Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Saffron Couscous With Herbs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Saffron Couscous With Herbs

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on October 14, 2013

      This is a delicious couscous with lots on interesting flavors. I halved it and that worked fine. Just watch the spice, I used cayenne and just one shake is powerful!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2012

      I made this for 2 using whole wheat couscous. It was by the recipe except that I used a bit less of the amount of herbs (and wonder of wonders I had all the fresh herbs ask for!!). This a a lovely couscous and would be a great side for almost any protein, I'm thinking of some fish at this moment. Would certainly make again. Tonight it was paired with: Madeira Chicken With Figs. YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2012

      I love couscous. This was really good and I really liked the little bit of sweetness the golden raisins gave the dish. Made for ZWT 8 for The Fearless.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2011

      We always enjoy couscous and this was a very nice recipe. Its such a pleasure to make and so easy to eat and enjoy.
      I used regular couscous, left out the raisins, and used coriander and flat-leaf parsley for the herbs, probably using a bit less than asked for. I loved the use of lemon juice and pine nuts, and for our taste it needed no extra salt. Lovely way to enjoy a favourite grain, thank you Deantini!

      Made for I Recommend tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2011

      Like most couscous recipes simple and easy to put together making for a quick side. I scaled back for 2 serves which was plenty for 3 of us (especially as 2 are on restricted carbs so we had a 1/4 each and the third had 1/2) and we all thoroughly enjoyed. We especially loved the sweeteness from the onion (I used an eschallot) with the sultanas and the crunch of the pine nuts and heat from the red chilli pepper flakes (I added a little extra) and the flavours from the herbs and the sesame seeds just bought it all together. The only thing I did differently was to use olive oil to saute the the onions instead of butter. Thank you Deantini for another great recipe, made for ZAAR Stars tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2011

      So fresh and good. Even my husband who generally doesn't like couscous liked this recipe. I used fresh basil, mint, and parsely. Wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2011

      Not being all that familiar with couscous, I followed the recipe exactly except for leaving out the raisins and red pepper flakes. I think my mistake was using dried herbs. They really overwhelmed the recipe, overpowering everything else. I used a combination of parsley, oregano and Italian seasonings. If I made it again, I would use half the amount of herbs and make sure I had fresh herbs instead of dried. I probably would like it a lot better that way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2011

      Made for Zaar Cookbook Tag game and served it with Tilapia#9004 and broccoli. Very delicious meal! I cut the recipe in half and left out the raisins (didn't have any) and used parsley, basil and mint. Definately will make this again. We loved the pine nuts! Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2011

      This is a really nice couscous recipe. I especially loved the pine nuts, raisins, and red pepper in this. Simple and tasty! Thanks Deantini for a nice keeper. Made for Went To The Market Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2010

      This a nice quick side dish. I cut it down - using 2/3 of a cup of couscous and was still more then need for two of us. I used apple mint, parsley, golden oregeno and fresh thyme for the herbs. The recipe called for 1/2 cup - I used less then half that and found it to be plenty, I think I would have found the full amount overwhelming. I really enjoyed the onion and would probably adde extra. Sadly my pine nuts were old and I had to leave them out - I will have to try again with fresh ones. I wish I had read the previous review about adding a little extra stock as I would also recommend this. Made for Please Review My Recipe Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2010

      Yummy! I was dining alone for this meal, so I cut the recipe down to 1/4, which was just perfect for dinner and leftovers for lunch along with grilled chicken. For the herbs, I used parsley, cilantro, and green onion tops, for the stock I used homemade chicken stock. This was very easy to make, and came together really fast- perfect for a weeknight side dish. Thanks for posting a winner! Made for ZWT6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2010

      This is a wonderful, wonderful, wonderful couscous recipe. I made it today -- exactly as written -- to serve with several Moroccan tagines. I even used my cherished saffron -- purchased in Zanzibar. My only criticism is that you need to start with a bit more water. When you use just one cup of couscous, it is usually okay to match cup for cup. But when you use more, you need to add a bit extra water. I followed your recipe and in future I would add an extra 1/4 to 1/2 cup of water at the start. It will keep the couscous from congealing at the bottom of the pan. That said, thanks for posting such a delicious recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2010

      Should of halved the recipe, it sure does make a lot. Thankfully we really like it so that's alright. Didn't have too many fresh herbs, so used 1 tbsp cilantro, mint and basil since that is what I had on hand. Worked well. Thank you so much for posting. Made for ZWT 6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2010

      Wonderful couscous! I made one batch for DH with normal couscous and one for me with millet, and both were fabulous! I like the mix of olive oil and lemon juice, combined with the slight sweetness from the raisins and the nuttiness of the pine nuts and sesame seeds. For herbs I used parsley, mint, rosemary, thyme and salad burnet to replace the cilantro I did not have. Thanks for posting this, I'll definitely make it again!! Made for ZWT6 NA*ME for the Unrulies Under The Influence.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Saffron Couscous With Herbs

    Serving Size: 1 (151 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 308.6
     
    Calories from Fat 108
    34%
    Total Fat 12.0 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 2.4 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 6.0 mg
    2%
    Sodium 125.7 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 42.1 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 4.5 g
    18%
    Protein 8.4 g
    16%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    mixed herbs

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites