Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sa Kahlua Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sa Kahlua

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on July 09, 2006

      This is truly the best Kahlua recipe I have ever used. I always doubled the recipe and then refill the bottles that the vodka was in. I get three and 1/2 bottles when I refill the bottles. The best coffee that I ever used was Nescafe dark Columbian. When I can't find that I have used Kroger's 100% Columbian. I gave the Kahlua as Christmas presents and am still making it as gifts. I save pretty bottles throughout the year and clean the labels off. I made labels of my own and then tied pretty ribbons around the lid. All my friends and relatives are very impressed that I can make Kahlua. Thanks for a wonderful recipe. Ma'am

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2008

      One word.. "Superb" I let the syrup mix reduce to half its size and let it cool, got a wee bit nervous when it was a alightly thick syrup, however had fingers crossed that the vodka would sort that, I had to whisk in the vodka and vanilla for about 5-10 mins, then poured it into a wine bottle. Absolutley delish it was such a shame that there was a little bit left over that wouldnt fit in the bottle. Riff Raff, Well done and thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2008

      Riff Raff I want you to know that I loved this recipe! I followed the ingredient proportions exactly, except maybe I used a little less sugar and a little more vodka. I let the syrupy mixture simmer for at least 3-3.5 hours. I let it cool overnight on the stove and then added the vanilla and vodka in the morning. After work this day I couldn't wait to get home and try it. I used a cocktail size glass, filled it with ice, poured kahlua half-way, and topped it with half and half milk. Decadent!! I will be on the look-out for pretty glass bottles to fill and give for Christmas gifts! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2008

      I made a triple batch to fill bottles for everyone at work for Christmas. VERY good!! I would change the coffee when I do it again, difficult to find a good instant in my area. Sweeter than normal Kahlua, but very good! Everyone loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2007

      Wow-I can't wait to try this-I just passed this on to a friend-Thanx for sharing!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2006

      I've tried several homemade Kahluas but I think this is my new favorite. It was just a little bit sweet for me the first time I made it, even though it's one of the less sugary versions on Zaar (I'm a salty & spicy gal, lol) so I decreased the sugar to 2-1/2 cups the second time and it was perfect. I admit I did use semi-cheapo instant coffee, but I'm close enough to the border that it was at least cheapo Mexican coffee instead of cheapo American coffee so perhaps the authenticity outweighed the overall cheapo factor? ;o) As made, it came to 1 c. more Kahlua than the 750ml bottle I was refilling; just enough extra to do a little splurge baking. Some day maybe I'll even manage to let it sit for the requisite two weeks (ahem). Thanks so much for an easy fix for my favorite liqueur, Riff!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2006

      Wow! This was great! I made six double batches and gave them to my friends for Xmas... I waited for their responses and they all loved it! Thank you! But now they say they want it every year!!!! More to come I guess!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2006

      I love this.Will make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2005

      Thank you, thank you!! Maybe it was the name "S.A. Kahlua" that drew me - grew up in San Antonio, TX - whatever it was, I'm so glad I chose to make this one! I've made 2 double batches, one with regular coffee & one with decaf. I strongly recommend this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2005

      This is delicious! We like it especially with cream and ice or in hot chocolate, yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2005

      Fabulous! I have made two batches of this kahlua and it has received compliments from my South African friend. The only thing is, I found myself adding more vodka at the end because I couldn't taste the alcohol at all-it seemed like it was just sweet coffee syrup. This could be saying more about me than the recipe, however. Definitely keep an eye on the pot towards the end because, like another reviewer has said, it gets very syrupy and has a tendency to boil over.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2004

      Delicious drink. Followed the recipe exactly. I had to keep a close eye on it near the end of cooking as it got very syrupy and tried to boil over. Definitely will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2004

      Thank you,Thank you,this is the real deal here!!I followed the recipe precisely except I doubled it and it gave me 3 1/2 fifths of the lovely concoction.I will never buy the expensive stuff again,and this will make wonderful Christmas gifts. Now I'm off to find a amaretto recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2004

      I'm not buying kahlua again! This is so good. I tried this as an experiment for Christmas presents (I know, I know, it's only April but I start early planning Christmas) This was my first try at making a liqour. Now off to find other liqours to try because I have a b52 cake that I want to make. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sa Kahlua

    Serving Size: 1 (2018 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2291.8
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    14%
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 21.6 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 406.9 g
    135%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 400.7 g
    1602%
    Protein 1.7 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes