Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sabrina's Sandwich Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sabrina's Sandwich Bread

    Average Rating:

    55 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-55 of 55

    Sort by:

    • on November 14, 2008

      I have been wanting to make my own bread for awhile now, mostly to save a some kind of money instead of running to the store for more. Even the day old bread store prices are a bit high now. But, I have always had problems with homemade bread recipes. They were always too dry and very crumbly just a day after cooking. But this bread cooked up nicely, and even 3-4 days afterword was still nice and soft, and not dry at all. Since we are avid bread eaters, this is very important. Thank you so much for posting this. I'm currently waiting for 2 more loaves to rise! This is a keeper recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2008

      I just started making my own bread, and I thought I had found the best one. BUT this bread is absolutely hands down the best . I made some this weekends and just made some more today because we at it all already. It tastes just like the Italian bread we get at the bakery, it is wonderful to have with spaghetti & sauce, and makes delicious sandwiches. I am going to be making this all the time!! Thank you so much for posting this recipe. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2008

      I only have a single 9x5 loaf pan so I changed the servings to 1.25 loaves and it turned out perfectly. This is the third loaf of bread I've made the past few weeks and it is, by far, the best texture and taste. The salt content did seem a bit high so next time I think I'll cut back. I did forget to put the butter in the bread but it didn't seem to matter. Also, like other reviews have mentioned, it only took 25 minutes of baking for this to come out perfectly. Thanks for sharing this great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2008

      Words do not describe. I am a long time bread baker and at any given point of time have several starters and cultures around my kitchen. Artisan and Sour Dough breads always abound in this house, but never go down so well with the kids. I was sick of paying supermarket prices for inferior bread so was on the lookout for a feasible sandwich bread. I have tried dozens of recipes, but this, hands down, is the winner. The crumb is wonderful and it slices like a dream. The kids loved it, the husband loved it and what's more important, I loved it! Will be making this several times a week I am sure. This would be a great recipe for people who don't have much experience with or shy away from making yeast breads. It's so easy and the dough is very forgiving. Cooking time was about 25 minutes for me. Thanks Ridgely - a real winner! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2008

      This is a WONDERFUL sandwich bread recipe. I've spent the better part of this year trying to find the perfect sandwich loaf and this is it! The only change I made was to substitute flours, I used 1/2 bread flour and 1/2 whole wheat flour. It turned out light and tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2008

      Fantastic, easy recipe. Makes a perfect sandwich loaf. This is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2008

      We love it! My husband has told me to stop looking for a bread recipe, cuz this is the one for us! I used 1/2 all purpose & 1/2 whole wheat flour and it was very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2008

      great bread! My only concern was that my yeast did not bubble as expected.. but that could have been user error

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2008

      Oh my goodness, I have found the perfect bread! Thank you so much for sharing this! I've been making bread for over 15 years now and nothing has come close to this. My husband who works in the food service actually thought I purchased these (I made them into rolls) at a bakery!! Everyone I have served this to just fall in love with how soft it is. It is truly a great sandwich bread, not falling apart when you cut into it or tasting too yeasty or too dry. I used about 4 T melted butter altogether when mixing it in with the yeast and it turns out just fine. I've also used both honey and sugar and they both produce the same results. Again, I can't get over how much it tastes so soft and fresh, like sandwich bread! Thanks again for sharing this recipe with us!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2007

      Perfect sandwich bread! Love how soft this turns out! Will make again, and again and again. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2007

      AWESOME!! I was a huge skeptic. I have been trying to find a good sandwich bread for a while. I used white spelt flour because I am allergic to wheat. I can't tell you how much spelt flour I have wasted looking for a good sandwich bread recipe. Look no further this is it. I will say that the instructions were a little off though. First of all, it took my bread one hour to double in size. If it even doubled. The second rise also took an hour. Lastly, if I would have let it cook for 35- 45 minutes it would have burned up. I probably only cooked it 25 minutes. That all could be because I used spelt flour. All and all it is perfect for sandwiches, sandwiches that you don’t have to toast! YEAH!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2007

      This is a terrific bread! I was looking for a recipe I could use for sandwiches for my husband and son - very picky eaters. This bread tastes awesome, and is just right for everyday sandwiches.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2006

      I was leafing through dozens and dozens of "sandwich" bread recipes too, and just happened upon this one. Outstanding! I have tried many bread recipes, the bread produced is usually to dense/to light etc. This turned out perfectly, soft and light for my husbands lunch. Easy to follow instructions, whether you hand knead, or use the KA, this will surely be a winner. Thanks for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2006

      This was an easy bread to make. I used an electric mixer for the mixing and kneading. The bread came out soft and fairly light-textured on the inside with a tasty, chewy crust. If you prefer a soft crust, try using milk in place of water in the recipe, and brush the crust with melted butter right after baking. This bread made excellent toasted cheese sandwiches!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2005

      So there I was, leafing through all the wonderful-sounding recipes and I came across this gem, lost in a sea of baked goods with no review and no picture. This recipe is very easy to follow and very lovely! A delicate crumb and a melt-in-your-mouth quality that I've been craving. I used coarse sea salt in the dough and I also brushed an egg wash on the loaf before baking and sprinkled w/ toasted sesame seeds and it was gorgeous. Bravo on this recipe,Ridgely. This is a keeper in my personal bread book and I recommend this beauty for everyone who craves butterly, beautiful home-baked goodness. The pictures say it best.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 3 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sabrina's Sandwich Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (1407 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1686.9
     
    Calories from Fat 210
    12%
    Total Fat 23.4 g
    36%
    Saturated Fat 12.8 g
    64%
    Cholesterol 50.8 mg
    16%
    Sodium 6999.0 mg
    291%
    Total Carbohydrate 324.0 g
    108%
    Dietary Fiber 12.1 g
    48%
    Sugars 35.8 g
    143%
    Protein 41.9 g
    83%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes