14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a delicious couscous with lots on interesting flavors. I halved it and that worked fine. Just watch the spice, I used cayenne and just one shake is powerful!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaliforniaJan October 14, 2013

I made this for 2 using whole wheat couscous. It was by the recipe except that I used a bit less of the amount of herbs (and wonder of wonders I had all the fresh herbs ask for!!). This a a lovely couscous and would be a great side for almost any protein, I'm thinking of some fish at this moment. Would certainly make again. Tonight it was paired with: Madeira Chicken With Figs. YUM!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia July 29, 2012

I love couscous. This was really good and I really liked the little bit of sweetness the golden raisins gave the dish. Made for ZWT 8 for The Fearless.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Dana July 27, 2012

We always enjoy couscous and this was a very nice recipe. Its such a pleasure to make and so easy to eat and enjoy.
I used regular couscous, left out the raisins, and used coriander and flat-leaf parsley for the herbs, probably using a bit less than asked for. I loved the use of lemon juice and pine nuts, and for our taste it needed no extra salt. Lovely way to enjoy a favourite grain, thank you Deantini!

Made for I Recommend tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen Elizabeth September 19, 2011

Like most couscous recipes simple and easy to put together making for a quick side. I scaled back for 2 serves which was plenty for 3 of us (especially as 2 are on restricted carbs so we had a 1/4 each and the third had 1/2) and we all thoroughly enjoyed. We especially loved the sweeteness from the onion (I used an eschallot) with the sultanas and the crunch of the pine nuts and heat from the red chilli pepper flakes (I added a little extra) and the flavours from the herbs and the sesame seeds just bought it all together. The only thing I did differently was to use olive oil to saute the the onions instead of butter. Thank you Deantini for another great recipe, made for ZAAR Stars tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat August 30, 2011

So fresh and good. Even my husband who generally doesn't like couscous liked this recipe. I used fresh basil, mint, and parsely. Wonderful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SimplyStacey April 21, 2011

Not being all that familiar with couscous, I followed the recipe exactly except for leaving out the raisins and red pepper flakes. I think my mistake was using dried herbs. They really overwhelmed the recipe, overpowering everything else. I used a combination of parsley, oregano and Italian seasonings. If I made it again, I would use half the amount of herbs and make sure I had fresh herbs instead of dried. I probably would like it a lot better that way.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen67 January 30, 2011

Made for Zaar Cookbook Tag game and served it with Tilapia#9004 and broccoli. Very delicious meal! I cut the recipe in half and left out the raisins (didn't have any) and used parsley, basil and mint. Definately will make this again. We loved the pine nuts! Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mama smurf January 26, 2011

This is a really nice couscous recipe. I especially loved the pine nuts, raisins, and red pepper in this. Simple and tasty! Thanks Deantini for a nice keeper. Made for Went To The Market Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme January 20, 2011

This a nice quick side dish. I cut it down - using 2/3 of a cup of couscous and was still more then need for two of us. I used apple mint, parsley, golden oregeno and fresh thyme for the herbs. The recipe called for 1/2 cup - I used less then half that and found it to be plenty, I think I would have found the full amount overwhelming. I really enjoyed the onion and would probably adde extra. Sadly my pine nuts were old and I had to leave them out - I will have to try again with fresh ones. I wish I had read the previous review about adding a little extra stock as I would also recommend this. Made for Please Review My Recipe Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
momaphet October 01, 2010
Saffron Couscous With Herbs