Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ruth's White Bean and Ham Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ruth's White Bean and Ham Soup

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on December 07, 2010

      I was looking for a soup recipe to use up some leftover ham and happened upon this one. My husband made the soup and it was absolutely delicious! He added an extra can of beans and an extra 1/2 cup of water to make it go further. Good thing, because we bickered over who would take the leftovers for lunch the next day!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2010

      Excellent soup! Everyone asked me to make it again. I only made a few minor changes. Instead of dicing the carrots, I ran them through my salad shooter using the wavy cut blade. Then I sauteed them and the onion in a little bit of olive oil. Afterward, I placed all the ingredients in my crock-pot and placed it in the refrigerator overnight. On Sunday morning, I set the crock-pot on low, so we came home to a lovely lunch of hot soup and 100% Whole Wheat Bread. This was a tasty way to use up the leftover ham from New Year's, but I'm sure it will be just as good when I use a ham steak in it. We all liked how the broth was nice and thick because of the mashed beans. Next time I'll probably add one more can of beans just to stretch the soup a bit more. Thanks for posting, Melissa! UPDATE: if you are in a hurry, canned carrots work beautifully too!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2011

      Great soup. I made very few changes. I sauteed the veggies in olive oil instead of butter. I put in 3 fresh garlic cloves in at the end of the sauteing. I used fat free low sodium chicken broth instead of the water. After all was cooking and before I put in the ham, I used an immersion blender to blend some of the beans instead of mashing them. The I let it simmer for an hour. YUMMM

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2010

      Wonderful soup and it freezes well, too!! I used more carrots that suggested and a pepper blend as I was out of white pepper. It's great to have a soup recipe that can be ready to eat in just a few minutes. Next time I will make it and L-C Gluten Free Basic Flax Meal Focaccia Bread (recipe 160607). I discovered the bread recipe this week and made it for a luncheon. It's easy and very yummy, and would go great with this soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2010

      Delicious. Really hit the spot on this freezing cold day. I love Marg's idea of using the crock-pot. I could throw this together in the morning,take it to work and have an excellent lunch for the gang with very little effort. Or expense.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2009

      Quick to make and tastes delicious! I loved the thick and chunky texture from the mashed beans. I added some garlic but that's all I did differently. Thanx for posting this recipe. It will come in handy this winter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2009

      Oh I love bean soup! I never make it because of the need to soak the beans etc., now I don't have to! :) Yippee! I made as directed except to use chicken broth instead of water, and didn't add the salt. I'll be making this again often! Thank you Mama Ruth and Melly! Delicious! Made for KK Fall Cookathon

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2008

      For soup or stews I never drain the liquid from canned beans, yes, I know that it has salt but it also has a lot of nutrition as well. I too used chicken base for the water and less of it as i didn't drain the beans. It made a rich tasting and hearty soup that was ready lickity split. We love bean soups and this is one that I'll make again. It would work with any beans that you might have or prefer at the moment. Made for Santa's Secret in Photo Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2008

      Make this often, especially during times when the budget is tight and I must use up pantry items. It's a great recipe as it uses every day ingredients and is very filling. I usually serve this with some cornbread or biscuits on the side. Also, I use 2 to 2 1/2 cups chicken broth to add more flavor, add 1-2 cloves minced garlic, and sometimes I use diced kielbasa if I'm out of ham. Personally, I like it with a bay leaf, but have made it without, as well; it's always delicious! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2008

      A very quick and filling soup to make on a cold winter day. I liked the combination of ham, beans, onion and carrots, but didn't care for the flavor of the bay leaf in this soup. Update 02/25/08: Made this again using the revised recipe and am updating to 4 stars. I also had some celery I needed to use up and decided to add it to the soup. This now reminds me of the bean soup my mother would make while I was growing up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ruth's White Bean and Ham Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (274 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 274.2
     
    Calories from Fat 93
    33%
    Total Fat 10.3 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 4.7 g
    23%
    Cholesterol 41.9 mg
    13%
    Sodium 267.2 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.2 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 8.8 g
    35%
    Sugars 1.4 g
    5%
    Protein 18.9 g
    37%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites