Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sage and Onion Wheat Bread (bread Machine) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sage and Onion Wheat Bread (bread Machine)

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on January 18, 2010

      Definitely aromatic and the sage flavor was lovely and not overdone. The onion flavor was quite subtle and I would like a bit more of that. Maybe carmelizing the onions, as someone suggested, would bring out the flavor a bit more. Texture was soft and tender. I used this as a side for soup. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2008

      A lovely, aromatic bread! I was a little worried about the amount of sage, but the flavors melded beautifully. I think that this bread would make WONDERFUL stuffing cubes for poultry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2007

      Yum! I'd never thought of putting sage in a bread before, I usually stick to the usual aromatic herbs (thyme, oregano etc). But this was great! I made into a cob loaf and some baguettes (made two lots of dough) and served with a spinach dip. So successful I'm going to do it again next weekend! I microwaved the chopped onions for 2 minutes just to take the bite-y ness out of them. And, I had no whole wheat flour, so I made with all bread flour and about 1/3 cup unprocessed bran. I also only put 1 tsp sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2007

      I'm eating hunks of this right now. It's SO good. I really like the real onion instead of flakes or powder. I used spelt flour instead of whole-wheat. I used the wheat cycle with a light crust on my machine, but might try a medium crust next time for a more rustic loaf.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2006

      This is really yummy! I used all white flour, because that is what I had, but other than that I followed the recipe exactly. This would make awesome ham and cheese sandwiches (hot or cold)! I think next time I will caramelize the onions before and use fresh sage. The raw onions burned a little where they touched the pan, but not so much that they altered the taste of the bread. Thanks for sharing! Good stuff.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2005

      oh yes! USE for stuffing turkey and chickens! amber

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2005

      I did a couple of changes to this. I used poultry seasoning instead of sage as I had already measured everything out and then discovered the sage container was put back in the cupboard empty. I also increased the water to 11/2 cups and the flour to 4 cups. I also used all wheat flour as I was trying to use it up. This smells amazing as it is baking, just like stuffing. I am going to use this bread to make ham and cheese sandwiches for lunches tomorrow.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2004

      I modified this recipe a bit, used a combo of whole wheat & rye flours and used fresh sage as I had a bunch on hand. Great bread! $ of us ate the whole loaf with home-made chicken and wild rice soup. Thanks for posting! I'll definitely make this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2004

      Wonderful, I used fresh sage, spelt flour and honey. Smelled wonderful baking and was a big hit at dinner, served with my Party Shrimp.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2004

      This is a really good bread & does smell wonderful baking! I did have to add just a little water to the dough as it was very dry. Thanks for giving me such a great new way to use the rubbed sage I always have in my cabinet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2004

      Delicious bread that goes great with comfort food meals! The only change I made was using rye flour instead of whole wheat, which made wonderful bread that was wonderful with And all because he does not like sauerkraut And all because HE does not like sauerkraut !! #1--wonderful supper. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sage and Onion Wheat Bread (bread Machine)

    Serving Size: 1 (66 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 153.8
     
    Calories from Fat 21
    14%
    Total Fat 2.4 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 5.0 mg
    1%
    Sodium 209.3 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.9 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 4.3 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes