Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / saffron orzo with asparagus Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    saffron orzo with asparagus

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on February 28, 2004

      Oh my...what's not to like about this recipe?! Not a thing that I can think of. DH and I recently saw orzo in the grocery store and never having had it before, we decided to buy a package and give it a try. We both love our home raised asparagus; chia sent me some saffron to give it a try and I just had to try it out in this. I am so very glad I did! I can't wait for asparagus season to begin again and the saffron crocuses Rita sent to produce...I plan to make this often! Thank you chia!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2003

      The perfect comfort food! I also make this dish without the asparagus. I like to stir it continuously the last 5 minutes of cooking time to get a really creamy texture.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2012

      I made this for dinner last night and it was delicious. The combination of the asparagus and saffron was wonderful. Absolutely decadent. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2010

      I've had this saved since last year waiting for asparagus season and finally we've tried it. To be honest, when our homegrown veg are in season, I do a recipe almost exactly like this but without saffron. Anyway, it was really good and a great, light meal and quick for a weekday night when Wimbledon is on, so no time to concentrate on cooking a complecated meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2009

      Fantastic! What a find this recipe is....I had a little saffron in my cupboard and fresh asparagus. Served this with tortillia crusted tilapia for an elegant, fabulous Tuesday night dinner fit for a king...Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2006

      I have made this recipe numerous times, but with less saffron. I have also made it without the saffron, and it is tasty that way, too. Another time, I used fresh green beans and sprinkled with slivered almonds. We sprinkle more parmesan over it, plus fresh ground pepper. It is a nice combination of flavours, and is great served as a side to salmon, which is in season the same time as asparagus. Nice, easy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2004

      We thought the flavor of this was very good. We used it without the asparagus. My main "concern" about this recipe as written is that 1/2 tsp. of crushed saffron is a lot and also very expensive. I question if this is a true measurement. Although we live in the US we travel abroad several times a year and I get my saffron in Portugal or Spain so it is less expensive. I used .3 grams and it seemed enough for the dish. Kay S

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2003

      MY DH didn`t like this but I liked it more so it a definite 10 stars in my book! This is comfort food. I just love saffron. Especially when it`s home grown!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for saffron orzo with asparagus

    Serving Size: 1 (241 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 218.0
     
    Calories from Fat 57
    26%
    Total Fat 6.4 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 3.4 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 13.8 mg
    4%
    Sodium 483.6 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.9 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 2.3 g
    9%
    Protein 10.4 g
    20%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes