56 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

PERFECT! I took the advice of other reviewers and did 2 teaspoons of salt instead of tablespoons. I also subbed molasses for honey because I was out. I can't tell you how amazing it came out, but I can show you! Check out the photo I uploaded (the one where half the loaf is sliced). Highly Recommend!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
keshiacarswell March 20, 2012

I've made this bread several times now and it comes out perfectly every time. It really is perfect for sandwiches - soft bread that still holds its shape nicely even when sliced thin. Thanks, Ridgely!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Camden's Mom June 03, 2011

I've been looking for a good sandwich bread that slices well. This is it. I did replace 2 cups of the flour with wheat flour, and next time I will halve the salt; it really was too much, and the hubby likes a sweeter bread. Still, very good, will make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitsune May 24, 2011

a bit dry for me. It didnt rise well either. I didnt like that it only made two small loaves. The flavor seems good though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hillbillycitygirl January 15, 2011

This recipe provided good basic, no-frills yet flavorful, bread. I especially enjoyed the smooth texture. I've added it to my cookbook as a "go-to" and intend to use it to play with different flour combinations. After reading other reviews, I used 1 scant teaspoon of regular table salt instead of the 2T of coarse salt. No problem. Thanks so much for sharing your recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cmoody1962 January 04, 2011

WOW! This recipe is amazing - I made bread like I buy at the store! I only did a half recipe, as I only have one loaf pan. It was done in 25 minutes - instead of flipping it out, I stuck in a thermometer (bread is done at 190-200*F)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Random Rachel June 26, 2010

I've tried every bread recipe from Fanny Farmer to Paul Hollywood, and so far, I am most pleased with this preparation! Whisked everything smooth, until I added the last three cups of flour, which I finished with a wooden spoon. (I only used 6 1/4 cups flour, and 1/2 Tbsp salt). It rose to more than double within a half hour, and the second rising only took about 40 mins (using another reader's advice by putting it in the microwave with steaming water). Used an egg wash before baking, and re-applied after 10 minutes. It baked on the second to bottom shelf (so it wouldn't get too brown before the inside was done) for 20 minutes exactly. Smells yummy, can't wait to taste it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eddie3108 June 24, 2010

Way too salty. I adjusted the recipe to just a teaspoon of course salt and I salted butter instead of unsalted. Then the recipe came out great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The bass guy May 24, 2010

There were a couple of sandwich recipes I wanted to try that asked for white bread. So, I made this recipe and Im so glad I did. The flavor and texture are wonderful. Though my DH made some toast this am with it and thought it was too salty,but for sandwiches its great..Thank U again for another great recipe...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Potluck April 07, 2010

Well first i have to say this recipe is wonderful to work with..the dough turned out perfect, i made one loaf and did buns with the other half, and they looked exactly like i expected them too with a perfect soft bread texture. However the ultimate test for me, of taste, didn't go so well, I just really didn't care for the taste of this one, i'm not sure why. I followed the recipe using sugar and an oiled surface instead of floured so not sure what it was i didn't care for with the taste, But thank you for posting anyway :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PickleLover April 05, 2010
Sabrina's Sandwich Bread