14 Reviews

This rice side dish went well with spatchcock chicken (with a simple grains of paradise rub) and stir fried brussels sprouts and onions. Be sure to remind yourself and others of the whole cloves. Made as written. Reviewed for February Tag Game Raisins/Uvas Pasas in Spanish forum.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl February 07, 2011

This was wonderful for DH and I! I was pleasantly surprised that this dish tasted so good as I tend to find rice cooked in water as apposed to chicken stock too bland for our tastes. I used white basmati rice. I used 2 cloves instead of 5 out of preference. I added a little canola oil instead of butter because we are dairy free. I used dark raisins. I took ~Rita~s idea to the next level and toasted some pine nuts and used cardamom as well in replacement of the cashews one time. The second time I did the same but with toasted slivered almonds of which some I mixed in and some I kept to garnish. I served this along with Chicken With Sumac(Jujeh Al Sammak), Cucumber Salad With Yogurt (Middle East, Palestine) and Quinoa Tabouli for a good Lebanese/Palestinian meal. I will make this recipe again for sure.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat September 14, 2009

Made this for lunch today using my rice cooker which cooks basmati rice to perfection. Used 'Pure Spanish Saffron' one of my recent purchases at herb and spice party. Made as posted with excellent results- we rice lovers are wanting to add this one to our Family Favorites. Thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gerry July 11, 2008

I placed all in my ricer and had beautiful results with the addition of cardamom and used pine nuts in place of the cashews. Yummy goodness. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ July 11, 2008

very very good rice! We loved it actually! I'd had the saffron for a long, long time and decided it was time to use a little of it...So glad I did. (My daughter took the picture though before I added the cashews and raisins...ugh. Guess she was tired of waiting to eat! Ha!) Had this with "Japanese Grilled Tuna" and "Japanese-Style Sesame Green Beans" and it was a scrumptious dinner. ZWT4 Family Picks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sassafrasnanc July 06, 2008

The whole family enjoyed this rice. It goes really well with Indian and in fact I served it with Pork Vindaloo and the two were perfect together. Your instructions on timing were right on!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ihvhope April 22, 2008

Yes, any white rice is wonderful. I used jasmine rice which was wonderfully done and fluffy after the standing time. I did not realize that I had left off the butter until I sat down to write the review. This was served with Chicken & Shrimp Curry With Coconut & Green Chilies. They compliment each other very well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG August 17, 2006

Awesome! Everyone loved this rice! It wasnt mushy or anything! Just perfect, with the balance of cinnamon, cloves, and the butter! oh the butter! Thanks for a GREAT recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tunasushi June 30, 2006
Saffron Rice With Cashews and Raisins