Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ruth's Chris Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ruth's Chris Sweet Potato Casserole

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on November 27, 2009

      I watched the video for this recipe and the butter is mixed up. For the crust, it's 1/2 cup and for the sweet potato mixture, it's 1/4 cup. I simmered the sweet potatoes in their skins for about 30 minutes and then shocked them in ice water. The skins came right off. You don't want to put the crust mixture on before you bake. You bake the sweet potato mixture for 30 minutes and then add the crust mixture and bake for another 10 minutes. This is per the video and the chef's instructions. Had I not seen this, it would not have been so perfect! Watch the video before you make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2008

      If you watch the video of the chef at Ruth's Chris demo this dish here: http://blog.nola.com/dining/2007/11/cooking_new_orleans_style_with_16.html you'll note that in the video the chef adds 1 stick of melted butter to the crust and 1/3 stick of butter to the sweet potatoes. The printed recipe, propagated on the web, has these quantities reversed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2010

      This was too sweet for my taste and I even reduced the sugar in the sweet potato mixture! I also thought the vanilla flavor was too strong. More like a dessert than a sidedish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2009

      I made this for Thanksgiving and it was a HUGE hit! The best sweet potato casserole I ever had! The only change I made to the recipe is that I cut the sweet potato into wedges, drizzled them with olive oil and salt and baked them at 375 for an hour and then mashed them as the recipe instructs. You could take the "roasted" flavor from baking them and it was incredible!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2014

      If you have been to RUTH CHRIS-and want to replicate this recipe you will be absolutely delighted. When I went to RUTH CHRIS, my waiter raved about it....Not a big fan of Sweet Potatoes, I stepped outside my mundane comfort zone, and. ordered it as a side....<br/><br/>As far as those who complained it was too sweet, made substitutions resulting in lower reviews....LEARN TO READ!!! Then go to the restaurant and then pass judgement. The name of this restaurant is Ruth's Chris Sweet Potato Casserole....It rankles me that some deviate from what is Clearly written....<br/>*the comment about the misprint about the butter 1 stick of melted butter to the crust and 1/3 stick of butter to the sweet potatoes is correct.<br/>I loved this casserole at Ruth's Chris am delighted to make it at home for a mere fraction of the price...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2011

      I made many versions of sweet potato casserole some call for evaporated milk, other recipes call for whole milk and others call for too many eggs.. This recipe is spot on!!!! no milk at all makes this delicious. I too made the recipe with the whole stick of butter it tasted amazing but for now on I have reduced the butter I have also made this recipe times 5 with 15 cups sweet potatoes which I baked the potatoes rather than boil and I cut the sugar to taste... Use garnet sweet potatoes they are best for mashing and can be found at whole foods, depending on sweetness of the potatoes the sugar shud be adjusted when doubling or tripling etc....for the pecan crust i like to keep the butter softened this way I make it ahead and freeze it in a Baggie and defrost before I want to use it if u melt the butter It freezes to hard...also I make the sweet potato casserole without the crust and place it in a casserole dish ( freeze able) like le casserole I wrap it cery well and freeze it separately.. The night before I defrost in the fridge and theb bake, it doesn't get watery at all ,and I believe baking the potatoes helps with that. I have made this up to 2 weeks ahead and froze crust and casserole separate it comes out perfect! Bake the casserole for 20 min or so first then add crust and bake longer another 20 min or so depending on how much your making and dish size

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2010

      I used canned sweet potatoes and saved some time. I also watched the video and noted the butter amounts and baked the filling then put on the topping to bake again. Thanks for sharing Mrs.jami, Made for PAC Spring 2010.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2014

      Way too sweet and lacked flavor. I prefer the Boston market copykat recipe over this one but if you enjoy this then great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2014

      My husband said it was too sweet and I reduced the amount of sugar in the sweet potato mixture.. Would not make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2014

      Absolutely perfect. We changed nothing and everyone loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2013

      Excellent the only thing I do different is 4 cups of sweet potatoes instead of 3.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2013

      The hit of our Thanksgiving Dinner this year!<br/><br/>I doubled the entire recipe to accommodate our guests but only put half the sugar in the sweet potato mixture and tasted it before proceeding. Half-sugar was plenty sweet IMHO, but you may disagree. Also, doubling the recipe increased the cooking times from 30 to 45 minutes on the first bake, and 10 to 15 minutes on the second. I also set the oven to BROIL for an additional two minutes to fully melt & cook the topping. If you do this, watch it like a hawk so it doesn't burn.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2012

      Great recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2012

      I cannot agree with my fellow reviewers on this recipe. To say that there is too much sugar and butter in this recipe would be a wild understatement. I was like eating sweet potato pie topped with penuche candy, all drenched in melted butter. And this was after I reduced the sugar in the sweet potatoes themselves by 2/3 per the suggestions of other reviewers!

      I am only too happy to serve rich foods, particularly around the holidays, but this is waaaaaay beyond the pale. Even if you love sugar (and I do) the amount of butter in this recipe is just disgusting.

      No, no, no.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2012

      Great recipe, Got rave reviews on Thanksgiving Day from my family, everything from OMG!! to this should be Sweet Potato Pudding!! It is sooo easy to make and really delicious. It just is simple and (cleam) tasting. I boiled the sweet potatoes in a pot of boiling salted water until soft, drained then the skin just peels right off!! Glad I found this recipe I will never make another!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2012

      I wish I read the reviews below before cooking... I baked it for 30 minutes and burnt the nuts and had to redo the crust after removing all the burned bits... it still tasted amazing but took time to redo and wasted food. This tasted so sweet. The butter being switched makes more sense and I wish I did that as well. So definitely add the crust after baking for 30 minutes and then let it bake another 10 minutes... You probably don't need as much sugar either because it was SO sweet (and fairly unhealthy haha).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2012

      The recipe on ruthschris.com/recipes is the actual recipe straight from their website.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2012

      Tasted just like the restaurant. The consistency wasn't the same, but it's probably like another review said, the butter amounts are mixed up... But it was oh so yummy. I'll try it with macadamia nuts next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2011

      My granddaughter, Haley made this for Thanksgiving and it was the best
      I've ever had! She's making it today for Christmas...yum, yum!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2011

      I am a huge fan of this dish at the restaurant so I was very excited to make this for Thanksgiving. I made two double batches. I swapped out half of the sugar in the potatoes for Stevia and I think next time I will use less Stevia/sugar overall. Then in one double batch I used 1 stick of butter and then in the other double batch I used 1.5 sticks of butter and this more buttery version was definitely better. I also found that the perfect baking time for a double batch is about 50 minutes. Lastly, I think the amount of topping was WAY too much and I will cut it in half next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ruth's Chris Sweet Potato Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (232 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 783.1
     
    Calories from Fat 329
    42%
    Total Fat 36.6 g
    56%
    Saturated Fat 16.7 g
    83%
    Cholesterol 123.0 mg
    41%
    Sodium 1014.9 mg
    42%
    Total Carbohydrate 109.6 g
    36%
    Dietary Fiber 6.3 g
    25%
    Sugars 79.5 g
    318%
    Protein 9.2 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes