Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Saffron Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Saffron Rice

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on March 14, 2003

      i made this again, in the rice cooker tonite. it's still better than my favorite indian resteraunt, but with half the butter, half the water and half the time. soooo good

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2004

      This was nicely flavored rice. I used chicken broth and butter, both of which already had salt added. I halved the amount of salt to try to compensate but the rice turned out slightly too salty for our taste. I would suggest that if you use chicken broth that is already salted and salted butter in this recipe, you may want to use 1/4 of the amount of salt or omit it altogether.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2003

      We make this usually at parties and its always the first thing to get over;) This is a great side dish, well enjoyed by all.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2013

      I made this a few weeks ago in the rice cooker - it was absolutely delicious. I reduced the amount of water by half and it worked well. So fragrant and enticing. I could eat this all by itself.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2010

      Perfect saffron rice that was as easy to make as it was to finish eating it. Had none left, and I was so happy! Everyone enjoyed this immensely, so we will be making this often. Love the use of cinnamon sticks here. Made for ZWT 6

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2010

      Great recipe! Easy to make (my 14 year old son did most of it...) and came out as well as most restaurants! I had no cloves on hand, so excluded that ingredient; no problem. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2010

      This is very good. It is flavorful, but not so much that the rice overpowers the rest of the meal. DS especially loved it. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2010

      4 1/2 stars. This had a lot of flavour. I used less saffron than called for because I think mine is more potent as 1 tsp seemed like a lot! I used homemade chicken broth, butter and sea salt plus the rest of the ingredients. I don't think I would make this again. Made for ZWT6 Asia for my team The Ya Ya Cookerhood.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2010

      This is fabulous!!! The flavors were not overpowering and complemented each other well. I used 1/2 Olive oil and 1/2 butter and it turned out fine. I also didn't add any extra salt since I was serving it with something salty. I also added less saffron than called for because I'm not a huge saffron fan. Delicious! We ate this with Tikka Masala and it was so good, I'll definitely make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2009

      I wasn't so keen on this (think it was the saffron) however DH LOVED it!!! I'll definitely give it another go & maybe just alter the ingredients a tad. Thanks Rita.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2009

      We had this with Madagascar chicken curry #343890 by Celticevergreen for our new year dinner we wanted a change from the traditional steak pie that we alway's have and we were not disappointed it was very good the two went very well together. I also made mine in my rice cooker. I didn't have any ghee so I followed your recipe for that too, the cardamon comes over very strong but we liked that we will have this again makes such a nice change from just plain basmati rice thank you for a great recipe. Sorry there is no picture we were too much of a hurry to eat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2008

      A little heavy on the butter, tasted brilliant though, i used ground cinnamon and a little more cardamom

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2008

      this was great! I omitted the whole cloves and increased the onion and garlic amount, I used chicken broth and seasoned salt, thanks for sharing Rita!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2008

      first time i tryed this i used a stock pot, bad idea, a deep pan worked alot better. it took less time and was alot fluffier. this is great rice!!!!! i just wouldnt use a pot again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2008

      I made this for Easter dinner, and everyone raved. I did have to use a pinch of ground cloves & ground cinnamon as I did not have whole cloves or cinnamon sticks, and it still turned out very well. I did end up with way more than 4 servings. We had 7 people to feed, and there was still a 1/2 of the pot left. I will keep this recipe on hand for sure. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2008

      The taste of this rice was phenomenal. My husband wouldn't stop raving about it! For some reason it didn't cook enough in the time indicated so I'll just have to try it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2007

      Rita - this is simply the best rice I have ever had the pleasure of cooking / eating! It was so easy and the rice was perfect, seperate grains and the flavours are delicious but not over - powering. I did omitt the salt - but that a personal preference. thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2006

      Fantastic! This was the first time I had ever used Saffron and at 20 bucks a packet I was a little intimidated. Your recipe was easy to follow and produced the most incredible smell, even before I added the saffron. Note here; I used a good pinch of saffron powder instead of threads (couldn't find any.) Great recipe Rita L!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2006

      This is a great recipe for saffron rice. Easy and great flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2006

      I added a bit of cumin at the end as well as using mixed grain rice. It turned out delicious - thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Rice Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Saffron Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (406 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 529.2
     
    Calories from Fat 196
    37%
    Total Fat 21.8 g
    33%
    Saturated Fat 12.4 g
    62%
    Cholesterol 49.1 mg
    16%
    Sodium 1176.1 mg
    49%
    Total Carbohydrate 75.9 g
    25%
    Dietary Fiber 3.8 g
    15%
    Sugars 2.5 g
    10%
    Protein 7.8 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites