30 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I watched the video for this recipe and the butter is mixed up. For the crust, it's 1/2 cup and for the sweet potato mixture, it's 1/4 cup. I simmered the sweet potatoes in their skins for about 30 minutes and then shocked them in ice water. The skins came right off. You don't want to put the crust mixture on before you bake. You bake the sweet potato mixture for 30 minutes and then add the crust mixture and bake for another 10 minutes. This is per the video and the chef's instructions. Had I not seen this, it would not have been so perfect! Watch the video before you make.

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tmawicke November 27, 2009

If you watch the video of the chef at Ruth's Chris demo this dish here: http://blog.nola.com/dining/2007/11/cooking_new_orleans_style_with_16.html you'll note that in the video the chef adds 1 stick of melted butter to the crust and 1/3 stick of butter to the sweet potatoes. The printed recipe, propagated on the web, has these quantities reversed.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
drfokos November 25, 2008

This was too sweet for my taste and I even reduced the sugar in the sweet potato mixture! I also thought the vanilla flavor was too strong. More like a dessert than a sidedish.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vermonter (at heart) October 19, 2010

I made this for Thanksgiving and it was a HUGE hit! The best sweet potato casserole I ever had! The only change I made to the recipe is that I cut the sweet potato into wedges, drizzled them with olive oil and salt and baked them at 375 for an hour and then mashed them as the recipe instructs. You could take the "roasted" flavor from baking them and it was incredible!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kevinds December 22, 2009

If you have been to RUTH CHRIS-and want to replicate this recipe you will be absolutely delighted. When I went to RUTH CHRIS, my waiter raved about it....Not a big fan of Sweet Potatoes, I stepped outside my mundane comfort zone, and. ordered it as a side....<br/><br/>As far as those who complained it was too sweet, made substitutions resulting in lower reviews....LEARN TO READ!!! Then go to the restaurant and then pass judgement. The name of this restaurant is Ruth's Chris Sweet Potato Casserole....It rankles me that some deviate from what is Clearly written....<br/>*the comment about the misprint about the butter 1 stick of melted butter to the crust and 1/3 stick of butter to the sweet potatoes is correct.<br/>I loved this casserole at Ruth's Chris am delighted to make it at home for a mere fraction of the price...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chrisaudi November 28, 2014

I made many versions of sweet potato casserole some call for evaporated milk, other recipes call for whole milk and others call for too many eggs.. This recipe is spot on!!!! no milk at all makes this delicious. I too made the recipe with the whole stick of butter it tasted amazing but for now on I have reduced the butter I have also made this recipe times 5 with 15 cups sweet potatoes which I baked the potatoes rather than boil and I cut the sugar to taste... Use garnet sweet potatoes they are best for mashing and can be found at whole foods, depending on sweetness of the potatoes the sugar shud be adjusted when doubling or tripling etc....for the pecan crust i like to keep the butter softened this way I make it ahead and freeze it in a Baggie and defrost before I want to use it if u melt the butter It freezes to hard...also I make the sweet potato casserole without the crust and place it in a casserole dish ( freeze able) like le casserole I wrap it cery well and freeze it separately.. The night before I defrost in the fridge and theb bake, it doesn't get watery at all ,and I believe baking the potatoes helps with that. I have made this up to 2 weeks ahead and froze crust and casserole separate it comes out perfect! Bake the casserole for 20 min or so first then add crust and bake longer another 20 min or so depending on how much your making and dish size

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rawnona November 16, 2011

I used canned sweet potatoes and saved some time. I also watched the video and noted the butter amounts and baked the filling then put on the topping to bake again. Thanks for sharing Mrs.jami, Made for PAC Spring 2010.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElaineAnn April 16, 2010

Way too sweet and lacked flavor. I prefer the Boston market copykat recipe over this one but if you enjoy this then great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Frankie Charlie December 04, 2014

My husband said it was too sweet and I reduced the amount of sugar in the sweet potato mixture.. Would not make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LizCl March 23, 2014

Absolutely perfect. We changed nothing and everyone loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ladykat February 15, 2014
Ruth's Chris Sweet Potato Casserole