11 Reviews

This reciped gets four stars with an asterisk, because it really is a 5-star recipe if the spices were doubled. It took a few times making it to get the flavor up where our family wanted it by doubling everything but the rice. Once we did that, it became a family staple, we make it all the time! I make the spice mix in bulk, stored in small containers to mix with 1 cup of dry rice at a time, rather than pre-mixing in the rice. The hardest part is just measuring out the ingredients. With the spices already mixed, this is just as easy as making a package of Mahatma! Thanks, this is excellent.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gatorbek February 23, 2013

I have always loved Mahatma! At first bite I thought I should've doubled the spice mix like Gatorbek, but I couldn't quit eating it after adding just a bit more salt. I usually rinse my Jasmine rice 3-4 times before cooking it, so I'll just store the seasonings separate from the rice. Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kelley52 January 03, 2016

Simply delicious, thanks so much for sharing! Don't know why it's taken me 2+ years to rate this. It goes so quickly in our house; I prepare a double batch to enjoy throughout the week for lunch at work. Personal preference: brown jasmine rice in place of white rice; cooked for 45 minutes. Sometimes I'll stir in thawed, uncooked shrimp and frozen green peas during the last five minutes for the flavors of my favorite part of Spanish paella.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IrishEyes.NYC September 26, 2015

This recipe was great. I would agree that the seasonings should be doubled. I used chicken bouillon instead of salt & I sautéed a few tablespoons of onion and garlic in butter before starting the recipe. I stirred in some fresh flat-leaf parsley for garnish. Very pretty rice- will make again. Nice substitute for my usual zatarain's yellow rice box!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KPD September 25, 2015

This is first recipe review that I have ever written, but I absolutely love this one. I love yellow rice, live in Tampa and eat Cuban food regularly. And this one rivals the 40 year old, iconic, Tampa Cuban restaurant, La Teresita. I typically use recipes as rough outlines rather than a firm plan, but this one I follow exactly, except I add 3 ingredients about 4 minutes before the 20 minutes are up. I add frozen peas, and sautéed onions(I use almost half a cup of each, but of course any amount is a nice touch), and give it a solid dusting of Tony Chachere's. Of course Tony's add more salt, but it works for me. Hats off to you TattooedMamaOf2.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
andrew b. August 18, 2015

We loved this just as it was and oh so easy to make, I premixed the spices with rice in the morning and left them in the pot with lid on and all I had to do was add the water (I used hot water from the kettle) and all done in under 30 minutes, thank you TattooMamaof2, made for Name that Ingredient tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat February 11, 2014

While it isnt as close to Mahatma's Yellow Rice Mix as I had hoped, it certainly got me started in the right direction. So I added some celery seed, Goya Sazon Seasoning and a little chicken bullion. I also added a pat of butter just as the original mix says. I think I may be very close to the packaged mix...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eboneetigress December 02, 2012

There was real talent creating this copycat recipe. My particular talent is usually dropping my cell phone in the toilet. 5 stars good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng September 22, 2012

Although I don't think it's a perfect copy of Mahatma, it is good! I liked the smokiness added by the cumin and the color was striking. I served with Papa D's Piccadillo and was well pleased by the pairing. I apprecriated the mix ahead directions too. I plan to make measure the spices for several batches & keep in the pantry. Thank you for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie D April 29, 2012

I made this as written and I must say this would be a perfect copycat of Mahatma Saffron Yellow Rice if the cumin was omitted and that is how I will make it from now on. Thanks for creating this recipe, no more store bought yellow rice! I served this with Scallops With Vegetables

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Papa D 1946-2012 February 20, 2012
Saffron Yellow Rice Mix