Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ruth's Chris Steak House Creamed Spinach Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ruth's Chris Steak House Creamed Spinach

    Average Rating:

    33 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 33

    Sort by:

    • on October 17, 2002

      Yessir, this is just about as good as it gets if you like spinach. We thoroughly enjoyed this dish. The bay leaf and the clove gave just hints of seasoning which were tantalizing. Nice and creamy, and a beautiful color if you use fresh spinach. Just remember to rinse those bags of "prewashed" spinach anyway, because sometimes they don't always get the sand out. This dish was just wonderful for us. Thanks for posting and sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2002

      Sshh, don't tell... I cheated and used frozen spinach! Actually, you should shout this one from a hilltop because the flavor is fabulous! I always wondered what it was about Ruth's Chris Steak House recipe that I couldn't duplicate... bay and clove! Never would have guessed it. I added 1 minced shallot to the recipe on my second try and really enjoyed the little extra flavor, but the recipe is great with onion alone. I paired this with pan seared tofu for a dish that hints of paleek paneer(one of my favorite indian dishes). Remember that just because it's a steak house recipe doesn't mean it can't be used for vegetarian purposes! All in all, a savoury dish that was greatly enjoyed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2009

      Having never been to Ruth's Chris, but LOVING Creamed Spinach, I had to try this recipe!! I was not disappointed, it is wonderful! I think I may change my 'Zaar name to the Shortcutter, because, if there is a short cut, I will find it. Instead of cooking the spinach first (and cooling, draining and drying) I put the raw spinach in the food processor and gave it a whirl. I added the raw minced spinach to the thick cream sauce and let it cook for the 5+/- minutes as recommended. I did that for two reasons: the time as I've said, but also the nutrition. If you boil it first, your vitamins (if they don't die in the boiling water) get leached out and go down the drain. This way, cooking on low heat for the 5 minutes softens the spinach and retains the nutrition. I also pumped up the clove and added nutmeg as a personal preference. Thank you Yooper, dinner was wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2013

      Excellent dish. It does have a tantalizing flavor as is, but still was a tad bland for us. A bit of shallot, nutmeg and a hint of cayenne pepper help. It also needs some salt and pepper. We used fresh spinach (not pre-washed or bagged) and did not pre-cook it. That helped the with the consistency, color and flavor. We also skipped the butter at the end with no ill effect. I don't think I'll ever pre-cook spinach again. I have a very tough time getting anything green into my kids and they loved this - that makes it a winner in our house. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2011

      This was okay - I've never had it in the SteakHouse, but if I were to do it again, I'd add some nutmeg and some Parmesan cheese. But I probably wouldn't make this recipe again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2008

      Delicious! So easy to make (I cheated and used frozen spinach), and this still managed to upstage the steak that it went with.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2005

      I served this on Christmas Eve and everyone loved it. I decided to make it exactly the way it says, and I don't regret the extra time that it took to use fresh spinach. It was well worth it. For once I have a side dish that is as memorable as the main course. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2005

      Ohhh this is so good. I can'timagine using another recipe for creamed spinach again. I used the 10 oz packs of frozen chopped spinach and it came out great. Even used lower fat milk and I don't think you could tell the difference....if you like creamed spinach...this is the recipe for you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2014

      Best creamed spinach ever!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2013

      This is a fantastic Spinach recipe! I bought fresh Spinach at my grocery and severely underestimated the total amount once it was cooked. Other than my silly mistake the recipe is really really good and goes great with a good steak!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2012

      I did exactly what the instructions said and it came out JUST like ruth's chris. Delicious. Will make again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2012

      My family wasn't thrilled with this recipe, I think they may just prefer cooked spinach without the sauce. I think it's important that it is seasoned well with salt & pepper and kept hot when served, it really makes a difference. It would probably also be improved with the addition of some minced garlic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2010

      i love this dish. it is grrreat. when we go to ruths chris i dont care if i have a steak or not...as long as i get creamed spinach and the sweet potatoe casserole.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2010

      Very good. I used the raw approach and this dish came great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2010

    • on May 04, 2010

      I can't remember the last time I had this at Ruth's Chris, but I sure did like it your way! :) Thanks, very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2009

      This was great! I steamed my spinach and then added ice cubes to chill it down. I also hand chopped on a cutting board after drying. Came out perfect. Thanx!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2009

    • on March 04, 2009

      I made this with chopped beet greens and it was delicious! I had everything but the clove, so I am looking forward to trying it with that addition in the future, but even without it, the dish was terrific. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2009

      Very, very good recipe! Even better the second day! A little more trouble than I usually take for a side dish, but so worth it with a nice steak dinner. The bay leave and clove definitely added to the flavor. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ruth's Chris Steak House Creamed Spinach

    Serving Size: 1 (317 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 295.5
     
    Calories from Fat 197
    66%
    Total Fat 21.9 g
    33%
    Saturated Fat 13.3 g
    66%
    Cholesterol 57.9 mg
    19%
    Sodium 328.5 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.4 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 3.8 g
    15%
    Sugars 7.2 g
    29%
    Protein 9.4 g
    18%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    cloves

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes