Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Saffron Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Saffron Chicken

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on October 10, 2003

      THIS...IS......OUT OF THIS WORLD!!!!! Have only two people here, but I knew we'd love it so i made the whole amount so we'd have leftovers. This dish filled my apartment with heavenly scents.. we couldnt wait to dig in!!! The chicken takes on a beautiful color and magnificent flavor!! The times were very accurate... and the ingredients were just perfect. Thanks for this wonderful recipe Jan. This is a keeper!!! I will make it OVER and Over and over again! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2007

      I made a healthier version of this using sliced boneless skinless chicken breasts, less butter, and half the salt, and it was fantastic! My husband ranks it as one of his favorite dishes, and it freezes very well too. I serve it over basmati rice with a side of okra and tomatoes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2012

      I do not like meat. I threatened the family if they ate the last piece of chicken. Thanks so much for this recipe...It's nice to enjoy eating the same thing everyone else eats sometimes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2010

      Did not like this at all; there is some spice in here that no one in my family liked. Someone mentioned that they didn't like cardamon as a spice and I am wondering if that is it. It's a spice I have had before (used) and didn't like. I have and like saffron rice so I don't think it's that. Either way, it was gross; tasted almost metallic with a blend of melted plastic. Not good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2009

      Great recipie. I've made this twice and both times the people I made it for raved about it. I use skinned chicken legs. Comes out very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2009

      What a wonderful recipe !! Made recipe as is, with no adjustments. I agree, that the aroma/scent is fantastic, and we couldn't wait to dig in. Made with a combo of chicken breasts, and drumsticks. One of the best here. Made for AUZ/NZ swap#30.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2009

      oh so good ! The whole family LOVED it. The spice combo was perfect. So smooth, mellow, aromatic. Even though saffron is SO expensive, it's SO worth it . I made it with skinnedchicken thighs otherwise followed the recipe as writen. It needed a little more liquid for the sauce but still...it was great ! It's a new favorite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2008

      This was a great recipe! I found it really easy to make and everyone liked it. I did not add the chili peppers because the kids would have turned up their nose and I added the salt after cooking, personal taste. Like another reviewer said, I think this would be operfect with maybe a coconut milk and yogurt addition to the liquids while cooking with some cornstarch to thicken it up a bit more into a gravy. It was not dry and I didn't add water and it wasn't needed. I also must say that 3 lbs of chicken equalled four large chicken breasts, so this makes quite a bit. I would say this makes more like 6 to 8 servings. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2008

      nice. i wound up putting the onion mixture in the blender so that it would have a bit of gravy and not be too dry. i also added a heaping spoonful of chili paste to spice it up. i'll probably add a little yoghurt next time for creaminess. it goes really well with KITTENCAL's Golden Couscous.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2008

      So gentle and subtle but so flavourful - this a fabulous chicken dish! I used some 550 g boneless chicken breasts but the full amount of spices (did cut down on the salt some!). I, too, worried that the dish looked a bit dry for simmering, but really, it will work out as written: I added about 50 ml of water and I certainly would not have needed it! Served with basmati rice and did miss some sort of sauce with this; I might give the coconut milk approach a try the next time. But even as-is, this a wonderful dish. Thank you so mucn for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2008

      5 stars easy!!!! This is simple, delicious, and rich with the flavor of saffron. Everyone loved this!!! Thanks for sharing. ~Lorie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2008

      Excellent. Only change I made was that I used whole bone-in with skin chicken breast. Also added about a 1/4 cup of chicken broth.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2007

      This was SOOOO GOOD! The flavor was a little mild so I think I might double up on the spices next time but it was still great as is. I used chicken thighs with the skin still on and that of course made it a little greasy so next time I will definitely remove the skin before cooking. Thank you for posting this delicious recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2007

      Wonderful recipe thanks, Jan. I went with Annya127's suggestion of coconut milk & it was fabulous.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2006

      This was amazing! It was quick as a snap to make and the sauce was delicious on top of rice. I used about 1/2 tsp of chili flakes and boneless, skinless chicken thighs for this recipe. This one is added to our permanent cookbook! Thanks for posting your recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2006

      Wow, I didn't quite believe all the excited comments about this dish .... until I made it. It is simply DIVINE! The flavors are so aromatic and delicate. I did not have cardamon and put in 1/2 cup coconut milk at the end, and it was chicken euphoria!!! Everyone should taste this. Try it, try it NOW, no other reipe is necessary :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2005

      This is fabulous, and I've made it many times. We never use the cardamom, though, because we don't like the flavor. It's still amazing without it! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2005

      After looking at alot of recipes with saffron in them, I chose this one to try saffron for the first time. It may be that my dh and I don't like saffron...This dish went together easily and looked and smelled wonderful. But there was some spice in it that we just didn't like. Sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2004

      Yummy! The spicing in this is fairly mild, IMO, but it needs to be for that amazing saffron flavor to glow through! Beautiful colors. I used 1 small thai chili pepper, which provided lovely red bits (just like in the picture!) I served with rice and Indian-Style Potatoes - Khatta Aloo (#61826) and garnished with cilantro, as shown in your picture. Now I did have one issue- but I think this may be chef error, and it still tasted delicious, but I will mention it nonetheless. I added the chicken/saffron/cardamom to the pot as directed in step 6... now I was supposed to simmer- but there simply wasn't enough liquid for me to feel comfortable simmering! I added like 1/2 cup of a water/yogurt mix and then simmered. So, the final product turned out a bit too liquidy, but I guess maybe I should have stayed true to the recipe. Regardless, this was delicious! Thank you for a terrific supper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2004

      As soon as I saw your photo I just had to try this and boy am I glad I did. A wonderful aromatic dish, we savoured every single mouthful. Really easy too. Thanks so much, will definately be making again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Saffron Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (270 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 552.7
     
    Calories from Fat 367
    66%
    Total Fat 40.8 g
    62%
    Saturated Fat 14.8 g
    74%
    Cholesterol 179.8 mg
    59%
    Sodium 1020.2 mg
    42%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.4 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 2.2 g
    8%
    Protein 39.3 g
    78%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites