Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Saffron Rice With Cashews and Raisins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Saffron Rice With Cashews and Raisins

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on February 07, 2011

      This rice side dish went well with spatchcock chicken (with a simple grains of paradise rub) and stir fried brussels sprouts and onions. Be sure to remind yourself and others of the whole cloves. Made as written. Reviewed for February Tag Game Raisins/Uvas Pasas in Spanish forum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2009

      This was wonderful for DH and I! I was pleasantly surprised that this dish tasted so good as I tend to find rice cooked in water as apposed to chicken stock too bland for our tastes. I used white basmati rice. I used 2 cloves instead of 5 out of preference. I added a little canola oil instead of butter because we are dairy free. I used dark raisins. I took ~Rita~s idea to the next level and toasted some pine nuts and used cardamom as well in replacement of the cashews one time. The second time I did the same but with toasted slivered almonds of which some I mixed in and some I kept to garnish. I served this along with Chicken With Sumac(Jujeh Al Sammak), Cucumber Salad With Yogurt (Middle East, Palestine) and Quinoa Tabouli for a good Lebanese/Palestinian meal. I will make this recipe again for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2008

      Made this for lunch today using my rice cooker which cooks basmati rice to perfection. Used 'Pure Spanish Saffron' one of my recent purchases at herb and spice party. Made as posted with excellent results- we rice lovers are wanting to add this one to our Family Favorites. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2008

      I placed all in my ricer and had beautiful results with the addition of cardamom and used pine nuts in place of the cashews. Yummy goodness. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2008

      very very good rice! We loved it actually! I'd had the saffron for a long, long time and decided it was time to use a little of it...So glad I did. (My daughter took the picture though before I added the cashews and raisins...ugh. Guess she was tired of waiting to eat! Ha!) Had this with "Japanese Grilled Tuna" and "Japanese-Style Sesame Green Beans" and it was a scrumptious dinner. ZWT4 Family Picks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2008

      The whole family enjoyed this rice. It goes really well with Indian and in fact I served it with Pork Vindaloo and the two were perfect together. Your instructions on timing were right on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2007

      This was great - I served with Baby Kato's Chicken & Shrimp Curry With Coconut & Green Chilies and they were great together. We really enjoyed the cashews and raisins. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2006

    • on August 17, 2006

      Yes, any white rice is wonderful. I used jasmine rice which was wonderfully done and fluffy after the standing time. I did not realize that I had left off the butter until I sat down to write the review. This was served with Chicken & Shrimp Curry With Coconut & Green Chilies. They compliment each other very well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2006

      Awesome! Everyone loved this rice! It wasnt mushy or anything! Just perfect, with the balance of cinnamon, cloves, and the butter! oh the butter! Thanks for a GREAT recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2006

      This was lovely, fragrant, perfectly cooked rice. I was making this just for myself, and the method still worked perfectly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2005

      I quite often cook rice with a cinnamon stick and bay leaves, but the cashews and raisins added an interesting new twist.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2005

      This turned out a beautiful rice, but a bit bland for my tastes. I was surprised by how well the raisins and the rice went together - next time, I will use more raisins and maybe leave out the cashews (have also thought of using dried cranberries instead of the cashews.) The blandness might have been due to the age of my cloves and cinnamon stick, and the fact that I forgot about the butter!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2005

      Beautiful basmati rice! I particularly appreciated the perfect cooking instructions which left me with perfectly separated grains of gently flavoured rice - the perfect method for basmati! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Saffron Rice With Cashews and Raisins

    Serving Size: 1 (229 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 384.0
     
    Calories from Fat 106
    27%
    Total Fat 11.8 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 4.8 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 15.2 mg
    5%
    Sodium 693.2 mg
    28%
    Total Carbohydrate 63.6 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 6.3 g
    25%
    Protein 7.1 g
    14%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    cloves

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites