Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sage Meat Loaf Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sage Meat Loaf

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on December 31, 2012

      I made this for mine and my SO's dinner on 12/28/12. I did add some seasoned salt and a bit of garlic powder as I was mixing together the rest of the ingredients. I never use a loaf pan when making meatloaf, it's just always free-formed. But the baking time was " Spot On ".. I do think that the amount of sage was just right and the leftovers made a very good sandwich. Thanks for posting and " Keep Smiling :) "

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2011

      Simply..DELICIOUS...I also subbed seasoned salt for regular..added a bit of garlic,used breadcrumbs and i always use a bit of McCormick Hamburger Seasoning to my hamburg dishes....we all loved this meatloaf..it is totally delicious cold also...very easy to make..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2010

      REALLY good. I doubled the topping (minus mustard and nutmeg), since I love a ton of ketchup on my meatloaf. The brown sugar in the sauce really made it delicious, and I'll be adding it to my loafs from now on! I didn't have any sage so I used Italian seasoning, which worked well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2010

      Karamia, this meatloaf was very good, but the next time I decide to make it, I will reduce the sage to a 1/4 teaspoon, as I thought the 1/2 teaspoon was a bit much. When making the meatloaf, I used 87% ground beef, which I thought worked well in this recipe, and I added 2 cloves of minced garlic, plus I used Nabisco's Hint of Salt Low Sodium Saltine Crackers, and I subbed Lawry's Seasoned Salt for the table salt. I also doubled the amount of sauce topping, which I'm glad I did. I then made the meatloaf round in shape and flatten the top of it a bit, and baked it in a 13x9-inch aluminum baking pan which I sprayed just the bottom of the pan w/a non-stick cooking spray. Thank you Karamia for sharing this delicious tasting meatloaf recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2010

      This was really good. I don't usually like meatloaf. I did add garlic to the meat, and used Panko breadcrumbs instead of crackers. Like Michelle S. suggested, I added some balsamic vinegar to the sauce. The only other thing I'd change next time is to leave the nutmeg out of the sauce. I wasn't crazy about that flavor in this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2009

      This is a good meatloaf. My Dad is a meatloaf fanatic and he thoroughly enjoyed it. I was out of Worcestershire sauce so I subbed a little ketchup. I also added some garlic just because I could not help my self. In the sauce I cut back on the sugar as my ketchup is sweet anyway, I tested it and decided it was still too sweet, so I added a generous splash of balsamic vinegar to it. I adored that addition! So did my daughter who told me to DOUBLE the sauce next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2009

      Wonderful! I recently got married and my husband is a fan of meatloaf, so we tried out this recipe. I never liked meatloaf much as a kid, so I had my doubts, but this was very good. We had to cook it for the full 20 minutes after putting on the sauce because it didn't look done. Delicious... and easy to make. We'll certainly be having this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2009

      I have never eaten meatloaf in my life, let alone made it. I searched the site for a 5 star meatloaf and found this one. I expected meatloaf to be dry and bland, but this was quite amazing! I left the onions a decent size so they would crunch in your mouth. This was extremely moist and the sauce was unbelievable! I'll have to make more of the sauce next time for dipping, as I couldn't get enough of it. Great recipe for my first time around, will definitely be using again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2009

      I have been looking for a good meat loaf recipe for a loooooooong time. This one is wonderful! I will definitely be making it again (and again). I made two changes to the recipe. I added a tsp of dried summer savory (because it's so yummy) and I used bread crumbs instead of saltines (because I didn't have them).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2009

      After Derf made this and posted it-- I couldn't wait to make it myself. Fabulous meatloaf! Really held together in slicing and the topping is YUM! I, too, are looking forward to sammies from this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2009

      quite a tasty meatloaf! I didn't have any saltine crackers so I crunched up some pepper/olive oil flavoured triscuits, worked very nicely. I was very pleased with the way the loaf sliced, stayed together beautifully! The sage flavour was very nice. Served with mixed veggies and baked potato. We're looking forward to meatloaf sammies for lunch tomorrow! Thanks for posting one of the best meatloaves we've had for a while. i will make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2009

      I have never made meat loaf before and I wanted to find a quick, but tasty recipe. I have made this for my family several times now and they absolutely love it. It is very moist and the topping is fantastic. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2009

      This recipe defintely needs a lot more reviews! I was looking for a simple, delicious meatloaf, and found it with this recipe! So moist, succulent, and filling! I didn't have saltines, so I crushed some old sage stuffing mix (the bags, not Stove Top) in a blender for bread crumbs. YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2008

      I used this sauce topping with a different meat loaf recipe, and it was great! It made the whole meal. I'm going to use it as a topping for burgers and other meat dishes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sage Meat Loaf

    Serving Size: 1 (188 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 415.7
     
    Calories from Fat 117
    28%
    Total Fat 13.0 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 5.5 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 157.6 mg
    52%
    Sodium 1138.7 mg
    47%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.0 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 14.8 g
    59%
    Protein 41.5 g
    83%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites