21 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

*Outstanding* I tried really really hard to wait to have a piece with dinner, but it smelled so good I couldn't wait! I do not have an ABM so I had to adjust the technique a little. I put the warm water in the bowl of my mixer and sprinkled the yeast over it. After about 5 minutes my yeast started to foam and I then added the remaining ingredients in the order listed in the recipe. I beat the dough with a dough hook on speed 4 for 5 minutes and I did add an additional cup of bread flour. The dough was still a bit tacky but I left it be. I greased a large bowl with olive oil and added the dough, flipping it over to oil all sides. I covered loosely with plastic wrap and let rise for 1 hour in a warm place. After the hour I punched the dough down (it rose nicely) and formed into an oblong loaf on a cookie sheet lightly sprinkled with cornmeal. I sprayed the same platic wrap with cooking spray and lightly covered the loaf. It was ready to bake in 32 minutes. I scored the loaf a few time with a sharp knife and spritzed with cold water. I baked the bread at 400 F and spritzed with cold water at 3 minutes, 6 minutes, and 9 minutes. I continued baking for an additional 16 minutes (25 minutes total baking)until it sounded hollow when tapped. Basically I followed bread baking techniques I have seen here on Zaar. You have a winner of a recipe here Susie, I am saving it to my Favorites Cookbook :) Thanks so much for sharing- Nick's Mom

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brenda. December 02, 2007

Oh, WONDERFUL rye bread. I made it on Saturday and it was so good right out of the oven that I stood there and had three big pieces. Then I was so full that I was done for the day, but what a way to go. (grin) It is a very wet dough, so I ended up tossing in about a half cup of leftover oat flour to get it to gather, which gave the finished loaf a gorgeous coarseness that I loved. I'm not a fan of caraway, so I used dried minced onion flakes instead. Baked at 350 for about 50-55 minutes. Delicious fresh, toasted, dipped into soup, and any other way you can think to eat it. This will definitely be a regular for me.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Erin R. February 02, 2010

This was perfect and I didn't have to add any more flour. The bread didn't taste like it was made in an ABM-because let's face it, it's obvious when many breads are made in an ABM . Fresh sage from our garden although next time I would either increase the amount or skip it because I couldn't taste the sage. Dark balsamic, Barbados-style molasses, local butter. Perfect accompaniment to soup. Reviewed for our VIP for Veg Tag/October.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl October 03, 2011

Wonderful loaf, the flavor was mild and yum. Processed on dough cycle then formed intoa loaf, let rise abut 30 min. baked at 400 for 25 min. Made for ZWT7.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BakinBaby June 25, 2011

Very tasty! I made this to the dough stage in my ABM, then turned out into a loaf pan to finish in the oven. The top got a bit dark, but I think I should have baked at a lower temp. I had to add about a 1/4 cup flour to get a workable consistency to the dough- even so, it was very wet when I took it out of the machine. Unlike other reviewers, I had no problem with the loaf falling- I got a nice, fluffy texture throughout. Made for ZWT7- Emerald City Shakers

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IngridH June 18, 2011

OK, so my bad. . .it came out of the ABM with the top sunken in. That being said, it was absolutely DELISH and hubby/I ate half the loaf (the dented part) with about half a stick of butter. You talk about good eatin'. Not sure what happened to my dear loaf, but it was surely user error. I was so pleased with the sweet taste of the bread. I am using it (the good half LOL) tomorrow to make Reuben Sandwiches. Can't wait! Made for ZWT6, Team SSaSSy. UPDATE: My hubby can't get enough of this bread. The Reubens were outstanding and this makes amazing toast as well (I loved it with raspberry jam). THANKS for a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride June 03, 2010

I made this bread for a rye boat at a christmas party this past year, and have made it...7 times since. It is simple and absolutely delicious. It also made great christmas gifts (separated the recipe into smaller loaves). As noted below, the dough does get very tacky (at least when made in a mixer), which tends to lead to a denser, very moist bread. For a fluffier/drier recipe, I like to add about 1 extra cup of bread flour.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fidgety smidgets May 03, 2010

This bread is DELICIOUS-a bit sweet and savory all at once! I used dried dalmatian sage leaves instead of fresh-my only change-couldnt find fresh. It was a rainy day so had to add 2 T. more bread flour. A great addition to my dinner that included lots of spicy mustard w/ BBQ Brats 'n Beer, Baked German Potato Salad, and German Cucumber Salad. Thank you , Susie D, for a great recipe!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs.Jack August 20, 2008

I must give stars for taste because this is a delicious rye bread. I really loved the addition of fresh sage! I made the bread 3 times this weekend in my bread machine, on the Whole Wheat Medium setting. The first time I used powdered buttermilk that I mixed with milk. The loaf caved in about 2/3 of the way, so for the second attempt I used real buttermilk but with the same result. I made it for the third time today & added 2 TBL of brown sugar & used the Basic Light setting on the bread machine. Still great flavor & this time it rose up & over the sides of the pan, then fell about 1/3 of the way back down. The texture this time was still quite dense but a lot softer & much more moist than the first two attempts. I've used up the buttermilk this time, but I'll be trying this recipe again in the future using the KA & loaf pans in the oven. Thanks for posting, Susie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Tinkerbell** July 07, 2008

I'm not going to rate this because I made it without a breadmachine. I am a beginning breadmaker and I'm sure I mishandled the dough. The flavor was superb but my texture went all wonky. I will try again and update when I can. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
little_wing June 17, 2008
Rye Buttermilk Bread