21 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I love this!!!!!!!!! I used one bottle of Grey Goose Vodka and 18 organic vanilla beans. I started using it after 2 months. After 3 months of steeping, it was awesome. I don't plan on taking the vanilla beans out. I'm just going to leave them in the bottle and use the vanilla as I need it. Thank you so much for sharing.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LoveGoodFood August 06, 2008

I've been using and giving this extract for about 2 years now. Everyone loves it and it really makes a nice gift. I'm getting ready to buy new vanilla beans and vodka to get ready for this Christmas!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Divine Nature January 15, 2010

Hi Mirj I loved this recipe !Thanx a million !You & Kittencal are my all time favourites on Recipezaar !I LOVED your witty comments on the Pineapple Upside down Cake !I am so glad i meet people like you & Kitten on Zaar !

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sheeba.pillai December 26, 2007

20 stars! If there was one singe recipe on Zaar that needs a photograph *where you could SMELL what you see, THIS recipe is IT!* I have only had my vanilla beans in the vodka for a little over 4 weeks and the aroma when you open the bottle is 400% vanilla! Wow, I am inpressed! I actually confess to sneaking a wee whiff once or twice a week .. just to check that I'm not dreaming and that it IS still THAT good.. It's not only good, so far, it just keeps getting better! Please see my rating system: 5 excellent stars for a super, mega, amazing recipe that's sooo easy you will wonder why no one ever told you about this years ago. I'm hooked on this one! Thanks Mirj!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kiwidutch March 01, 2007

This truly is a treasure! Vanilla extract can be so expensive...but so can vanilla beans. But I found a source on the internet (through amazon - it was rated very well) and got a nice bundle of beans for about $15 - pretty good for a liter of extract! The extract steeped for two months and now smells delicious! I've been using it in all my baking. Thank you! This is so wonderful - I keep making it and using it. Will never buy store bought again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MA HIKER January 23, 2011

A great recipe! It is almost impossible to find a good quality vanilla extract here in Finland. Also a decent quality vanilla beans, like Santa Maria costs a fortune in here. I bought them from Estonia with a 1/3 of price and used them to make this vanilla extract.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tomas.erikson February 20, 2010

This makes wonderful vanilla. I will never buy store bought again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Made from scratch January 26, 2010

This is what I will be using from now on. Excellent in anything that calls for Vanilla!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SheilaCanney January 16, 2010

I started using my vanilla after it set for 2 months. All my baking now has a better flavor I am sure, and I will keep brewing more vanilla, this next batch I will try with rum. I bought madagascar vanilla beans on ebay, as the ones in the stores here are just too expensive. I am happy that I have the real vanilla now, but am just not overly excited about the baking results, or maybe I am not paying attention to how much better my baking tastes.Perhaps I need to try more baking variety...... anyhow, thankyou for posting this great recipe and idea!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lilypads May 17, 2009

Oh My Goodness! I loved this vanilla extract. My son enjoyed watching the vodka change colors as it steeped. I made some of this for myself and some to give as gifts for Christmas. Everyone who received this as a gift was thrilled. They told me how much they enjoyed using this. I am on my second batch with the bottle I used for gifts. Since seeing Ina Garten make her own vanilla extract, I had wanted to make some. I am so thrilled I found this recipe and that Mirj was so kind to share it. Sorry my review is so late. Thanks again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Southern Rose May 13, 2009
Ruth's Homemade Vanilla Extract