24 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Thanks All, This is a delicious sause. I'm about to eat my hot dogs now. I lived in new york for 10 years so I missed the city's famous dogs. I took the advice of other reviews and made a few adjustments. I used sugar instead of corn syrup I used flour instead of corn starch. I used about 3 1/2 cups of water instead of 4. It took me a while to cook the sauce down and thicken. I would probably try 3 cups next time. I used apple cider vinegar AND half the amount! Someone mentioned the vinegar was a bit much. I agree. I'm glad I usually keep apple cider vinegar. I like the taste better. I hope this helps someone. Thanks for the recipe, you made my sunday dinner :)

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lab76 January 24, 2010

I have made this sauce for 25 years (with some changes) for a vendor. It should take no more than 30 minutes, start to finish for the whole thing. There is WAY too much water, which is why you're cooking it so long - to evaporate the water. You should have no more than 1 or 1 1/4 cup total of water and the other ingredients if you're using a large onion (10-12oz). This is a simple and quick recipe but all the excess liquid is making this more difficult than it has to be. It also tastes better the next day after all the flavors mellow.
BTW, cornstarch is better, it makes the sauce glossier.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zanne101 May 22, 2012

I have to agree with the others. Having retired from F.D.N.Y. I have definately consumed my share of "Dirty Water Wagon" Hot dogs. Imagine a KISS without a squeeze. Hot dogs without this sauce are mediocre to say the least. I would give this recipe 10* if allowed. BUT, like certain foods that are recognized by their location no one will ever be able to capture the total essence of a New York hot dog because to many related factors are missing. The Water, atmosphere, environment, the hustle bustle, the sounds etc. This brings back so many memories. Just like street corner pretzels in the winter. Thanks so much for the recipe. Cap'n Jack

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Firehousecook AKA Cap'n Jack April 08, 2009

It is a fantastic version of Sabrett's sauce. I was the happiest person in the world when I found this recipe. I have made it several times, and I would also suggest using less water. Three cups of water would be better.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MrRev July 26, 2011

LOVE this recipe. I am a native New Yorker finishing graduate school in the Midwest and looked this recipe up yesterday when I decided to have turkey franks at my BBQ. These onion taste just like the Sabrett's onions we would put on our "dirty water franks" back home. Like most of the other reviewers, I'd say use less water - maybe 2 1/2 or 3 cups to every onion. Plus, you'll need to keep the heat up a little in order to let the water boil out and the sauce thicken faster. It took me about 3 hours total. I also took on reviewer's suggestion and added a little brown sugar towards the end. Delicious!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sepiaesthetica July 04, 2011

5 star most definitely! Made this last night to top some brats I picked up at Sam's and oh boy... I'm in FL but as a recent transplant from NY I miss many things and dirty water dogs with onions & mustard are on the list. Made as directed and it was so close to the actual I could almost hear the noise of the city.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ldyday July 03, 2011

I finally tried this recipe and it worked out great with a little tweeking. I used a big red onion, 3 1/3rd cups of water, the thing that made it mouth watering was adding a little brown sugar in the last 15 minutes of simmering. I discovered this sauce at a hot dog stand in Los Angeles. I ordered some from Sabrette's directly, because I couldnt find it ANYWHERE. I found this recipe and along with a sabrette dog you cant go wrong. It is much better the next day to let the cider vinegar calm down a little and let the other ingrediants get a chance to mingle. I havent tried to double the recipe yet.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spooeys October 29, 2010

Wonderful. My brother always buys the bag of this for our BBQ's. This is even better I think. I did cut down the water to 3 1/2 cups as another reviewer suggested and it was fine. Used Apple Cider Vinegar (our favorite). I did used just under a quarter cup, was a bit worried about how strong it would be, but it was great! Will be making alot this summer!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RepoGuysWife May 12, 2010

Well after i figured out tht you simmer it uncovered it was all uphill from there. It was awesome with the sharp yellow mustard and a good kosher beef hotdog! This is a keeper for sure. This sauce was on my short list of what I missed after I moved from New York.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Isaiah54Mom June 22, 2009

this was much better used the next day. the first day the vinegar seemed a bit too strong for me. It was very good though and for a new yorker like me the only way to eat a hot dog! I will make this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
King's cook February 29, 2008
Sabrett's Onion Sauce for Hot Dogs by Todd Wilbur