Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ruth's German Boiled Meatballs and Gravy Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ruth's German Boiled Meatballs and Gravy

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on November 04, 2013

      Absolutely delicious! I made this with just ground beef and it was fantastic. My hubby and kids ate it all up! Thanks for your great recipe. Will definitely be making this often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2013

      This was a hearty meal that my children enjoyed. I will add more seasoning the next time, because while I liked the creamy gravy over rice, I thought the meatballs themselves could use more seasoning. I am thinking of adding garlic and seasoned salt, maybe using beef broth in place of some of the water; I am not sure what else. I will definitely make it again, with modifications. PS, I was a little unsure about what kind of pan to cook this in. I went with a fairly deep skillet because the amount of water required was lost in the stock pot I first tried. They came out just fine, even though a few of the meatballs were not submerged in the liquid.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2013

      This is the best recipe I have ever tasted! The meatballs were moist and I only had ground beef and they still turned out awesome! I did add sour cream and Worcestershire sauce, but other than that, I kept it the same. I have 3 kids, ages 5,6, and 7 and they absolutely loved this. They asked for it again, for tomorrow, lol! We ate this over spaetzle

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2011

      Delicious! These meatballs were so easy to make and the smell that filled the house when they were simmering made us very hungry! There was so much gravy and we didn't want to waste it. We had these on whole wheat toast and poured the gravy over top, like an open-faced sandwich. We also had Mashed Potatoes Twice-Baked on the side. Made for ZWT7. Thanks Hokies! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2010

      This was terrific and so simple to make on a sticky afternoon when i had ground beef and no idea what to do with it. Instead of water, i used beef stock

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2010

      Very good, although the meatballs were not seasoned as strongly as we would like. Next time, I'll flavor them more. The gravy was delicious, and plentiful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2009

      My mother made a close version when I grew up and she called it "Koenigsberger Klopse". It is delicious and easy and very much like yours. I now use Meatballs in Caper Sauce (Konigsberger Klopse) which is speedier than my mother's version. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2009

      This is a wonderful OAMC recipe for a single diner. I did make extra gravy and divided in 3 portions.To make 18 I patted the meat evenly in a 9X9 pan, cut into 3" squares, then cut them each in half, and rolled into meatballs. Perfectly portioned! I made 3 portions (6 meatballs each) of the finished recipe and froze 2 portions. I ate 3 meatballs with mashed potatoes and yummy gravy for dinner. Two days later, I had a quick meal when I got home from work: reheated the last 3 meatballs and gravy with a dab of sour cream mixed in, boiled some noodles, and heated some green beans. I'm looking forward to using the other 2-meal portions I have in the freezer. Hokie, this recipe is true comfort food. Made and enjoyed for PAC Spring '09.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2008

      Made for the *Pet Parade* event, this is meat & potatoes comfort food ~ an easy fix that is family, budget & ingredient-friendly. I am a bit confused over my yield. I made a full recipe, adding only an amt of garlic powder = to 1 clove to the meat mix. Altho I made my meatballs larger than I thot I should, I still had slightly less than half the meat mix left as I made the 18th meatball & made a sml meatloaf from the rest. 1/2 C flour thickened the broth well & I will prob reduce it to 1/3 C next time. It was tasty, warming & made my M&P DH very happy. Thx for sharing your recipe w/us. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ruth's German Boiled Meatballs and Gravy

    Serving Size: 1 (404 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 417.7
     
    Calories from Fat 224
    53%
    Total Fat 24.9 g
    38%
    Saturated Fat 9.6 g
    48%
    Cholesterol 146.9 mg
    48%
    Sodium 1089.2 mg
    45%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.8 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 1.0 g
    4%
    Protein 32.9 g
    65%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes