Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Saag Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Saag Chicken

    Average Rating:

    32 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 32

    Sort by:

    • on August 03, 2009

      Great choices of spices/ingredients for a very tasty Saag! As a huge fan of saag (saagwala), I have several recipes for chicken saag, and like some of the other raters of this particular recipe, like it very spicey. That said, I doubled the garlic, ginger, and spices. I also prefer a saag that produces more "gravy," thus added about 1/2 cup yogurt plus 1/2 cup chicken broth (at the end), and heated it through. The flavor of this spice combination is very close to what I have also been looking for. My DH also loved it. Added about 1/2 cup cooked sliced mushrooms to the mix. Thank you for sharing a recipe for saag that truly provides the "melded" spices that taste like those we've had in the best East Indian restaurants.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2010

      This was good. I switched out the milk for yogurt and the butter for ghee (clarified butterfat that is commonly used in Indian dishes). I also reduced the amount of oil to 4 tbsp in total. I think next time I will increase the spice mix as I don't think it's enough. It's a good recipe to start with and I think with a little tweaking it could be a great 5-star dish. Thanks for this, MilliesMum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2010

      AMAZING! I changed it a little by frying all the spices, then the chicken, then putting in the frozen spinach. Would definitely eat again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2008

      Good recipe. I veganized it by using a block of tofu instead of the chicken pieces, soymilk in place of regular milk, and earth balance for butter. I doubled the amount of cayenne pepper since we like things a little more spicy, and could really have added a bit more (we also added freshly ground black pepper). Immediately after cooking (and before adding the butter), we tried it, and it did taste rather bland. The butter is key in giving it a creamy texture. We liked the addition of butter so much, we doubled the amount of butter for an even creamier saag. I simmered it for about 30 minutes and let sit for about an hour. The flavors of this dish got better and better the longer we waited. Best the next day. This recipe was a bit more labor-intensive and time-consuming than I normally like (and created quite a bit of dishes), but I would make this again by special request. Thank you for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2014

      What happened to the butter?!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2014

      I LOVE this dish. I don't cook, so my sister makes it for me as a special treat when she visits. It does taste like what I enjoy when I go to a good Indian restaurant. She substituted 24 oz. of frozen spinach the first time she made it, to save on cost, and always makes at least 1/2 of the meat chicken thighs (as opposed to breasts) for the moisture. She always doubles so I can freeze some, which tastes wonderful, and the leftovers the next day are always great, too!! Last time she did this, I had a "new" blender and the spinach wrapped up and burnt it out, but I would imagine most people on this site will have the right tools for this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2013

      Delicious. I didn't have coriander and it still tastes amazing. I might chop the spinach before cooking and skip blending next time. There is some texture missing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2013

      Easy to make and delicious. Going to try it now with tofu and as many others have said so far a bit more spice. Extremely helpful resource for someone with no experience whatsoever handling Indian cuisine - thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2013

      This is the closest a recipe has come to mimicking the Saag I've enjoyed in restaurants. I did make a few changes though, mostly based upon the suggestions of others. I did double (or even slightly more) the spices listed in the ingredients. I used fresh baby spinach, which gave the saag a beautiful healthy green color. I also only used one onion as I'm not a huge onion fan. I used five skin-on, bone-in chicken thighs and roasted them at 400 degrees until slightly under done. Then I removed the bones and skin and shredded the meat with my hands. I used the rendered fat from the chicken to brown the onions, garlic and ginger and then substituted Chobani plain Greek yoghurt for the milk. I also threw in some homemade paneer (very easy and well worth it). Pretty dang tasty if I do say so myself.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2013

      This recipe is so good I've registered just to rate it! This made one of the best Saags I have ever tasted, and I've tasted a lot. I too like a lot of heat & flavour, so I more or less doubled the spice quantities used, but I can tell that it would've been delicious if I'd stuck to the amount prescribed. I highly recommend this recipe, you'll love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2012

      I just made this and it is very good. The only change I made was not pureeing any of the spinach. I thought it would be more visually appealing to my american guests to see the spinach instead of a green puree. Still lovely and I adore the pureed kind as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2012

      Pretty good. I had to cook mine longer, until the spinach got "creamy". I also increased the spices since we like things hot and super flavorful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2011

      Great recipe. We used fresh tomatoes, and no milk or butter but some crème fraîche which gave it a lovely tangy taste. Will definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2011

      Great authentic recipe, really nice.
      I used cream instead of milk just for more richness.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2011

      Really authentic tasting. Almost as good as the Sag from my favourite Balti house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2011

      This one was good..very close to the flavors in the one I am used to eating.I did feel as though it needed more spices.Not that I like things spicey...thats not it at all.I was a bit bland imho.I will defiantly make again but I think I will follow the spices from Aloo Gobi Mattar - Cauliflower, Pea and Potato Curry. Read more: http://www.food.com/recipe/aloo-gobi-mattar-cauliflower-pea-and-potato-curry-187408#ixzz1RWUwBCuD. I made this dish as well & I think the spices would carry over perfectly to achieve the amount of flavor I am looking for.Paired with some basmati rice for a great meal.Thanks for posting..I can't wait to make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2010

      I am Brazilian but to me Lamb Saag is the best dish ever. I tried this recipe( with chicken) and added some green peas and loved it. Tasted just like kabab House , the Indian Restaurant that I go to. Next time I will try with lamb. I also replaced milk for yogurt. Will make this dish over and over again. If you are a Indian food lover, like me, you will love it too. Now I will look for a recipe for Tik Tikka Masal ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2010

      we enjoyed this recipe. will make again, perhaps with a bit more spice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2010

      This is easy and tasty. I used about half the amount of meat but kept the rest about the same. I used frozen spinach (26 oz total), and so did not add any water at any stage since it releases a lot of juice. I also used only minimal oil but did finish it with the butter as written. I thought the spicing worked well--enough to make it interesting and flavorful without overwhelming. I served this over millet and added some toasty almonds as a garnish on top. The leftovers were good, too. --M

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2010

      I have been trying to make saag for years and this is the only recipe that has ever worked! It is addictive. I serve it with cilantro sauce (whirl cilantro, green onion & jalapeno in food processor, then blend in plain yogurt and a splash of lemon juice), basmati rice and spiced mashed buttercup squash. It freezes well, too, although the spinach turns dark.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Saag Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (492 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 599.2
     
    Calories from Fat 330
    55%
    Total Fat 36.7 g
    56%
    Saturated Fat 8.6 g
    43%
    Cholesterol 120.8 mg
    40%
    Sodium 870.9 mg
    36%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.8 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 11.4 g
    45%
    Sugars 4.7 g
    18%
    Protein 44.7 g
    89%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    gingerroot

    cardamom pods

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites