Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sabrina's Sandwich Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sabrina's Sandwich Bread

    Average Rating:

    54 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 54

    Sort by:

    • on July 19, 2010

      I have to say this is the very best bread I have ever made in it's original form. I like experimenting with it because it is perfect to start with! Thank you for sharing this delicious recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2010

      I have made this more than a dozen times now. It is the best sandwich bread I've ever made. I only use 1 tbsp of salt as 2 tbsp was too much for me. I also let me dough rise in the microwave. I put about 3 cups of water in a glass dish and nuke it for about 4 mins, then put the dough in. The moisture level really makes a difference. Thanks again for the awesome recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2014

      This recipe was easy to follow but my rise times were three times as long, and the final loaf was too dense for my personal tastes. My husband liked it so I suppose it's just a preference thing. Thanks for posting all the same.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2013

      Easy and delicious to make. Hands down my favorite for comfort food.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2013

      Loved this recipe! I made it in the bread machine and used part 7 grain. It came out perfectly!!! Will be making again and again :) Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2013

      Great recipe and clear directions. Perfect as is and makes a great starter for experimenting. I have modified it to make it a wheat bread. It is not a whole wheat, more like 50/50. I added a little more honey, upped it to 1/3 cup. Added 1/4 cup water. 3 cups whole wheat flour and 3 cups white bread flour. Make sure your water is quite warm without being so hot you kill the yeast. I read someone else's idea of making your microwave a proof box, works really well like that! Play with it, make it your own! I think I see some cinnamon raisin bread in our future!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2013

      This bread came out perfect for sandwich bread. I put all the ingredients in a stand mixer (after I let the sugar, yeast, and water get creamy). I let it rise in that bowl. Folded it into a laof and let it rise again. Popped it in the oven and it came out beautiful. My family loves it and I will now be making this recipe for our sandwich bread. Thank you so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2012

      This bread tasted nice and rose beautifully. But as far as it being a sandwich bread, not so much. It crumbled and broke way too easy. We got maybe 1 intact slice in one whole loaf. It does toast well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2012

      PERFECT! I took the advice of other reviewers and did 2 teaspoons of salt instead of tablespoons. I also subbed molasses for honey because I was out. I can't tell you how amazing it came out, but I can show you! Check out the photo I uploaded (the one where half the loaf is sliced). Highly Recommend!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2011

      I've made this bread several times now and it comes out perfectly every time. It really is perfect for sandwiches - soft bread that still holds its shape nicely even when sliced thin. Thanks, Ridgely!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2011

      I've been looking for a good sandwich bread that slices well. This is it. I did replace 2 cups of the flour with wheat flour, and next time I will halve the salt; it really was too much, and the hubby likes a sweeter bread. Still, very good, will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2011

      a bit dry for me. It didnt rise well either. I didnt like that it only made two small loaves. The flavor seems good though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2011

      This recipe provided good basic, no-frills yet flavorful, bread. I especially enjoyed the smooth texture. I've added it to my cookbook as a "go-to" and intend to use it to play with different flour combinations. After reading other reviews, I used 1 scant teaspoon of regular table salt instead of the 2T of coarse salt. No problem. Thanks so much for sharing your recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2010

      WOW! This recipe is amazing - I made bread like I buy at the store! I only did a half recipe, as I only have one loaf pan. It was done in 25 minutes - instead of flipping it out, I stuck in a thermometer (bread is done at 190-200*F)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2010

      I've tried every bread recipe from Fanny Farmer to Paul Hollywood, and so far, I am most pleased with this preparation! Whisked everything smooth, until I added the last three cups of flour, which I finished with a wooden spoon. (I only used 6 1/4 cups flour, and 1/2 Tbsp salt). It rose to more than double within a half hour, and the second rising only took about 40 mins (using another reader's advice by putting it in the microwave with steaming water). Used an egg wash before baking, and re-applied after 10 minutes. It baked on the second to bottom shelf (so it wouldn't get too brown before the inside was done) for 20 minutes exactly. Smells yummy, can't wait to taste it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2010

      Way too salty. I adjusted the recipe to just a teaspoon of course salt and I salted butter instead of unsalted. Then the recipe came out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2010

      There were a couple of sandwich recipes I wanted to try that asked for white bread. So, I made this recipe and Im so glad I did. The flavor and texture are wonderful. Though my DH made some toast this am with it and thought it was too salty,but for sandwiches its great..Thank U again for another great recipe...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      Well first i have to say this recipe is wonderful to work with..the dough turned out perfect, i made one loaf and did buns with the other half, and they looked exactly like i expected them too with a perfect soft bread texture. However the ultimate test for me, of taste, didn't go so well, I just really didn't care for the taste of this one, i'm not sure why. I followed the recipe using sugar and an oiled surface instead of floured so not sure what it was i didn't care for with the taste, But thank you for posting anyway :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2010

      Terrific! The recipe is nice and easy. The rise and bake times as written were accurate for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2010

      This tasted really good! I followed other reviewers and baked for 25 minutes @ 400 but mine was NOT done! There were a few spots in the middle where it was doughy and I had to throw some of it out! It is hard to tell though, because it really did look done...but next time I'll err on the side of caution and put some foil on top for the last few minutes if it is getting too dark, just so it is done in the middle!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sabrina's Sandwich Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (1407 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1686.9
     
    Calories from Fat 210
    12%
    Total Fat 23.4 g
    36%
    Saturated Fat 12.8 g
    64%
    Cholesterol 50.8 mg
    16%
    Sodium 6999.0 mg
    291%
    Total Carbohydrate 324.0 g
    108%
    Dietary Fiber 12.1 g
    48%
    Sugars 35.8 g
    143%
    Protein 41.9 g
    83%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites