Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Rye Buttermilk Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Rye Buttermilk Bread

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on December 02, 2007

      *Outstanding* I tried really really hard to wait to have a piece with dinner, but it smelled so good I couldn't wait! I do not have an ABM so I had to adjust the technique a little. I put the warm water in the bowl of my mixer and sprinkled the yeast over it. After about 5 minutes my yeast started to foam and I then added the remaining ingredients in the order listed in the recipe. I beat the dough with a dough hook on speed 4 for 5 minutes and I did add an additional cup of bread flour. The dough was still a bit tacky but I left it be. I greased a large bowl with olive oil and added the dough, flipping it over to oil all sides. I covered loosely with plastic wrap and let rise for 1 hour in a warm place. After the hour I punched the dough down (it rose nicely) and formed into an oblong loaf on a cookie sheet lightly sprinkled with cornmeal. I sprayed the same platic wrap with cooking spray and lightly covered the loaf. It was ready to bake in 32 minutes. I scored the loaf a few time with a sharp knife and spritzed with cold water. I baked the bread at 400 F and spritzed with cold water at 3 minutes, 6 minutes, and 9 minutes. I continued baking for an additional 16 minutes (25 minutes total baking)until it sounded hollow when tapped. Basically I followed bread baking techniques I have seen here on Zaar. You have a winner of a recipe here Susie, I am saving it to my Favorites Cookbook :) Thanks so much for sharing- Nick's Mom

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2010

      Oh, WONDERFUL rye bread. I made it on Saturday and it was so good right out of the oven that I stood there and had three big pieces. Then I was so full that I was done for the day, but what a way to go. (grin) It is a very wet dough, so I ended up tossing in about a half cup of leftover oat flour to get it to gather, which gave the finished loaf a gorgeous coarseness that I loved. I'm not a fan of caraway, so I used dried minced onion flakes instead. Baked at 350 for about 50-55 minutes. Delicious fresh, toasted, dipped into soup, and any other way you can think to eat it. This will definitely be a regular for me.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2011

      This was perfect and I didn't have to add any more flour. The bread didn't taste like it was made in an ABM-because let's face it, it's obvious when many breads are made in an ABM . Fresh sage from our garden although next time I would either increase the amount or skip it because I couldn't taste the sage. Dark balsamic, Barbados-style molasses, local butter. Perfect accompaniment to soup. Reviewed for our VIP for Veg Tag/October.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2011

      Wonderful loaf, the flavor was mild and yum. Processed on dough cycle then formed intoa loaf, let rise abut 30 min. baked at 400 for 25 min. Made for ZWT7.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2011

      Very tasty! I made this to the dough stage in my ABM, then turned out into a loaf pan to finish in the oven. The top got a bit dark, but I think I should have baked at a lower temp. I had to add about a 1/4 cup flour to get a workable consistency to the dough- even so, it was very wet when I took it out of the machine. Unlike other reviewers, I had no problem with the loaf falling- I got a nice, fluffy texture throughout. Made for ZWT7- Emerald City Shakers

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2010

      OK, so my bad. . .it came out of the ABM with the top sunken in. That being said, it was absolutely DELISH and hubby/I ate half the loaf (the dented part) with about half a stick of butter. You talk about good eatin'. Not sure what happened to my dear loaf, but it was surely user error. I was so pleased with the sweet taste of the bread. I am using it (the good half LOL) tomorrow to make Reuben Sandwiches. Can't wait! Made for ZWT6, Team SSaSSy. UPDATE: My hubby can't get enough of this bread. The Reubens were outstanding and this makes amazing toast as well (I loved it with raspberry jam). THANKS for a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2010

      I made this bread for a rye boat at a christmas party this past year, and have made it...7 times since. It is simple and absolutely delicious. It also made great christmas gifts (separated the recipe into smaller loaves). As noted below, the dough does get very tacky (at least when made in a mixer), which tends to lead to a denser, very moist bread. For a fluffier/drier recipe, I like to add about 1 extra cup of bread flour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2008

      This bread is DELICIOUS-a bit sweet and savory all at once! I used dried dalmatian sage leaves instead of fresh-my only change-couldnt find fresh. It was a rainy day so had to add 2 T. more bread flour. A great addition to my dinner that included lots of spicy mustard w/ BBQ Brats 'n Beer, Baked German Potato Salad, and German Cucumber Salad. Thank you , Susie D, for a great recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2008

      I must give stars for taste because this is a delicious rye bread. I really loved the addition of fresh sage! I made the bread 3 times this weekend in my bread machine, on the Whole Wheat Medium setting. The first time I used powdered buttermilk that I mixed with milk. The loaf caved in about 2/3 of the way, so for the second attempt I used real buttermilk but with the same result. I made it for the third time today & added 2 TBL of brown sugar & used the Basic Light setting on the bread machine. Still great flavor & this time it rose up & over the sides of the pan, then fell about 1/3 of the way back down. The texture this time was still quite dense but a lot softer & much more moist than the first two attempts. I've used up the buttermilk this time, but I'll be trying this recipe again in the future using the KA & loaf pans in the oven. Thanks for posting, Susie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2008

      I'm not going to rate this because I made it without a breadmachine. I am a beginning breadmaker and I'm sure I mishandled the dough. The flavor was superb but my texture went all wonky. I will try again and update when I can. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2008

      Very excellent bread for the bread machine. It came out perfect and was very flavorful and terrific with my meal and on its own as a snack with preserves. Thank you for posting this! ZWT4 review.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2008

      This was a lovely rye bread. I'd never made it before and I have to say I am not really a fan of it but even I had a slice or two. I do not have a bread maker so I made it thusly: Heated all of my we ingredients in a sauce pan to 110 degrees (water, milk, vinegar, butter, molasses, and honey) I added that to my yeast and let it sponge five minutes then I added in the flour, mixing with my bread hook attachment. Had to add extra flour because it was a super humid day. I had issues with it rising today but when I baked it I came out with a really nice loaf. Can't recall how long I had it in the oven, just kept checking on it till it was done. Going to have some Rueben sandwiches with this. Thanks for posting. Made for my Babes for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2007

      Perfect light Rye! I picked this recipe b/c I had a large thing of buttermilk sitting in my fridge, but this will be a staple recipe for a very light rye. I didn't have any caraway seeds, but will be sure to make it again in order to include them. This is a luscious bread with a great texture and fantastic rise. I made a breadbowl and served it with Awesome Cheese Dip in Bread Bowl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2006

      Fantastic recipe - the bread is scrummy, dark, rich and sweet (without being too sweet). I haven't yet made it with the sage, but I'm happy with it as is. It is a lovely soft bread, too, which keeps very well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2006

      I used my bread machine and this came out great. I served it with hot german mustard as a side dish to wurst and saurkraut. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2006

      Great recipe ;thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2006

      This rye bread baked up into a tall loaf with both great flavor and tender texture! I reduced the yeast to 1 1/2 teaspoons and included 1 cup whole wheat flour with the bread flour. Then I found it necessary to increase the total amount of flour by 3/4 cup (for 4 1/4 cups total: 1 cup rye, 1 cup whole wheat, and 2 1/4 cups bread flours) to get a workable dough, which I then kneaded in my KitchenAid stand mixer. Finally, I baked the loaf in a 9x5" pan at 350° for 35-40 minutes ~ Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2006

      We really liked this bread!! It came together quickly and tasted great!! The top of my breadbaker lifted during the cooking so next time I want to try this in loaf pans. Thanks for a great bread!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2004

      i used 3 tbsp of yeast and this rose up very high and light. very similar to my own posted recipe, but using contest ingredients.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2004

      I'm very pleased with this bread! Lovely rye with caraway flavor and good texture. Couldn't really discern the sage, which means I'd probably increase the amount next time. I used whole wheat flour instead of bread flour-- it took about 3 1/2 cups of whole wheat flour with the 1 cup of rye to achieve a loaf that wasn't too sticky. (Perhaps that wouldn't have been an issue if I'd stuck with the bread flour.) Had turkey reubens for dinner tonight using this bread...delightful! Thanks for your contribution to the RSC-- I'll be adding it to my cookbook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Rye Buttermilk Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (900 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1992.0
     
    Calories from Fat 274
    13%
    Total Fat 30.5 g
    47%
    Saturated Fat 16.1 g
    80%
    Cholesterol 65.9 mg
    21%
    Sodium 2696.6 mg
    112%
    Total Carbohydrate 378.7 g
    126%
    Dietary Fiber 25.8 g
    103%
    Sugars 49.7 g
    199%
    Protein 52.2 g
    104%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites