lemon brought to this tea a lot. I steeped it for 4 minutes to be cautious. I may make this again for its health benefits if I verify them. Made for Comfort Cafe - Snow Queens Round 01/10.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2010

      Earthy and soothing, as commented before.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2009

      I'd just been reading a book published in the late 1800s, The American Frugal Housewife (cuz I love that sort of thing), and the authoress had mentioned sage tea as a good way to deal with night sweats. Now I, being a woman in her 40s, have just started suffering through those... along with the extra loads of laundering they produce. (Not to mention the liver-cleansing benefits which I, a lover of a good martini, am always on the lookout for!) So, hey, I decided, why not Google a recipe for sage tea? I was thrilled to find one already posted on 'Zaar and with all these helpful reviews, too! Ten minutes later, I was enjoying this yummy tea dosed with a bit of lemon and a jigger of some amazing local honey. Love, love, love this. Thank you so much for sharing the recipe!!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2009

      Nice, even without the honey and lemon. Thank you for the suggestion Sharon.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2008

      I just tried this and it is great! It has a very subtle flavor. I made it in my new "Tea Drop" hot tea maker and it brewed perfectly. Sage tea has been recommended by the nutritionist who hosts "You Are What You Eat" on BBC America in several episodes. It really is worth trying.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2008

      This tea grew on me. I liked it more and more as I drank it and had to slow myself down so that I could enjoy every last bit! I used honey in mine. I'm so glad I have a huge pot of sage that I can now put to use :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2008

      Unfortunately I read the review that said not to steep it for more than 3-4 mins after it has steeped for 10 mins. I was drinking it for the review as I was reading the others that I didn't to start with. I can tell you that it was very tasty and that I'll absolutely make it again but with the shorted steeping time, At the 10 mins I must say that it is reminiscent of stuffing. I used ground sage (what I have)and strained it through a paper coffee filter into the cup. It is delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2007

      This was earthy and soothing. I used fresh sage and enjoyed it plain. Freddy Cat says Merry Christmas and thanks for the drink! Made for the Holiday tag game.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2007

      Wonderfully warming, the sage adds a peppery flavor which I enjoyed. I find most herb teas too bland for my tastes, so this was just perfect. Added honey, but no lemon. Thanks, Sharon, for sharing the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2006

      I like this tea in small amounts. It is refreshing, but powerful. It is very nice with the lemon, too. Thank you for posting this.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2006

      I'm sure it's good, just FYI, sage and other astringent herbs (like parsley) will dry up the milk of a lactating (breast feeding) mom. (I am one and would have tried this but knew of this issue). Everyone else enjoy!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2006

      YES! This is wonderful! It's a delicious bedtime drink. The lemon and honey really add an extra dimension. I only steeped mine 3-5 minutes as longer steeping doesn't seem to makee the flavor stronger. I like it hot and letting it sit longer just lets it get cold. It's good plain OR with the lemon and honey. Very soothing. !

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2013

      To those that are complaining about the description being silly... READ IT AGAIN! It starts by saying the following was written about a century ago. Therefore, it probably shouldn't be taken seriously. Remember, back then other "sage" medical advice (see what I did thar'?) included wearing red underwear and soaking in ebsom salts to cure diabetes and that masturbation caused hairy palms and insanity.<br/>That being said. I'm enjoying my sage tea somewhat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2009

    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sage Tea

    Serving Size: 1 (358 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 0.0
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 7.1 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fresh sage leaves

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites