Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ruth's Flax Seed Balls Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ruth's Flax Seed Balls

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on January 24, 2004

      Wow! What a wonderful and nutritious treat! I have made these twice now for breakfast and the second time I used molasses rather than the maple syrup. The molasses is not only better for you, it adds some extra moisture which helped the balls stay together a little better. Thank you, Missy Wombat for a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2004

      Yum Indeed!!! Now I can eat "candy" and be healthy! These delicious balls of powerful nutrition taste like a sinful treat, but are sooooo good for you. They provide large doses of calcium, potassium and Omega 3 and 6 oils to keep our arteries clean and supple. The recommended daily dose of flax is 3-6 tablespoons. Thank you sooooo much MissyWombat for posting this wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2011

      Very tasty way to get the additional flax in my diet! I noticed some people were having trouble getting the balls to hold together. I think the problem might be that the directions on amount of flax used is a little confusing. When I put 1/2 c. of flax seed in my VitaMix I noticed that after I ground it the amount doubled in bulk (ie: the 1/2 c. flax seed was now 1 c.). So, I measured 1/2 c. flax seed AFTER it had been ground. Then I ground my sesame and sunflower seeds as the recipe states. Since my carob was lumpy & hard (must've gotten damp at some point) and my raw coconut was chunky I ended up putting everything back in the VitaMix for one last whirl. I emptied all this into a bowl and added the honey and mixed with a mixing spoon. Everything stuck together nicely. I used a small cookie scoop (like the old fashioned ice cream scoops) and it made 12 balls quick as could be and I nibbled on the little bit that was leftover. No messy hands this way! Thanks so much for helping to get the little extra flax to go down easier!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2004

      I made two batches of these, one with regular honey for my husband and one with sugar-free "honey" for me (to accommodate my low carb diet). Both turned out fantastic. This is an excellent and easy recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2003

      Yum! These were quick and easy to make. I used everything listed plus a total of 5 TB of honey to make this sweeter and to hold together better. Next time I will try this with maple syrup. (So far, I could only find toasted carob powder) My guests liked these too. I was tempted to make a double batch, however the oil in the flax seed becomes less potent if they are not eaten right away. I can see that I will be making these every few days- It is good and tasty way to increase your flax seed oil consumption.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2010

      These are totally worth making. I keep them in the freezer as a yummy way to get more Omega-3s in my family's diet, and they never last long. Last time I used maple syrup but this time I subbed brown rice syrup and it worked well. Yes, they taste healthy but I'd much rather snack on these than take daily shots of flax oil.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2009

      Brilliant. It does stick in your teeth but I don't mind as you keep eating for longer still. I used manuka honey, no sesame seeds or almonds but 3x the sunflower seeds as it was all I had. I did use carob and it was delicious. I'm eating it now - too impatient to put them in the fridge. These are going to be a favourite for a long time. I might try to make ginger flavoured ones as I loooovvvve ginger.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2009

      theese were yummy! i added a bit of peanut butter

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2008

      I've just gone on a semi-raw foods diet, and am so glad I found this recipe! It's great after dinner as "dessert" when you're not in the mood for fruit. It's also a good way to get flax seed and some tasty seeds into your diet. I ground the seeds along with the coconut in my magic bullet, transfered to a small mixing bowl and mixed with a spoon until it all kinda stuck together. If you are prepared for messy hands, you'll LOVE it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2008

      I thought these were good, very nutty, but my boyfriend did not care for this at all. I did not have sunflower seeds, so I subbed almonds. I did not add carob powder and used honey. They were really hard to mold and did not seem like they would hold together, but once frozen, they held together well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2008

      These are excellent and wonderfully simple. I chilled them and then dipped in chocolate. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2007

      The second time I made these, I doubled the recipe. Next time I'll probably make more. The second time, I also realized that I didn't have any more sesame seeds, so I used some pumpkin seeds. Still stellar. I used molasses on the second batch and they turned out great. These are such a great treat! My 1.5 year old likes them too! Thanks so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2007

      These were great!!!!!! I will be making these again and again. i did make some modifications. I used half carob and half cocoa. I also used agave nectar instead of honey. I also added some almonds (raw). For me these were not too sticky or crumbly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2007

      These are SOOOO GOOOD!!!! Next time I make them (which will be VERRRY soooon) I won't touch them until I'm ready to mold them...They're verrrry stickkkky, so kneading the honey in can get really messy...I'd use a spoon next time...I had no problem with them falling apart, I just put in a lot of honey so they'd stick together and they came out perfect... A cute party appetizer if you make little balls and stick a fancy toothpick in them!! Thanks soooo much I love these!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2007

      These were so tasty, I only give them 4 stars because they tend to fall apart and took effort to put together. I did freeze them and they were good, but when left out they are pretty delicate. They did however get eaten up extremely fast so they weren't sitting out long. Thanks for the recipe they were much enjoyed by family and friends. As for substitutions I used cocoa instead of carob, unsweetened coconut, no salt and agave instead of honey/maple.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2007

      This was one of the first recipes that I tried when I first joined recipezaar. At the time I was looking for healthy, natural snacks. I should have reviewed these much earlier because two years later I still think they are great! They require a little bit of effort to put together but it's definitely worth it. I make mine with carob. The only difficulty I found was in sticking them together. Instead of using extra sweetener I used just a really tiny splash of water - don't use too much or it will dilute their sweet nutty flavour. (Obviously you shouldn't eat too many of these in one day as they're high in fat - I usually have 4-5 few balls as a snack between meals). YUM! Thanks Missy Wombat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2006

      I guess I'm one out in left field on this recipe. I made it as said, I used the suggestion of 1 tbsp of cocoa powder instead of carob as I am not a lover of carob. I added a Tbsp of peanut butter to help with the flavor, and while it's not awful, if you aren't ready for the taste of flax it's an eyeopener. Grind a little bit of flax up and that's about the taste with a little flavoring. I was scraping it off the roof of my mouth for about five minutes. It wasn't bad tasting, just not something I'd care to snack on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2006

      These are a great treat full of fibre and good fats, including omega fatty acids. I didn't have carob powder but wanted that chocolatey element so used cocoa powder. Next time I would use about 1 tbsp as it was a little strong (my fault). I also used 1 tbsp honey and 1 tbsp maple syrup which worked well. I stored these in the fridge and they were gone within 2 days. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2005

      Yum!! Delicious and nutritious! I made them without coconut(not a big fan of coconut) and with the carob and half molasses half maple syrup. I'm visiting my parents right now and last night my mom wanted to make something snacky/healthy so I showed her this recipe. She made it using cocoa powder, and half molasses, half maple syrup, and again no coconut. She loved it too! ...just beware of eating the WHOLE recipe by yourself at one sitting, cause it's got a lot of fibre, KWIM? ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2004

      Ooooh, these are gooooood! I had a little trouble getting them to stick together, but I think this was my fault- I ground the seeds quite roughly (about the consistancy of coarse cornmeal) and I think they weren't quite floury enough to be very cohesive. I used honey and maple syrup. I added a Tbs of honey then just added a little of each until I got to a point where I could sort of get them to stick together a little. I was tempted to add some water or something, but I don't really know what would help. Mine weren't sticky enough to roll in coconut (again, I think due to the coarse grind). I used golden flax seeds, so mine were lovely brown balls. Next time I think I might give the carob a shot. Honey-sweet, lightly crunchy, rich but healthy-tasting at the same time. The fact that the flax are ground and mixed with other seeds helps with their mucilaginous tendancies (that is how they sort of get slimey). I plan to give these a shot with molasses as the sweetener/wet ingredient sometime too and perhaps with other seeds or nuts. Thanks for a nice sweet-tooth-satisfying yet healthful snack, Missy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ruth's Flax Seed Balls

    Serving Size: 1 (17 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 83.5
     
    Calories from Fat 50
    60%
    Total Fat 5.6 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 3.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.4 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 4.5 g
    18%
    Protein 2.2 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites