Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sabrina's Sandwich Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sabrina's Sandwich Bread

    Average Rating:

    54 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 54

    Sort by:

    • on February 11, 2010

      Very nice texture. Eah rise took an hour and baking was done in 25 minutes. The bread was extremely salty, I am thinking it should be 2 tsp, not 2 Tbsp. Will make again, with much less salt, and maybe with some wheat flour/bread flour. I may also try half milk and adding an egg like others suggested.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2010

      This bread was delicious and smelled wonderful while baking. I used sugar instead of honey, bread flour, and salted butter (so i lowered the 2tbsp of salt to 2 teaspoons). I thought the bread would be lighter and fluffier, it came out quite dense but delicious with a great texture. I loved how crunchy and buttery the crust was right out of the oven. I think this would be a great recipe for rolls so i will form the dough into balls next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2010

      This was my first time making bread from scratch. This bread is simply amazing. The dough was very easy to make, everything went very smoothly and this bread is HEAVENLY. For the last step I put the bread in the oven for only 35 minutes, and I probably could have taken it out of the oven at 20 or 25. Overall this recipe is great! Who needs store bread when you can take an hour or two and make this yourself? Amazing! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2009

      My family loved this! soo moist & yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2009

      Perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2009

      What a great tasting bread! I found that 6 cups of flour was plenty and I was concerned because at first the dough seemed a little hard. (I don't know, maybe my flour was packed too firmly) I let this sit for an hour for the first rise because it didn't quite double in size. After that I punched it down, divided in 2 and shaped into Italian style loaves, set it on a cookie sheet with a silicone silpat and covered again and let it rest an additional 1/2 hour..(DH likes his bread with a crispy crust so I didn't use the loaf pans) I sprayed with a water mister and baked for 25 minutes. It was perfect and the flavor was out of this world. So much tastier than the other bread recipe I've been using. Thank you Ridgely, I'll be using this recipe often!! As my husband would say, "This was stupid good!!"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2009

      This was very easy to work with. I used my stand mixer for the kneading and it worked great. The bread was very good, although 35 minutes was too long in my oven. Its quite dark. Still a very good recipe...I will certainly be making again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2009

      Made to go with Spicy Beans Tex-Mex (Crock Pot) for lunch today. I did reduce the salt but made as directed otherwise. Very good Will be making again.(probably tomorrow)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2009

      Very nice rising and easy to work with bread. Comes out nice and soft with a crust that isn't too crunchy. Cuts nicely and holds up well to spreads. Big hit around this house! I've already emailed the link to two of my friends. It did well with modifications (vegan margarine instead of butter).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2009

      Very good recipe and I guess I didn't really read the reviews but did cut the salt in half the second time I've made it. I've passed this recipe on already. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2009

      This is great! I just baked these, and my house smells fantastic now! Made a few alterations to the method. To start, I mixed my honey, salt, and margarine into the warm water before adding the yeast. I also mixed the whole thing by hand as my wussy little stand mixer has no paddle or dough hook, and it would not be big enough to accomodate 6+ cups of flour. As per the other reviewers, I cut the salt to 1 T. I also used margarine instead of butter becaues that's all I have on hand today. One batch made 1 loaf of bread and 8 rather large buns. Buns baked for 10 minutes, and the loaf for 20. The top of the loaf went VERY dark, bordering on burned, even after a desperate attempt to prevent further darkening by tenting with foil mid-way thru baking. (Would have been a 5 star recipe otherwise.) I think next time I will try lowering the heat to 375. Overall though, I am very pleased with the final product! They taste delicious - I already 'sampled' two buns, and I'm going back for another shortly (quality control is important, don't you think? haha). Nice crunchy crust, and moist, chewy goodness inside. I'm sure I'll be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2009

      I just made this bread today and it is so good! I made it to make sandwiches with and it came out light and fluffy and easy to slice. I used about 3.5 teaspoons of Kosher salt instead of 2 tbsp like the recipe called for. I think that would be way too salty. I also added 8 tsp of vital wheat gluten. I will make this over and over again. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2009

      Aloha. I made this recipe yesterday by halving for 1 loaf. My bread machine mixed the dough, I used half Better For Bread/half wheat flour (3 cups total). I used sugar (had no honey) and regular butter (had no unsalted). About the salt, 1 tablespoon seemed like a bit much (for this size loaf I typically add 1-1/2 tsp) so I used 1 teaspoon because of the salted butter. I used 2 tablespoons of butter for the dough. As others suggested I bakes for 25 minutes @ 400 degrees. Lately I've been experimenting with my Pyrex Bake-A-Round (I acquired it without directions). The loaf turned out w/ a beautiful honey-brown color crust. The crust was not soft - more crunchy, actually - but it sliced perfectly. The interior was excellent. The texture was ideal for sandwiches. It was flavorful, quite delicious! My husband loved it. Great recipe. I'll look forward to making this again and again. FYI, the Pyrex Bake-A-Round makes a round, cylindrical loaf and circular-shaped sandwich slices. I really like that! I'll see if I can post a photo. If anyone reading this has Pyrex Bake-A-Round recipes, please share.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2009

      This bread was sooo yummy! I used my mixer as well, which made it really easy. This was the first time I had ever made bread and it wasn't as hard as I had thought it would be. I did notice that if I had baked it much more than 25 minutes it would have been overdone. That could just be my oven running a little over-temp, though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2009

      Nice, very nice. I used 2 cups whole wheat and 4 cups white flour. Baked for 25 minutes and got two beautiful loaves. The effort is very minimal for such a lovely result.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2009

      Yummy!!!! This bread turned out great. I made a couple of changes because I had to. I only had self-rising flour, so I used one envelope of yeast instead of two, and omitted the salt. I also used half milk, and half water, instead of all water, like another reviewer had mentioned. Everything else was the same. It turned out great, and my family loved it! Next time, I will make sure I have all purpose flour, so that I can follow the recipe exactly, but I can only imagine that it will be even better. I may just not go back to store bought bread! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2008

      This recipe turned out 5 mini loaves (pampered chef stoneware mini loaf pan plus 1 mini loaf in dark nonstick metal). The bread is delicious with a tight cell but it is NOT dense. If you are looking for a soft white bread with a moist crumb without a lot of irregular openings, then this recipe produces with minimal effort. I wanted a softer crust so I used half milk and half water (105 degrees F). I also brushed the tops with butter before baking to help with the soft top. I also wanted a light fluffy texture (like store bought) so I added a whole egg between steps 3 and 4. I used sugar instead of honey and only used 2/8 (in addition to the the 6 cups) of additional flour in the kneeding process to make up for the lost moisture from the honey that I omitted (I didn't have any). But, I prefer honey and using honey vs. sugar does help the bread from spoiling as quickly. I created a humid warm environment by heating a 1 cup measure full of water until 1 minute in my microwave. Then, I stuck my bowl of dough in the microwave with the cup still in there...making sure the plastic wrap is touching the dough anywhere it stood above the bottom of the bowl WITH extra wrap to allow for the rising. Otherwise the uneven heat source could create a hardened spot in the dough closest to the measure cup. I always use this method for raising dough in the winter because my house is drafty. I cooked all loaves at once on the middle rack for 20 minutes and they were all done (internal temp was 190 deg. F) evenly. I did not have to tent with foil. They all sliced beautifully and this bread is just delicious and very fragrant. The difference in the pans: 1. Dark nonstick metal produced a better flavor than the stoneware did but the sides and bottom were not as beautifully colored. Also, crust on top was a little softer. There was a small amount of liquid in the bottom when I took the loaf from the pan. This was likely responsible for the difference in all around crust. 2. Stoneware produced a better looking loaf with a more even loft. The sides and bottom were gorgeous. The crust was a little crispier while still soft. The flavor was not as good for some reason. So, it seems...flavor vs. attractiveness is the deciding factor. Thank you for posting! -Caryn

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2008

      I divided the recipe in half, it took less than three hours start to finish to produce a beautiful loaf of bread, and most of that time was just rising. Based on one of the other reviews, I checked my bread after 25 minutes and it was done. I'll be making this often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2008

      I had to add an egg to get the texture closer to that of store bought. My husband goes through 4 sandwiches a day and that gets expensive! I can't make it more than 2 days ahead of time to keep it really soft but otherwise, this is fantastic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2008

      I have been wanting to make my own bread for awhile now, mostly to save a some kind of money instead of running to the store for more. Even the day old bread store prices are a bit high now. But, I have always had problems with homemade bread recipes. They were always too dry and very crumbly just a day after cooking. But this bread cooked up nicely, and even 3-4 days afterword was still nice and soft, and not dry at all. Since we are avid bread eaters, this is very important. Thank you so much for posting this. I'm currently waiting for 2 more loaves to rise! This is a keeper recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sabrina's Sandwich Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (1407 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1686.9
     
    Calories from Fat 210
    12%
    Total Fat 23.4 g
    36%
    Saturated Fat 12.8 g
    64%
    Cholesterol 50.8 mg
    16%
    Sodium 6999.0 mg
    291%
    Total Carbohydrate 324.0 g
    108%
    Dietary Fiber 12.1 g
    48%
    Sugars 35.8 g
    143%
    Protein 41.9 g
    83%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites