35 Reviews

Yessir, this is just about as good as it gets if you like spinach. We thoroughly enjoyed this dish. The bay leaf and the clove gave just hints of seasoning which were tantalizing. Nice and creamy, and a beautiful color if you use fresh spinach. Just remember to rinse those bags of "prewashed" spinach anyway, because sometimes they don't always get the sand out. This dish was just wonderful for us. Thanks for posting and sharing.

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Annie October 17, 2002

Sshh, don't tell... I cheated and used frozen spinach! Actually, you should shout this one from a hilltop because the flavor is fabulous! I always wondered what it was about Ruth's Chris Steak House recipe that I couldn't duplicate... bay and clove! Never would have guessed it. I added 1 minced shallot to the recipe on my second try and really enjoyed the little extra flavor, but the recipe is great with onion alone. I paired this with pan seared tofu for a dish that hints of paleek paneer(one of my favorite indian dishes). Remember that just because it's a steak house recipe doesn't mean it can't be used for vegetarian purposes! All in all, a savoury dish that was greatly enjoyed.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rsarahl October 26, 2002

Having never been to Ruth's Chris, but LOVING Creamed Spinach, I had to try this recipe!! I was not disappointed, it is wonderful! I think I may change my 'Zaar name to the Shortcutter, because, if there is a short cut, I will find it. Instead of cooking the spinach first (and cooling, draining and drying) I put the raw spinach in the food processor and gave it a whirl. I added the raw minced spinach to the thick cream sauce and let it cook for the 5+/- minutes as recommended. I did that for two reasons: the time as I've said, but also the nutrition. If you boil it first, your vitamins (if they don't die in the boiling water) get leached out and go down the drain. This way, cooking on low heat for the 5 minutes softens the spinach and retains the nutrition. I also pumped up the clove and added nutmeg as a personal preference. Thank you Yooper, dinner was wonderful!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Glori-B March 27, 2009

Excellent dish. It does have a tantalizing flavor as is, but still was a tad bland for us. A bit of shallot, nutmeg and a hint of cayenne pepper help. It also needs some salt and pepper. We used fresh spinach (not pre-washed or bagged) and did not pre-cook it. That helped the with the consistency, color and flavor. We also skipped the butter at the end with no ill effect. I don't think I'll ever pre-cook spinach again. I have a very tough time getting anything green into my kids and they loved this - that makes it a winner in our house. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef darylqu February 18, 2013

This was okay - I've never had it in the SteakHouse, but if I were to do it again, I'd add some nutmeg and some Parmesan cheese. But I probably wouldn't make this recipe again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pendletoncook December 28, 2011

Delicious! So easy to make (I cheated and used frozen spinach), and this still managed to upstage the steak that it went with.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DriaDB November 03, 2008

I served this on Christmas Eve and everyone loved it. I decided to make it exactly the way it says, and I don't regret the extra time that it took to use fresh spinach. It was well worth it. For once I have a side dish that is as memorable as the main course. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NatalieC December 27, 2005

Ohhh this is so good. I can'timagine using another recipe for creamed spinach again. I used the 10 oz packs of frozen chopped spinach and it came out great. Even used lower fat milk and I don't think you could tell the difference....if you like creamed spinach...this is the recipe for you.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shells75 July 03, 2005

I adjusted this recipe slightly and man oh man was it awesome and easy! First - fresh spinach - chopped smallish per another review. Sauted onion in the butter before adding the flour. Didn't have a clove so added a bit of nutmeg. Used 1/2 and 1/2 cause I had some on hand. Put the raw spinach into the cream mixture after milk added and stirred to soften / wilt / cook. Thanks to poster and other reviewers to make this recipe so easy and exceptionally good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gidget265 January 01, 2016

Wow. Completely lacking in flavor. How could anyone like this???

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Francis A. December 06, 2015
Ruth's Chris Steak House Creamed Spinach