Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ruth's Homemade Vanilla Extract Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ruth's Homemade Vanilla Extract

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on August 06, 2008

      I love this!!!!!!!!! I used one bottle of Grey Goose Vodka and 18 organic vanilla beans. I started using it after 2 months. After 3 months of steeping, it was awesome. I don't plan on taking the vanilla beans out. I'm just going to leave them in the bottle and use the vanilla as I need it. Thank you so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2010

      I've been using and giving this extract for about 2 years now. Everyone loves it and it really makes a nice gift. I'm getting ready to buy new vanilla beans and vodka to get ready for this Christmas!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2007

      Hi Mirj I loved this recipe !Thanx a million !You & Kittencal are my all time favourites on Recipezaar !I LOVED your witty comments on the Pineapple Upside down Cake !I am so glad i meet people like you & Kitten on Zaar !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2007

      20 stars! If there was one singe recipe on Zaar that needs a photograph *where you could SMELL what you see, THIS recipe is IT!* I have only had my vanilla beans in the vodka for a little over 4 weeks and the aroma when you open the bottle is 400% vanilla! Wow, I am inpressed! I actually confess to sneaking a wee whiff once or twice a week .. just to check that I'm not dreaming and that it IS still THAT good.. It's not only good, so far, it just keeps getting better! Please see my rating system: 5 excellent stars for a super, mega, amazing recipe that's sooo easy you will wonder why no one ever told you about this years ago. I'm hooked on this one! Thanks Mirj!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2011

      This truly is a treasure! Vanilla extract can be so expensive...but so can vanilla beans. But I found a source on the internet (through amazon - it was rated very well) and got a nice bundle of beans for about $15 - pretty good for a liter of extract! The extract steeped for two months and now smells delicious! I've been using it in all my baking. Thank you! This is so wonderful - I keep making it and using it. Will never buy store bought again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2010

      A great recipe! It is almost impossible to find a good quality vanilla extract here in Finland. Also a decent quality vanilla beans, like Santa Maria costs a fortune in here. I bought them from Estonia with a 1/3 of price and used them to make this vanilla extract.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2010

      This makes wonderful vanilla. I will never buy store bought again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2010

      This is what I will be using from now on. Excellent in anything that calls for Vanilla!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2009

      I started using my vanilla after it set for 2 months. All my baking now has a better flavor I am sure, and I will keep brewing more vanilla, this next batch I will try with rum. I bought madagascar vanilla beans on ebay, as the ones in the stores here are just too expensive. I am happy that I have the real vanilla now, but am just not overly excited about the baking results, or maybe I am not paying attention to how much better my baking tastes.Perhaps I need to try more baking variety...... anyhow, thankyou for posting this great recipe and idea!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2009

      Oh My Goodness! I loved this vanilla extract. My son enjoyed watching the vodka change colors as it steeped. I made some of this for myself and some to give as gifts for Christmas. Everyone who received this as a gift was thrilled. They told me how much they enjoyed using this. I am on my second batch with the bottle I used for gifts. Since seeing Ina Garten make her own vanilla extract, I had wanted to make some. I am so thrilled I found this recipe and that Mirj was so kind to share it. Sorry my review is so late. Thanks again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2009

      Looking for vanilla beans a while back to make some Kaluha, I found a site that got me seven Madagascar beans (no shipping!!) at a VERY reasonable price. As it was more than I needed I started looking for other things to use them for. While I do not bake much, I found a scaled down version of this recipe. I find that I am now using more extract than I ever did. This stuff is awesome, much cheaper, much better than anything you'll find. Quality control at its finest. The fact that the beans can be re-used, makes this just that much more economical.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2009

      I started a bottle of this back in August, and used it for all of my holiday baking- it is wonderful! I'll never buy commercial extract again. Thanks Mirj!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2008

      Mmmmmm...!!!! I just started two bottles of this, and I just KNOW it will be fantastic! I got vanilla beans from "www.organic-vanilla.com" (The Organic Vanilla Bean Co)... if you're wanting to make some extract, I suggest this website to purchase beans...MUCH better than store-bought! Thanks, Mirj! (and thank Ruth for me, too!) : )

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2007

      I would give this 20 gold stars, if possible. Never knew one could make their own vanilla. Now I do and have the Number One receipe to do it with. It has the best: aroma, flavor, looks and ease of doing that I have ever known. I can't say enough about it; well, those of you who know.....know. Thank you sooo much for sharing this receipe and directions. oooo. so good!!!! Angelcook

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2007

      What a treasure of a recipe! Thank you so much, Mirj!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2007

      I've made this. All I can say is that you'll never go back to expensive vanilla and it takes less of this than commercial vanilla. Unfortunately, I broke my bottle after using only a small amount. Talk about heart break! What a shame to throw away 2 months. Do try this, though. You won't be sorry.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2006

      This is fabulous! I started this back in October and let it steep, 1 liter of vodka with 18 vanilla beans. I was ready to use this within 2 weeks, it smelled so good! I restrained myself, though, and let it steep for the full two months. Then I have been straining small amounts and refilling a smaller bottle as I need. I've been able to LESS vanilla in recipes because this is so potent.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2004

      This is THE most potent Vanilla Extract recipes I have EVER come across. 50gms of Vanilla Beans is about 12-18 depending on which grade you are using. I usually shake my bottle before dispensing the required amount as this distributes the vanilla oil floating at the top of the booze. Great recipe, Mirj!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2014

      Update - sorry didn't realize I never came back to give it the 5 stars it deserves. I've topped it off several times since the first batch. Definitely an easy way to make some great vanilla extract!! ok - I started this ~Aug 20. It has already turned a light shade of brown. I figure by October I'll be able to do the stars on this review - but I didn't want to forget which recipe I followed (as if I could, I LOVE your directions). I made a flask for me and a small bottle for my daughter. I'm excited!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2011

      Works wonderfully! Bought a pound of beans from Amazon to make the vanilla extract in large batches, this way I'll have enough to make several bottles for holiday gifts. Tastes wonderful in homemade goodies :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ruth's Homemade Vanilla Extract

    Serving Size: 1 (935 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2159.6
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 9.3 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vanilla beans

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes